Gee that Steven is a dud

Re: Gee that Steven is a dud

Simmo2 wrote:I made the call a year ago to my workmates that Jack Steven would win a brownlow...... I'm having great pleasure reminding them every time he has a good game now. The great thing is, its becoming a regular occurence. Do I REALLY believe he can win a brownlow? Probably not.... but gee he is turning into a ripper
Yeah, he's only 122 Brownlow votes behind your mate NDS… getting there.

Toy Saint wrote:Has a faulty gait. If he was a yearling racehorse, he'd be passed in at the sales
Just like Takeover Target. Oh, hang on, that worked out OK.

BigMart wrote:I think Watters said

Steven's

Referring to his game performance.

Didn't get to Seaford, but I like the fact SW challenged him to improve upon last weeks performance. And he responded.

If Jack was a cleaner footballer, he would be A Grade already and ability to go elite. As it is, he must improve areas of his game. Has tools, no one would deny that.

Nick Dal Santo helped him a lot tonight, but sacrificing his self to get a mid free...
He is improving areas of his game. Yep, he needs to be cleaner, and is. But right from the time Lyon first inserted him into the midfield in a game vs Melbourne (when they resembled a footy side) he's shown high level ability to read and win clearances. He had 9 vs the Pies and 9 on Monday night. He's strong, hits contest at speed and stays involved.
The key to Jack, I reckon, is self belief.
And, kicking technicals aren't his problem. Technically he's fine - his goal kicking record speaks for itself (didn't he kick 13 or 14 straight before he missed, a couple of years back?). It's the read of what's in front of him, and the nuance of control that he needs to improve. But, he can also deliver a bullet over distance.
While Dal may have helped with some sacrifice (which I agree he did), Dal's trouble has been getting clear. Ergo, someone who can get clear also helps Dal - and Jack can get clear. He's a scurrier, like Swan - they break games open, which players like Dal need to exploit their own weapons.

In many ways you are right

But for direct turnovers, Jack would be very much at the top of the list.... It's his short kicking he cannot control, has a distinct technical flaw....

BigMart wrote:In many ways you are right

But for direct turnovers, Jack would be very much at the top of the list.... It's his short kicking he cannot control, has a distinct technical flaw....
I reckon his turnover numbers are coming down. The short kicking deficiency is that nuance thing. If he has a technical flaw, it's an early ball release, which pans out similar to a high ball drop. That deficiency will generally manifest over shorter distances, because the kicker loses ball "feel" early in the kicking action (the brain loses the connection between feel and connection, too early). A contrast is Pendlebury, who maintains ball feel until a very late release. Jack kicks at the ball, Pendlebury eases the ball.
But, with Jack, it's also the self belief thing. V Carlton, late, when we needed a goal to stem the flow, Jack had it, got clear and had a ping from distance - about a metre or two wide. He could have run another 15-30 metres, 'cos no-one was going to run him down from behind, and he can get past people. Yet, he went early - self belief. He's always been seen as young (I think he captained the Falcons when he was mid range age in the group).
But, with all that, I reckon his OP in 2010 cost us the flag. He'd already shown a talent for winning front half ball against good opposition and that he could score under pressure because he could get clear forward. He's a finals type footballer because he wins his own pill and isn't reliant on being the 1 over in a chain of possession.
A bit more tidying up and self belief and he is elite.

Agree with OP's thread title.

perfectionist wrote:Agree with OP's thread title.

How did you learn to walk or go to the toilet on your own?

Just wanted to see how long it took for you to reply.

perfectionist wrote:Just wanted to see how long it took for you to reply.

Was i quick enough? Lets face it that wasnt the reason. You wanted to show others that even people who dont understand footy at all can type.

lloyd21

Give him 2 years will get more composure the longer he plays.
He is not the problem we just don't have enough of the mids sharing the load.
Want the club to play Saunders , Siposs , Murdoch forget Milera ...unless you are not playing Milne as can not play mid.

Watters is a realist he is trying things , knows we have a massive hole midfield .

plugger66 wrote:..Lets face it that wasnt the reason. You wanted to show others that even people who don't understand footy at all can type.
Alas, I can't type at all. My only saving grace is that, apparently, I have the only computer in the world with spell check. But like using a dictionary, you have to know how to spell first, before checking.

Interesting look at Jack's stats over his career to date as shown in the graph on this page

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2013-05-2 ... -bulldogs-

I always ponder as Jack hit's Nick with a pin point chest mark about people who say he doesn't hit a target,
Jack is one who on a greater % of times does get it to Nick in good position.

Hmmm...how to climb out of a rather large hole dug by someone with the ability of producing the gaff of the decade. Interesting , not fairing well at present.

Surely peefectionist u joined this thread to do more than trade insults...

Anything to add?

Loves to make Nick bend and stretch..... One of his 20m passes to the bootlaces proved vey costly I think

BigMart wrote:Loves to make Nick bend and stretch..... One of his 20m passes to the bootlaces proved vey costly I think

Do you ever look at the positve in a game?

BigMart wrote:Loves to make Nick bend and stretch..... One of his 20m passes to the bootlaces proved vey costly I think
who would you replace steven with, i'm very interested to know this.

Don't think he should be replaced.... He is a very good player.

Currently would be the second best performed player in the team, although that is a sign of where the team is at?!

He is currently a B Grade player.... Better decision making and disposal he would be A Grade...

BigMart wrote:Don't think he should be replaced.... He is a very good player.

Currently would be the second best performed player in the team, although that is a sign of where the team is at?!

He is currently a B Grade player.... Better decision making and disposal he would be A Grade...

But the first thing you do is look for the negative when others are trying to be positive. That I am positive of.

Could win a brownlow in a year or two.

Point??

From what I saw at the game... Gee that Ledger is a dud??

Jack is a good player... Not sure anyone denies that... He turns it over a bit, not sure anyone can deny that...

He's had a good year

BigMart wrote:Point??

Jack is a good player... Not sure anyone denies that... He turns it over a bit, not sure anyone can deny that...

He's had a good year
I'll deny the "he turns it over a bit"

derby Street

BigMart wrote:Point??

He's had a good year
I suppose if you get it 47 times and turn it over 4 times you are going O.K and I would suggest NOT turning it over a bit. I believe his disposal efficiency has improved heaps this year.

I post this graphic not just because of the unusual forecasts on Jacky Boy but the also the ones pertaining to Milne on why he should retire because of pending legal issues despite the guy being able to fulfill his duties on and off the field next year.
Blake could also go again but we have to nurture our future talent..Lenny has stayed..so should have Milne.

Little Dozer
Location: Forward Pocket, Outer side, Linton Street end or bay 38 Waverley

What a player Jack's become for us. Runs so hard, tackles ferociously, and he's starting to use the ball like a silky veteran. With him leading our midfield the future is very bright.

Are we waiting for a saviour?
I'm so sick of waiting!
I've been waiting my whole life!
This is a new day!