Saints v Pies - Friday night footy - Preview / Discussion

Re: Saints v Pies - Friday night footy - Preview / Discussio

I think Ray comes in for Jones. Ray takes Geary's spot and send Gears into the middle. I love Jones endeavour but he doesn't hurt opposition at all. His opponents stats this year are pretty damning if he is still in the team purely as a tagger.
Ray looked very comfortable yesterday playing the sweeping role down back for Sandy and is a good mark. His kicking can be questionable but then so is Geary's so I don't think we lose anything there.I would love to see how Gears goes in the middle for a game. Mileara for TDL, Siposs for Lee or Kosi. I think Hickey comes in only if Jolly comes up and Kosi doesn't play.

nobhead

mad saint guy wrote:Changes I'd make

OUT: TDL, Lee, Jones
IN: Siposs, Milne, Hickey

Lee and TDL are a mile off AFL level, Milne and Saad have both been ordinary but have credits in the bank and could trouble Collingwood. Kosi is needed for structure - no point in sending White out to FF to ruin his confidence and rack up injuries ala Kosi and Goose early on. Simpkin very unlucky not to be in the side but we already lack a bit of run with a lot of guys who can't rotate through the middle. Hickey to take 60% of the ruck work and spend some time forward for the first 80 minutes before being subbed off. Keeps McEvoy fresh for the whole game and gives us extra run in the final quarter.

B: Dempster, Stanley, Geary
HB: Wright, Gilbert, Fisher
C: Montagna, Hayes, Dal Santo
HF: Siposs, Riewoldt, Saunders
F: Milne, Koschitzke, Saad

Foll: McEvoy, Armitage, Steven
Int: Ross, Roberton, Hickey (Murdoch)

Emg: Ray, Simpkin, Ledger
what I would like to see
roberton Stanley dempster
geary fisher gilbert
montagna hayes steven
sippos riewolt ross
milera hickey dunnell
foll: mc evoy armitage dalsanto
int:wright,milne,jones(ray)

I think all our midfield's opponents stats are pretty damning, so I wouldn't target Jones alone, if anything I would drop NDS from the midfield. Ray looked good against Werribee, but I don't think he has a very good defensive game off the ball at senior level and is best suited as an on ball player or a winger. Armo has had two average games now, and Ray would be pushing for his spot if anything.

Might be an idea to run Dal against Thomas.
I think the biggest problem will be the umps.

mightysainters

IN: Dunnell, Sipposs, Simpkin, Milera
OUT: Kosi, TDL, Fisher, Gilbert

Would rather Dunnell instead of Gilbert - yes he played ok Gilbert but his turnovers are just far too costly, and decision making worse...

Fisher... needs to pull his head in

Kosi & TDL - Not up to it

mightysainters

roberton Simpkin dempster
geary Stanley Dunnell
montagna hayes steven
sipposs riewolt ross
milera Lee Saad
foll: Mc Evoy armitage dalsanto
int:wright,Saunders,jones(Murdoch)

mightysainters wrote:roberton Simpkin dempster
geary Stanley Dunnell
montagna hayes steven
sipposs riewolt ross
milera Lee Saad
foll: Mc Evoy armitage dalsanto
int:wright,Saunders,jones(Murdoch)
We'll have to have a 2nd ruck against Collingwood you'd think…

Fisher is still our best defender, needs a little leeway as he builds fitness.

mightysainters

True a 2nd ruck would be handy... im just afraid of the pace of the pies once they spread... Hudson is an almight dud and lynch isnt great in the ruck...

mightysainters wrote:True a 2nd ruck would be handy... im just afraid of the pace of the pies once they spread... Hudson is an almight dud and lynch isnt great in the ruck...
Jolly had a solid game in the 2's & will be a certainty, think we have to try HIckey out again, the conditions will give him a much better chance than up at Gold Coast.

mightysainters

Off a 5-6 day turn around i think they will give Jolly one more week (hopefully). He will have a rest this week and slide in the next week IMO.

I like Hickey but unfortunately needs to give more around the ground... McEvoy thrives as the standalone ruckman, but needs support... which he isn't getting

You could be right MS… I just noticed the Bombers obliterated the pies in hitouts… 50 -21… so you'd think they'll be pretty keen to get Jolly back unless he pulls up sore, their VFL game was friday so will give a decent recovery time.

70s sainter

TDL out.
JBT in.

didnt want to start a new thread as its not really related but seeing as everyone is looking in this thread.big tex walker has done his acl, gone for the year
confirmed
shocking news even if it does help us in a few weeks

Pies have Maxwell and Beams out still - They both usually do well against us and Jolly and Ball are in the mix to return.

For us Milne and Gwilt are available and no new injuries.

The Pies will be hurting from last week and on the rebound BUT if you look at their team sheet they arent that good with quite a few inexperienced players.

Cloke is a worry for us and Swan, Thomas, Pendlebury and Sidebottom usually do well against us. So thats 5 guys that worry me. Outside that we stack up ok.

Bookies have the Pies strong favourites but it might be closer than people think.

Ball, Beams, Maxwell symbolise their mindset that's missing right now.

Greg T

Well I luv the saints as much as anyone,but we might just get the suitcase belted out of us this week.
There bigger bodied,run harder,and a tad better with the foot skills.
Cloke and Lynch will worry us, there mids are good.
Hope Kosi plays,least we can blame him,,,,,,lol
Listening to SW is always a grin after a loss.....
I wis it was 09....sigh

100 goals in 14 games...Lockett is the key

Shaw flogs us often which drives me nuts.

We all know the AFL does not like us, they love the Pies, they listen to Fat Eddie and the umpires are biased against us.
Our fwds will get blocked off the ball and the umps won't act on it.
In our back half, we will be penalised for blocking at bounces and throw-ins.
Realistically, we have no chance.
Will lose by at least 3 goals ?
Comments.

Greg T

Teflon wrote:Shaw flogs us often which drives me nuts.
Sure does,2010 GF smother still sticks in the craw.
Although he be a ripper for us.
I'm sure will run Collingwood back into form...

How many times will we see Obrien run through the lines with our guys doing a Demon Tackle, ie pretend to lunge and go " oh no, just missed him"
How many of our high handballs will set up a teammate to be collected?
Can get away with those against the Giants but not the Pies FFS.

Greg T

WellardSaint wrote:We all know the AFL does not like us, they love the Pies, they listen to Fat Eddie and the umpires are biased against us.
Our fwds will get blocked off the ball and the umps won't act on it.
In our back half, we will be penalised for blocking at bounces and throw-ins.
Realistically, we have no chance.
Will lose by at least 3 goals ?
Comments.
This year especially ,I reckon the umps have hurt us with goals against us.
If we Lose by 3 goals a quarter I'm happy
I hope that's not the case.

There's a suspicion that I can't explain, that we may just beat them.
We were supposed to get caned by the Bumbers last yr but did them over. When the Bluescum were travelling well, we surprised everyone by winning.
But then again, Tattooed Goon and Thomas will run rings around us, their backs will keep our forwards quiet, I cannot see us kicking too many goals.

The bookies have the Saints at $5.50 and it is hard to remember the last time we were at the price against anyone, let alone Collingwood (must be ten years at least). But it is still a two horse race. Granted, one horse has only three legs, but the other has only three and a half legs. So who knows. My guess is that it will be close - if - we take our chances. And I don't mean slotting them from 60 on the boundary. I mean kicking them for 40 (or less) dead in front. As we saw in 2009, it's the difference between joy and sorrow.

Saints have come into $4.40 from $5.50, so there could be an upset.

Christ

Lenny hurt in the warm up.

who the hell can fill that void?