Hickey breakout game

Re: Hickey breakout game

loris wrote:
maverick wrote:
BigMart wrote:How did Mummy and Giles play?

Mmm? I'd suggest they were ranked 1 & 2 for GWS

However, Hickey played a very good 'around the ground' game....
Mummy played OK, Giles did OK up forward…not sure what Giles had to do with Hickey.
I reckon Hickey and Roo split the votes today, Ben was never in that company.
How did those contested marks look on the telly?
I only watched it on telly.......... and those contested marks looked good to me maverick :wink: :wink: :wink:
Looked god at the game too... :lol: :lol:

Big Mart big wrong!

Hickey was effective, Mumford and his mates were not. Good signs form a young guy till learning the ropes, and will only get better.

McEvoy is a dinosaur and Hickey is a gazelle by comparison. Very impressive today for a young big man.

lol - in most posters here Hickey clearly outpointed Mumford.

Kicked three goals and prominent at both ends.

As someone pointed out nearly 50% hitouts to advantage, Mumford 25%.

You called him a gumby. You are clearly wrong
+ 1 (spot on)

ralphsmith

Hickey was my best on ground today. found space punished gws
Mobile,skillful, good thinker.

What is dead may never die, but rises again harder and stronger.

So, Hickey should have been able to play fullback as well as ruck at the same time??
We had undersized match ups with Giles in the forward line, and he got a few goals, but that is not a reflection of Hickey's game.

Until he was injured, Hickey was best player on the ground. I was going to say clearly best, but Roo was was up there with him, with daylight 3rd.

In the first half, Hickey kept us in the game, kicking goals, marking in defence, winning contested footy, making contests....

Ruckmen are often servicable, and you want them to at least negate the dominance of opposition rucks... in this game Hickey was much more than that, he was *the* dominant player on the ground and we would have been 5 goals down, or more, at half time without his immense efforts...

One of the amazing things is how his kicking has improved... dead eye dick going for goal but also hit targets around the ground...

Bigmart, you called him a "gumpy". It is time to put up the white flag and say, at least today, he played well and that maybe you were ... wrrrroooooong.... I know it is hard to say for some people

Changing ones mind in light of new evidence is admirable.. clinging to old and wrong beliefs by looking for any slither of warped evidence to support that view is common and typical...

whiskers3614 wrote:Glass half empty:
Lost the hitouts by more than 2 to 1
Kicked 3 goals

How many did Mumford get?

Built on last weeks excellent game.

Reckon break out was last week.

PADDLEPOP1001

Great game by "Reg"showed a real appetite for the contest ,didn"t just run around like some ruckmen do,killed Mumford who is not a bad ruckman,Giles played forward so not much reg can do about that,this trade could end up a win /win still got Acres to come I expect a couple of surprised people when he gets going will end up a great trade for the club!

PADDLEPOP1000

Hickey ran Mumford all over the ground rendering him fat and slow. Saw star potential yesterday. Even goaled from the boundary good forty out unfavourable side.
On the subject of McEvoy did no one notice how terrible he was on Friday night? So bad Clarkson took him out of the game completely for the last fifteen minutes, which probably won the Hawks the match. And it only took the second match of the season to see how the Hawks will miss their match winner (Franklin).
Saints obviously knew what they had in Hickey when trading with the Hawks.
The Pelican does it again. Just need Lee to come good.

PADDLEPOP1001

PADDLEPOP1000

Just want to apologise to Marto for starting the "hickey-stickey" thread.

I've had a warning for baiting and I am happy to put my hand up and admit when I am wrong.

Sorry mate, hope I haven't upset you.

Back on Hickey, fingers crossed he can continue with that great form yesterday, should give him a lot of confidence.

dragit wrote:Just want to apologise to Marto for starting the "hickey-stickey" thread.

I've had a warning for baiting and I am happy to put my hand up and admit when I am wrong.

Back on Hickey, fingers crossed he can continue with that great form yesterday, should give him a lot of confidence.
dragit read the sticky at the top of the forum and my thoughts. I thought that thread was wrong, and said so, but you may find my thoughts interesting.

Congratulations for saying you were wrong BTW. Should be more of it when you are clearly wrong. Some other posters could learn from your post

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

dragit wrote:Just want to apologise to Marto for starting the "hickey-stickey" thread.

dragit read the sticky at the top of the forum and my thoughts. I thought that thread was wrong, and said so, but you may find my thoughts interesting.

Congratulations for saying you were wrong BTW. Should be more of it when you are clearly wrong. Some other posters could learn from your post

I like that post. Subtle

maverick wrote:
loris wrote:I only watched it on telly.......... and those contested marks looked good to me maverick :wink: :wink: :wink:
Looked god at the game too... :lol: :lol:
You were clearly very, very impressed Mav. :wink:

I'm another one who has trouble understanding a certain 'controversial' assessment of Tom Hickey's footballing prospects.

What some are forgetting is that Tom only recently even took up the great game. Previously he was a highly rated volleyball player, but it's far less well known that he was also busy pursuing a medical career. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M68GeL8PafE

Both have been put on-hold for his footy.

magnifisaint wrote:Big Mart big wrong!
That's a warning!

Dave McNamara wrote:I'm another one who has trouble understanding a certain 'controversial' assessment of Tom Hickey's footballing prospects.

What some are forgetting is that Tom only recently even took up the great game. Previously he was a highly rated volleyball player, but it's far less well known that he was also busy pursuing a medical career. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M68GeL8PafE

Both have been put on-hold for his footy.
Exactly Dave. This guy has so much upside it's not funny. A steal for pick 13. Especially when others were thrown in to sweeten the deal.

Jacks Back wrote:McEvoy is a dinosaur and Hickey is a gazelle by comparison. Very impressive today for a young big man.

why don't we wait until he plays against nic nat and dean cox

Watts the Buzz

I'm rapt in what I've seen of Tom Hickey in the first couple of games, will be the best ruckman we've had since Spider in my opinion. To be brutally honest, I don't like Darren Jolly and was a bit disappointed that the club brought him on board but you have to start to think that with Tom Hickey's dramatic improvement, as ruck coach he's probably had a lot to do with bringing out the best in young Tom.