St Kilda condemns Frawley's joke about Caroline Wilson

Re: St Kilda condemns Frawley's joke about Caroline Wilson

Talk about first world problems. In parts of the world you're hanged if you're gay. you're stoned if a woman in an affair. kidnapped by terrorist sand sold as sex slaves. shot at if a girl that is outspoken about your rights. your hand chopped off if you steal. married to a much older man against your wishes (that one still happens here in some communities), killed for your religious views.
back home a few men engage in some obvious light hearted banter - rather offensive, but that kind of humour relies on a dark streak. it is still humour and recognised as such by anyone with half a brain. but my the outrage. justifying the outrage by linking it to societal problems with no evidence supporting it at all, reveals ones nature. they're outraged by their own demonising of people who they believe demonise others. eddie and co aren't demons, they are realtively decent men, leading relatively decent lives. and sharing a relatively harmless joke.
people will think it overboard - fine, then those people will think less of eddie and co. leave it there. we are all different. accept it and tolerate those differences where the harm is so subjective and minimal. elsewise who decides what one can say and think? here you get outrage over an offensive comment against a woman. there you get outrage over being a woman prepared to comment. you want to live in a more repressive society? be careful what you wish for.

desertsaint wrote:Talk about first world problems. In parts of the world you're hanged if you're gay. you're stoned if a woman in an affair. kidnapped by terrorist sand sold as sex slaves. shot at if a girl that is outspoken about your rights. your hand chopped off if you steal. married to a much older man against your wishes (that one still happens here in some communities), killed for your religious views.
back home a few men engage in some obvious light hearted banter - rather offensive, but that kind of humour relies on a dark streak. it is still humour and recognised as such by anyone with half a brain. but my the outrage. justifying the outrage by linking it to societal problems with no evidence supporting it at all, reveals ones nature. they're outraged by their own demonising of people who they believe demonise others. eddie and co aren't demons, they are realtively decent men, leading relatively decent lives. and sharing a relatively harmless joke.
people will think it overboard - fine, then those people will think less of eddie and co. leave it there. we are all different. accept it and tolerate those differences where the harm is so subjective and minimal. elsewise who decides what one can say and think? here you get outrage over an offensive comment against a woman. there you get outrage over being a woman prepared to comment. you want to live in a more repressive society? be careful what you wish for.
Welcome to 2016 mate.

desertsaint wrote:Talk about first world problems. In parts of the world you're hanged if you're gay. you're stoned if a woman in an affair. kidnapped by terrorist sand sold as sex slaves. shot at if a girl that is outspoken about your rights. your hand chopped off if you steal. married to a much older man against your wishes (that one still happens here in some communities), killed for your religious views.
Completely agree. If Caro is offended, and the ppl concerned feel it's appropriate then they apologize. Why would Caro demand an apology knowing the person giving it is being forced to?? I haven't got a problem with the joke - it was an obvious joke, but if it has caused offence that's fine to. Apology accepted (ie Spud's apology sounded genuine) and we move on. Talk about a lot of hot air. All it does is cloud genuine feminist issues and ppl stop taking their cause seriously. I, for one, have two daughters and spend a lot of time talking to them about respect for oneself and equality, but this is just rubbish.

Carro has written that it is all about respect.

RESPECT?

This from the woman that day after day, week after week wrote articles criticising this football club and some of our players for their appalling treatment of the vulnerable so called "StKilda schoolgirl".
When it became obvious that it was the behaviour of the "schoolgirl" that was devious and deceitful, did Carro ever apologise for her finger pointing unresearched articles?

We are still waiting Carro.

Well Carro - respect is a two way street!
Last edited by Enrico_Misso on Mon 20 Jun 2016 6:44pm, edited 1 time in total.

I am def no fan of Macguires but I'm not one bit concerned about what he said. It was funny.

even funnier watch upto half way through when stan askes Eddie if bucks is getting the flick..psmlao.

#gosaintas wrote:
prwilkinson wrote:
#gosaintas wrote:Most important thing is just to be outraged. Doesn't really matter why.
My nipples are hard I'm that outraged.

That's outrageous
Shall I issue a forced public apology? Sorry to all the nipples and nipple lovers that I may have offended. I also apologize to all the lovers of outrage out there. Wait, is nipple or teat the correct term to use in 2016? I'm sorry, I'm just a white male... I don't think too good.

P.S Don't bash your partner (In case you didn't get the memo)

HarryM

Enrico_Misso wrote:Carro has written that it is all about respect.

RESPECT?

This from the woman that day after day, week after week wrote articles criticising this football club and some of our players for their appalling treatment of the vulnerable so called "StKilda schoolgirl".
When it became obvious that it was the behaviour of the "schoolgirl" that was devious and deceitful, did Carro ever apologise for her finger pointing unresearched articles?

She's a joke.

Eddie was very entertaining, and a good sport. :D

If it was a a one off I give Eddie the benefit of the doubt. Storm in a teacup.
But surely if is a joke one of the basic criteria is it has to be slightly funny?

But it is same old same old. White meat heads picking on the lady and picking on the black guy.

Yeah yeah we know. Caro is a witch and Goodes is a gorilla. Just so funny. Ha ha. Monty Python eat your heart out.

How Eddie is still even employed in any way shape or form is completely beyond my comprehension.
Last edited by Con Gorozidis on Mon 20 Jun 2016 8:14pm, edited 2 times in total.

I leave for a couple hours and the place gets taken over by morons...grow a brain you lot.

Con Gorozidis wrote:If it was a a one off I give Eddie the benefit of the doubt. Storm in a teacup.
But surely if is a joke one of the basic criteria is it has to be slightly funny?

But it same old same old. White meat heads picking on the lady and picking on the black guy.

Yeah yeah we know. Caro is a witch and Goodes is a gorilla. Just so funny. Ha ha.
Dont forget his comment about coming out of the closet at the olympics

degruch wrote:I leave for a couple hours and the place gets taken over by morons...grow a brain you lot.
They're are different ways to see things you know. Some of the PC brigade can get out of hand. Lefties can become incredible facists themselves in how they want to demand everyone live their lives and what is acceptable to say and what isn't. I think Eddie went to far and an apology was in order. But also we don't want to kill all the banter. It was meant as a joke, but a ridiculously dark one especially from a club President. But I don't think we need to lynch him. I think people sometimes project onto guys like Eddie and Sam Newman their own mean spiritness. Its easier to point at someone as the devil than acknowledge your own meanness. There is plenty of meanness and dark humour on this board sometimes. Even from you Degruch. And me. Let he who is without sin....

#gosaintas wrote:
mullet wrote:
bigred wrote:Good.

s*** house form.

Blokey bloke gafaw boys club.

Dick heads.
You Sir have nailed it. Perfectly said
Why make the assumption that bigred is male? Sexist.
why have you assumed that I have assumed

I assume those that are up in arms over this "horrendous transgression" also write numerous missives to various TV stations and cinemas whenever they see a TV show or movie containing a scene where a man being struck in the groin is presented as a joke - surely no-one finds that kind of violence towards men funny?!! Or scenes where a woman slaps a mans face or throws a drink in his face - surely such uncontrolled violence and aggression towards men is not entertaining?!! After all, we are pursuing equality at all costs - no?

Gays are poofs.
Women are witches.
Black guys are Gorrillas.

A-grade humour. I am sure the Edinburgh Fringe Festival will be holding the premier venues for this side-splitting stuff.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Gays are poofs.
Women are witches.
Black guys are Gorrillas.

A-grade humour. I am sure the Edinburgh Fringe Festival will be holding the premier venues for this side-splitting stuff.

No the Edinburgh Fringe Festival will be featuring unicorn monologues about "man-flu", "man-splaining", "man-spreading" and having a "man-look" and other such non-sexist drivel.........

Bluthy wrote:
degruch wrote:I leave for a couple hours and the place gets taken over by morons...grow a brain you lot.
They're are different ways to see things you know. Some of the PC brigade can get out of hand. Lefties can become incredible facists themselves in how they want to demand everyone live their lives and what is acceptable to say and what isn't. I think Eddie went to far and an apology was in order. But also we don't want to kill all the banter. It was meant as a joke, but a ridiculously dark one especially from a club President. But I don't think we need to lynch him. I think people sometimes project onto guys like Eddie and Sam Newman their own mean spiritness. Its easier to point at someone as the devil than acknowledge your own meanness. There is plenty of meanness and dark humour on this board sometimes. Even from you Degruch. And me. Let he who is without sin....
Very deep Bluthy! :D

I don't really think anyone can defend Ed, no matter what angle, but there's a few here giving it a go which is sad. He thought he'd throw his weight around again and got called out. It's got nothing to do with being PC or a lefty, it's got much more to do with being a disrespectful arsehole. Maybe mods should lock the thread, I'm sure nothing much is going to be added as it dissolves into 'just jokes mate', 'but Caro's an ugly whatever', etc, etc. in an effort to inject more dark humour.

So much bloody political correctness these days. Things were heaps better in the old days. World's gone mad!

I'm no fan of Caro, and reckon Eddie's a jerk, but really.....what's the fuss all about?

If a bloke wrote crap about St Kilda, I'd happily suggest we hold him under ice water to teach the prick a lesson.

And I'm a real fan of equality, equal pay for equal work...and all that...but if a female writes crap about St Kilda...err...I have to treat her differently...???

Anyhow, I've had a gutfull of AFL personalities setting the moral agenda...or the moral debate....they're mostly bogans who know stuff about football.....and that's about it.

Just Aussie blokes engaging in good light hearted hilarity. At a minority's expense. Nothing to see here. Business as usual. Carry on.

Its obviously a bye week and slow media week!

degruch wrote:
I don't really think anyone can defend Ed, no matter what angle, but there's a few here giving it a go which is sad. He thought he'd throw his weight around again and got called out. It's got nothing to do with being PC or a lefty, it's got much more to do with being a disrespectful arsehole. Maybe mods should lock the thread, I'm sure nothing much is going to be added as it dissolves into 'just jokes mate', 'but Caro's an ugly whatever', etc, etc. in an effort to inject more dark humour.
You must be very disappointed, because not one person has made a derogatory comment about Carro, other than a couple not rating her journalism. The argument has developed from whether it was misogyny or just plain bullying of other people... Just in case you missed it which you seem to have. So frustrating when ppl don't have the same point of view isn't it? I mean each thread should be set up so that WE ALL just agree and bag the crap out of someone, some thing. I think it's incredibly sad that ppl like you write sneering, intellectually superior (supposedly) posts looking down on others because they don't agree with you.

Ok. This is a decisive issue. So can I put it aside for a moment.

Genuine question.

What is the point of Eddie McGuire? Yes he made money and is President of Collingwood. But what is his actual point? Why does he still hold any clout in Melbourne? Why is he even still a 'thing'? Why is he a public figure? What does he actually do? Just a talking head? I am unsure what role he serves.

How anyone can read that 'banter' and not regard it as ugly and offensive I don't know.

The very epitome of jock boys locker room ignorance for all to see. "The Footy Show' culture.

Not surprising to find people defending it. I notice they're mostly blokes. Yeah it's all just PC crap. She should man up and take it.
I wonder if that kind of 'banter' might in any way reflect a culture that doesn't want to know about domestic violence and abuse. The essence of unhealthy masculinity.

Hilarious to publicly talk about drowning a woman. Bloody Caro. She should just stop challenging the Boys' Club and let their misogyny run free.

st.byron wrote:How anyone can read that 'banter' and not regard it as ugly and offensive I don't know.

The very epitome of jock boys locker room ignorance for all to see. "The Footy Show' culture.

Not surprising to find people defending it. I notice they're mostly blokes. Yeah it's all just PC crap. She should man up and take it.
I wonder if that kind of 'banter' might in any way reflect a culture that doesn't want to know about domestic violence and abuse. The essence of unhealthy masculinity.

Hilarious to publicly talk about drowning a woman. Bloody Caro. She should just stop challenging the Boys' Club and let their misogyny run free.
man , woman , irrelevant. Talking about anyone with the vitriol they displayed was just plain disgraceful.

Enrico_Misso wrote:Carro has written that it is all about respect.

RESPECT?

Completely agree
She's poured shite on our club for years
never apologise's for all the lies she write's
and people on here feel she's been badly done by .

I'm no fan of fat head eddie but it's a bit rich from her to hold the high moral ground on anything !

Who is she going to take a pot shot at tonight when she does her " Caro's arrow " segment on Footy classified .