Jamie Cripps-Mitch Brown? !!

|Andy|

Re: Jamie Cripps-Mitch Brown? !!

Hopefully Eagles losing their first rounder to Collingwood for Wellingham will be a positive for us to get a deal done for Brown. WC don't enter into the draft until pick 38 now!!

West Coast list manager just told SEN. "He will not be traded" and "He is not part of the deal they are working on with the Saints to get Cripps to move West".

Believe what you want. Doesn't sound like any chance.

8856brother wrote:West Coast list manager just told SEN. "He will not be traded" and "He is not part of the deal they are working on with the Saints to get Cripps to move West".

In footy speak that means his is part of the dicussions

get him next year for free

#1GILL

8856brother wrote:West Coast list manager just told SEN. "He will not be traded" and "He is not part of the deal they are working on with the Saints to get Cripps to move West".

To me it sounds like an attempt to persuade Brown to stay. By publicly stating that they will not trade him, it sends the message to him that they really rate him. I think this is a ploy to change his mind about moving, and I have a feeling it will work.

However, if in two weeks Brown is still certain that he wants to be traded, then I think they will give in a get a deal done. Holding a player completely against his will just doesn't bode well. However, at this stage they're still trying to convince him to stay.

It's all just fun and games at the moment I feel.

|Andy|

I read somewhere that Saints said that they're not interested in trading Cripps if Brown isn't in the trade. Can't exactly remember where from though haha.

The guy pounced on that question when it was asked. Pre-prepared answer. Can't read anything into it.

Rosco wrote:

The guy pounced on that question when it was asked. Pre-prepared answer. Can't read anything into it.
Western Bulldogs said last week that Brian Lake was contracted and would not be traded either

We will get Mitch Brown because we want him bad. Just a matter of what we pay.

fugazi wrote:get him next year for free
Thats what I would do.

If I was Brown id bide my time in the WAFL then walk when my contract is up and go to St Kilda in the draft.

Obviously im not Brown but if I was offered senior footy over playing state league until some other bloke decides to hang em up I know what id do.

so does that mean they are offering Koby Stevens in a deal for Cripps ?

paddy

yeah seems like they are going to play hard ball....

whatever i say

West Coast are riding the short bus if they reckon they can get their hands on our Goddard compo for a bloke they dont even rate as best 22 until Glass gives it away.

Cripps/2nd rounder - Brown/3rd rounder.

Best they would get from me.

paddy

our problem is that cripps forced our hand.... now they know we dont have a lot of leverage our end...

Cripps is contracted, not eligble for free agency for another 6 years. He can't force anything.

Austinnn wrote:Cripps is contracted, not eligble for free agency for another 6 years. He can't force anything.
cripps is out of contract at the end of this year

brown has 1 more year to go

defacto wrote:
Austinnn wrote:Cripps is contracted, not eligble for free agency for another 6 years. He can't force anything.
cripps is out of contract at the end of this year

brown has 1 more year to go
At the end of 2012? Really? I stand corrected, my apologies. Bloody hell, that's sloppy from the List Manager. Starting to worry now.

If Sharrod Wellingham is worth Pick 17, Jamie Cripps is easily worth Mitch Brown. The Eagles are trying to play hardball. It's important that we don't cave. If the Eagles don't want him they will have to take their chances in the draft. This was the attitude that ensured that we got nothing for Luke Ball. The question is would Cripps do what Ball did and scupper our bargaining power, by warning off other clubs? Of course he would, he only cares about going home, not about us receiving decent compensation.

We shouldn't be letting things like this happen again. We should have learnt our lesson from Luke Ball.

One can assume that Cripps doesn't want to play under Ross again or he would have said either WA clubs would do. We need our old mate rosco to start sniffing around to scare the eagles into this trade.

If West Coasy keep up the hard ball act could we offer Cripps to Freo?

Does the player need to agree to the trade for it to happen?

Hurricane wrote: Does the player need to agree to the trade for it to happen?
Yep.

Sick of getting screwed like this - if Cripps does a Ball and goes to the draft in some dodgy Eagle move then it's time we got **** harder at trade/negotiation time with some of these primma donnas

Good to see a start with Goddard

saintlee

Geez I hope we don't let Cripps walk for nothing....for mine getting something is better than nothing!

Maybe we ned to arrange a three way deal with someone like the bulldogs, who are reported to be into Koby Stevens. if WCE are prepared to swap Stevens (and maybe a pick) for Cripps, then we send Stevens to the Dogs for a pick (say 21). We then send that pick to WCE for Brown.

What level of pick would Mitch Brown and Koby Stevens be rated at??? I knew nothing of Koby Stevens prior to trade week so have no real feel of his worth.

True Believer wrote:What level of pick would Mitch Brown and Koby Stevens be rated at???
Based on the Caddy and Wellingham precedents, I assume they're both rated at seven first-round picks.

If a deal for Brown involving Crippa doesn't eventuate then he'll re-sign with us.

I'm 90% sure the deal for Brown will be done & it'll probably be for Cripps & pick 34.

WC talked tough on Wellingham & then caved in. Hopefully they'll do the same here. As someone else mentioned, the Dogs were adamant Lake wouldn't be traded.... 24 hours later then get rid of him for a 6 pick upgrade & late 3rd rounder!

Clubs lie more at this time of year than any other, which is a fair effort in itself!