Spencer White

Re: Spencer White

Sorry

That comment was meant for Stinger.

I have been warned that I will be banned if I don't say who I direct a comment at?

BigMart wrote:Luke Dunstan is still a boy?

Boys can play footy you know? What are you, RossLyon?

Some boys at GWS and GC go alright, James Aish goes alright.... Birth certificate is a reason for a few things (inconsistency, decision making, strength) but it's not an excuse for poor effort or poor skills...

You are absolutely correct.

So what age were you when you were confortable with your output in a senior AFL team?

All pretty easy from the cheap seats isn't it ??

True Believer wrote:

Some boys at GWS and GC go alright, James Aish goes alright.... Birth certificate is a reason for a few things (inconsistency, decision making, strength) but it's not an excuse for poor effort or poor skills...

So what age were you when you were confortable with your output in a senior AFL team?

So by your logic none of us can comment on AFL because none of us have played it? Going to be a quiet forum then.

BigMart wrote:Sorry

That comment was meant for Stinger.

I have been warned that I will be banned if I don't say who I direct a comment at?
no i'm certainly not ross lyin mate...i shudder at the thought.....the ones you are referring to have the bodies of hardened men...aish was playing against men before he was drafted....they also had solid preseasons behind them....white came to the club injured...and had more surgery before this season started....he's also a key position player where the others are midfielders.....he's yet to grow into his body.....give the boy a chance ffs.....nothing wrong with his skills...nor his effort according to tony......

True Believer wrote:

So by your logic none of us can comment on AFL because none of us have played it? Going to be a quiet forum then.
Not at all, but someone that so relentlessly criticises and bags so many of our club's players must surely be commenting from a position of "been there, done that", no? Personally I tire of the relentless and casual nature of some posters criticism. If it was all so easy they would not be considered the elite of the sport at a national level. The competition is made up of what are mostly regarded as the best 700 or so footballers in the country and yet the offhand drivel that is levelled in here at times make it seem as if our players should all be able to do it all, at a very high level, from day one, and with no variation in output, ever.

I tell you what, why don't you all run out as an 18 year old from a small country town, into a coliseum like arena with 30 or 40 thousand baying fans, confronting with grown men of vast speed, strength and experience from the opposition looking to put you into a body cast if you are not on your toes. Then maybe the criticism will be a little more measured and come off as a little less petulant.

So, What TB?

Not allowed to make a comment?

A comment was raised by Stinger? A reasonable comment....

I questioned it

And provided a few examples of 'young' players who have been able to perform... So therefore White's excuse for his lack of output (even at Frankston Park in the Sandy Reserves) doesn't really cut it for mine.

He's not from the country, he went to Melbourne High and dominated school footy

He has enormous skill, but is pretty lazy... A bit like Stanley.

I buy a membership, I have supported the club all of my life... I will comment on player

Whether it be Dunstan (positively) or White (-ve)

What age do they become comfortable

Age has nothing to do with it, experience does.... I'd say 50 games to feel secure.

Dunstan would be more comfortable than Ross .......

BigMart wrote:So, What TB?

Not allowed to make a comment?

A comment was raised by Stinger? A reasonable comment....

I questioned it

And provided a few examples of 'young' players who have been able to perform... So therefore White's excuse for his lack of output (even at Frankston Park in the Sandy Reserves) doesn't really cut it for mine.

He's not from the country, he went to Melbourne High and dominated school footy

He has enormous skill, but is pretty lazy... A bit like Stanley.

I buy a membership, I have supported the club all of my life... I will comment on player

Whether it be Dunstan (positively) or White (-ve)

What age do they become comfortable

Age has nothing to do with it, experience does.... I'd say 50 games to feel secure.

Dunstan would be more comfortable than Ross .......
I'd say that fact that they are all individual human beings with different strengths and weaknesses, and different personality types and mindsets plays a much greater role in the variation of performance level and the length of time it takes them all to reach your lofty standards BigMart. Everyone is free to comment, your comments unfortunately seem confined to criticism. As I have previously stated, the only person you appear to have a high opinion of is yourself.

My lofty standards is to have a fair dinkum go and try your best

I saw White be clearly beaten by those who weren't as good... Because of lack of effort

So no, he doesn't meet my LOFTY standards.

But Josh Saunders does, Sam Dunnell does.... In fact most aid professional athletes are having a huge crack

Some don't

He need to be delisted IMO to learn that talent is not good enough

BigMart wrote:My lofty standards is to have a fair dinkum go and try your best

I saw White be clearly beaten by those who weren't as good... Because of lack of effort

So no, he doesn't meet my LOFTY standards.

But Josh Saunders does, Sam Dunnell does.... In fact most aid professional athletes are having a huge crack

Some don't

He need to be delisted IMO to learn that talent is not good enough

harsh mate very harsh....fortunately the club is more patient...and will give the boy a fair go....

I'd say wait until round 22 before a judgment is made

Harsh on people like he and Cripps who get paid .... Like the bloke beside them, but don't roll their sleeves up and get to work.

Ross would have flicked him already.

He's got 2 months to decide if he wants to be Steven Gaertner or Sam Gilbert

I agree, we should give him a break, he's only 19.

People went to war at 19... So it goes

I bet the Hawks are glad they wrote of Josh Kennedy then. He took too long, he should be sacked now for retrospective failure to fire. He's a bloody disgrace back then. Huge spud. I'm glad he's not in the trenches with me.

They're pretty happy with their list management I reckon?!

Mitchell, Sewell, Lewis, Hodge were probably making it hard for him to develop? ATT??

I'm sure Josh wasn't jogging around the the VFL development league not getting a kick though?

Why is jonathan patton relevant?
He is completely unknown. He proves or disproves nothing.
He just add uncertainty on to uncertainty.

BigMart wrote:People went to war at 19... So it goes
What's that got to do with anything? We're comparing AFL players to other AFL players, not Weary Dunlop.

BigMart wrote:They're pretty happy with their list management I reckon?!

Mitchell, Sewell, Lewis, Hodge were probably making it hard for him to develop? ATT??

I'm sure Josh wasn't jogging around the the VFL development league not getting a kick though?
So were we up until 2011.

My grandfather went to gallipoli when he was 17.....so what......doesn't make it right or relevant to this thread,......I can see why others see you as a problem at times.....the boy will be given far longer than two months ......you comment is in poor taste ...and wrong....

BigMart wrote:Harsh on people like he and Cripps who get paid .... Like the bloke beside them, but don't roll their sleeves up and get to work.

Ross would have flicked him already.

He's got 2 months to decide if he wants to be Steven Gaertner or Sam Gilbert

Who gives a tuppence what that judas would or would not do.......not me....he certainly gave the flick to talented young men without giving them a fair go......Hutchins is a prime example.....

Cold hard facts. If spencer cant dine out on dev league then hes in deep deep trouble.
I have zero expectations for him at afl level until hes 21 or 22 or so but if u cant dominate 3 levels down then u are so far back that it makes it all irrelevant. Yes I understand wrist injuries. Yes I get pre seasons.
But the other guys in development league probably have full time jobs or uni and train 3 days a week.
So he needs to own them if he has any hope of making afl level.

guys like hawkins took 5 years to make it at afl level but he was a child prodigy who owned it at tac level.
Guys like pods took a decade to make it but he owned it at vfl level.
guys like jenkins are freaks and come from the clouds at 25.
so spencer has plenty of time but at present his mindset is looking very very negative.
I say hes a 50:50.

Come on BM.

For a one line post that was above yours PLEASE use the quote button. It's not that hard. Try it for quoting short posts. You can do it. Just put your mind to it and you'd be surprised what can be achieved.

....a bit like what you say about Spencer btw.......

Con Gorozidis wrote:Cold hard facts. If spencer cant dine out on dev league then hes in deep deep trouble.
I have zero expectations for him at afl level until hes 21 or 22 or so but if u cant dominate 3 levels down then u are so far back that it makes it all irrelevant. Yes I understand wrist injuries. Yes I get pre seasons.
But the other guys in development league probably have full time jobs or uni and train 3 days a week.

guys like hawkins took 5 years to make it at afl level but he was a child prodigy who owned it at tac level.
so spencer has plenty of time but at present his mindset is looking very very negative.

Spot on.

Maybe White needs to do some hard yards in the WAFL or SANFL for a couple of years after we delist him and if he finds his feet come back as 22 year old mature age rookie.

I'd also like him to do the Kakoda to toughen him up.

I thought it was pretty obvious that the

Went to war at 19... So it goes

Was in reply to

He's only 19

And a tongue in cheek reply WRT the song, hence "so it goes"

Of course not comparing....

What I will say is this

Work ethic and courage doesn't come at a certain age, it comes innately as a part of someone's Attitude, Values and personality.

Often not a great deal of control over a fight or flight response... And work rate is also a habit. It doesn't come naturally to SW
It does come naturally to Josh Saunders... And it did come naturally to a young N Riewoldt

Con Gorozidis wrote:Cold hard facts. If spencer cant dine out on dev league then hes in deep deep trouble.

Agree with you in principle, however I do seem to recall those dev sides getting flogged by something like 3 goals to 15?

Pretty hard owning a game from full forward if the ball doesn't get near you.

I won't defend the lazy/comments though as I haven't seen any of the dev games.