Official Team - round 22

older saint wrote:look for King V McEvoy for 2nd ruck in finals this week.
Hallelujah. My thought precisely on why MG is injured. The call needs to be made between King and Big Ben. Game on.

I'm with the Ball Hayes McEvoy INS prediction.

Steven and Gears close.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
avid

skeptic wrote:
borderbarry wrote:Dempster Eddy and Steven out for mine.
i concur

don't think it'll happen but this IMO is the right call
Concurrence from me too.
I can never see what Dempster actually does -- just jogs around lookng negative. (I'm sure there's more to his game than that, but I hate the look of it.)
I've been a fan of Eddy's since I saw him as a rookie in a practice game. But he was hopeless in last year's finals, and doesn't appear to have improved. Can't seem to mark, can't seem to kick.
Jack is a little ripper. I'd love him to be in. But we need players with more experience. Can't wait for next year for him.

Reportd in todays Australian that Lyon was quoted as saying taht Ball won't be selected on Sunday. Reckons he needs another full game in the VFL.

I reckon Geary will get a gig, although it may be Stevens if we're looking for anotehr inside mid.

doggerel

rexy wrote:
Interesting one is Ray, nobody thinks he is a chance to miss? Would have thought Geary and Ray were similar types both named on the bench? Thought Ray was lazy last week! Has been super for most of the year though and has more class and poise than Geary.
Yes, good spot. Ray doesn't normally get named on the bench. Ball was named on the bench as a precursor to being dropped. If Ray plays this week he would want to put in a good one.

Geary played a blinder for Sandy last week and would have to be a chance.

St Kilda Social Club member since 1996

older saint wrote:look for King V McEvoy for 2nd ruck in finals this week.
seriously? i reckon king's still miles ahead of mcevoy. some of his hitouts last week were superb, though the midfield tended to waste them. and he had five tackles and looked very strong in there.

big mac's certainly thereabouts and progressing nicely, but there's no real choice if they're all fit. gardiner + king all the way.

SaintHomer

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:
SaintHomer wrote:gardiner a worry
that'd be it for maxy i think. i really hope zac can do the job for us when the pressure is on.
VERY interested to see if ball comes in. i thought armitage might go out, but thought he'd be on the extended bench to start with. very unlucky.
Why is that it for Max?
I could be wrong, but by not having Max in last week and this week, it shows a preference for Dawson.

Obviously not knowing what goes on behind the scenes with injuries, etc. it makes it hard, but I would have thought that the team they play with this weekend would be close to the team they would want for week 1 of the finals. I really thought Max and Bally would come back in but I was wrong by the looks of things.

SaintHomer wrote:
ohwhenthesaints! wrote:
that'd be it for maxy i think. i really hope zac can do the job for us when the pressure is on.
VERY interested to see if ball comes in. i thought armitage might go out, but thought he'd be on the extended bench to start with. very unlucky.
Why is that it for Max?
I could be wrong, but by not having Max in last week and this week, it shows a preference for Dawson.

Obviously not knowing what goes on behind the scenes with injuries, etc. it makes it hard, but I would have thought that the team they play with this weekend would be close to the team they would want for week 1 of the finals. I really thought Max and Bally would come back in but I was wrong by the looks of things.
I am still not so sure, both players could possibly be under specialised programs to ensure their best is to come from next week onwards?

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:
SaintHomer wrote:
ohwhenthesaints! wrote:
Why is that it for Max?

I am still not so sure, both players could possibly be under specialised programs to ensure their best is to come from next week onwards?
Max's body language at training on Wednesday was very negative and he did not look at all injured.

I feel he will only get a game if someone else goes down. We have played our best footy this year without Max in the side.

thirty-seven!?

From Facebook:

ROUND 22 FINAL TEAM:

IN - L. Hayes, R. Eddy, B. McEvoy

OUT - D Armitage (omitted), J Gwilt (omitted), M. Gardiner (hamstring soreness)

Eddy in over Ball and Geary.....On last weeks perfromance in the VFL, I cannot understand this one bit.

thirty-seven!?

Spinner wrote:Eddy in over Ball and Geary.....On last weeks perfromance in the VFL, I cannot understand this one bit.
A bit baffling... its not like he has any massive upside against Melbourne that the others dont provide...

Maybe Ross wanted to see one more game in the VFL of the other two.

Spinner wrote:Eddy in over Ball and Geary.....On last weeks perfromance in the VFL, I cannot understand this one bit.
Maybe he had a role to do last week and did it well and maybe he is better doing a role than the other 2. Armo was probably dropped because he couldnt do his role.

35...LEGEND

ODD :?

Maybe he had a role to do last week and did it well and maybe he is better doing a role than the other 2. Armo was probably dropped because he couldnt do his role.

Yeah maybe.....

But in saying so, Geary was best on ground with three goals and Ball racked up over 25 touches.....If their role was to get a kick, they did a pretty good job of doing so.

spiral2

ditto, must be role specific...
geary three nice goals and I thought Ball had some nice composed and constructive touches

geary not defensive enough???
ball still building confidence/attacking game???

I like the way Eddy goes about it (1%ers etc) but gets very few touches with and iffy disposal and decision making

I'm stunned and have run out of theories.......quite a mystery
Guess in faith we trust and won't know the anything clearer until this time next week

Thought he was just so-so compared with the other two last week

starsign wrote:
Guess in faith we trust ...
well i've lost my faith and i'm flying down this weekend to take charge before these muppets do any more damage!
Last edited by desertsaint on Fri 28 Aug 2009 8:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dempster needs to buy a tatts ticket.

desertsaint wrote:
starsign wrote:
Guess in faith we trust ...
well i've lost my faith and i'm flying down this weekend do take charge before these muppets do any more damage!
oops...sorry - thought i was on the Labor party forum :oops:

Mr X from the West

Eddy? No disrespect, but he butchers the ball and we have enough of that in the team already!

"Blow out the candle I will burn again tomorrow"
StPeter

I am very disappointed with the selection but Lyon insists on continually

giving Eddy a go when he shows nothing. How can he be selected ahead of

the likes of Ball, Geary, Armitage or even Gwilt if thats the role he has been

selected for? Imagine if he eventually plays a good or even average game..

he will never be dropped.

I agree totally why EDDY...

I cant believe that EDDY gets a game in the 6th forward role ahead of GEARY, ARMITAGE & BALL. EDDY is another whos kicking skills aren't great and hasn't kicked many goals - he must do a lot of % team things well that the selectors are asking for...

Too me EDDY looks like the perfect back pocket or back flanker good solid player but doesn't have the edge to play forward - obviously it is his defensive pressure that gets him a start up forward.

This third forward lead up role has been our one weak link all year - but come finals look for GODDARD, FISHER and GILBERT to have more time in that role. Hopefully the selectors we see sense and return Max to the backline and push FISHER forward...FISHER is great down back but I think he could be the X factor come finals..

For those who dont think Eddy should get a game i have 2 questions. Do you RL knows less than you guys or do you think he wants to pick poor players?

Mr X from the West

plugger66 wrote:For those who dont think Eddy should get a game i have 2 questions. Do you RL knows less than you guys or do you think he wants to pick poor players?
God knows what he's thinking. That's why we're asking. Any ideas Plugger?

"Blow out the candle I will burn again tomorrow"

Mr X from the West wrote:
plugger66 wrote:For those who dont think Eddy should get a game i have 2 questions. Do you RL knows less than you guys or do you think he wants to pick poor players?
God knows what he's thinking. That's why we're asking. Any ideas Plugger?
Pretty sure he will do a role better than the other 2 but I am also pretty sure Bally will play in the finals as long as he plays well again tomorrow.