The way contract offer withdrawn - Ball

BTW there is a salary cap, what room remained in that salary cap before the start of trade week for Bally, Was alomost certainly gone by the end of trade week due to peake and lovett coming in.

Should've the saints not traded for other players just in case the Collingwood offfer fell through? How would've that help St Kilda?

ausfatcat wrote:BTW there is a salary cap, what room remained in that salary cap before the start of trade week for Bally, Was alomost certainly gone by the end of trade week due to peake and lovett coming in.

Should've the saints not traded for other players just in case the Collingwood offfer fell through? How would've that help St Kilda?
X leaving adds another part of the puzzle. Any potential salary cap issue could be avoided by back ending the contract - not recommended it - just saying it's an option.

GeorgeYoung27

X leaving adds another part of the puzzle. Any potential salary cap issue could be avoided by back ending the contract - not recommended it - just saying it's an option.
In other words renegotiating it.

If he keeps getting us to GF's he can rate anyone he likes quite frankly..thats his job as senior coach and hes way more qualified than you or me to make those calls
Absolutely, categorically agree.

My point is that one-eyed wankers on here seem to think the club is perfect and god forbid they would potentially treat a player unfairly!

We have treated Luke poorly, Max very poorly, and Goose poorly.

But we made the GF, and that is the goal. Not to be nice to players.

satchmo wrote:
From the supporters angle:- You aren't respecting our heroes.
From the coach's angle:- Prove yourself, reputation isn't enough.
Absolutely. And I have no problem with it.....as long as we're winning.

Milton66 wrote:Hmmmmm.

Well it's pretty obvious that Ross was in love with Bin Laden and instigated the 9/11 bombings... which in turn sowed the seeds for the global financial crisis, just to protect player that he recruited at the expense of Luke Ball.

Is it any wonder poor old Luke decided to leave?

I think Rodgerfox is on to something here. :roll:
I think you're responding to someone else's post here.

Don't know why you've mentioned my name in that odd post, because it's not relative at all to my views on this topic.

True Believer wrote:
You're kidding, right? In three years the guy got us within 5 minutes of the elusive 2nd premiership that our club has been chasing for over 4 decades and you think he got some of his recruitment and selection wrong ???
That's funny.

Chicken or egg?

Did the selections get us to within 5 minutes of the flag? Or did they cause us to remain 5 minutes way from the flag?

True Believer wrote: I hope he keeps on getting it "wrong" in your opinion then, because so far he has seemed to recruit specific to need, do great value trades (no pick 6 & 31 for a gumby ruckman) and has an eye on the future at the same time (lots of bottom age kids in the last draft with an eye on the compromised drafts coming up).
I wish I had your rose coloured glasses on.

King was woeful in the GF, ditto Gardiner. Milne was pungent, so was Mini. Schneider choked, and Kosi didn't work as a FF.
We relied on Roo too much, and it wasn't effective on GF day.
Etc. etc. etc.

GF Day was horrible in many, many ways. And alot of neutral supporters think we engineered the loss due to our own decisions.

Decisions which may have got us there in the first place though, must be said.

So the question remains, are we content with a GF appearance? If so, then Lyon did a great job.

If not, then he f***ed up bad and needs to re-assess his decision making and really reflect on his own performance on GF day and improve it before next year.

Milton66

rodgerfox wrote:
If he keeps getting us to GF's he can rate anyone he likes quite frankly..thats his job as senior coach and hes way more qualified than you or me to make those calls
Absolutely, categorically agree.

My point is that one-eyed wankers on here seem to think the club is perfect and god forbid they would potentially treat a player unfairly!

But we made the GF, and that is the goal. Not to be nice to players.
How so? Please elaborate how said players have been treated poorly?

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?
Milton66

rodgerfox wrote:

Well it's pretty obvious that Ross was in love with Bin Laden and instigated the 9/11 bombings... which in turn sowed the seeds for the global financial crisis, just to protect player that he recruited at the expense of Luke Ball.

Don't know why you've mentioned my name in that odd post, because it's not relative at all to my views on this topic.
Becuase, as suspected, you've turned this thread into an RL bashing.

rodgerfox wrote:We have treated Luke poorly, Max very poorly, and Goose poorly.
Here we go, your bait de jour....

Based on what?... they weren't walk up starts?

Pure supposition, utter crap.

rodgerfox wrote:
How, how and how?

Clearly you must be able to see and listen through walls because as far as I can tell Ball and Max were dealt with honestly and fairly. Ball didn't fit the plan. He was told what to do so he would. He did what he was told. He came back willing and able to participate. Max got injured. Again. He was not selected because the selectors deemed him extraneous to our defensive needs. Again, how is that unfair? And re Goose: Um. he smashed his leg, suffered the misfortune of having it get infected, and he played like someone who was rehabilitating in the seconds for the year without ever showing enough to warrant getting picked in the A's UNTIL that Tassie Hawks game but then he went and got hurt. Again.

So WTF are you going on about?

What special insights are you privy to that the rest of us mere mortals are not?

Poorly my arse.

They were treated like sportsmen.

You are a piffle tosser, Rodger.
Last edited by Thinline on Mon 12 Oct 2009 2:17pm, edited 1 time in total.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:

Oh dear. Apologies, I thought I was on a footy discussion forum, not a hero worship site where the slightest form of non-adulation is completely tabou and dared not be uttered.

Fair dinkum. Bashing?? Jesus, some perspective would nice now and then.

Milton66

rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:

Oh dear. Apologies, I thought I was on a footy discussion forum, not a hero worship site where the slightest form of non-adulation is completely tabou and dared not be uttered.

Fair dinkum. Bashing?? Jesus, some perspective would nice now and then.
How about you tsay on topic? Ans stop baiting people?

Better stil, how about you back up your statements and explain why said players were treated poorly???

No one is hero worshipping.

This thread is about Luke Ball.

If you want to discuss Lyon, then start a new report. :D

Milton66 wrote:

Better stil, how about you back up your statements and explain why said players were treated poorly???
I wrote about Lyon in response to a question.

Milton66 wrote: No one is hero worshipping.
Plenty are. You don't know what you're arguing Wayne, you clearly just spend time on here for some fun.

Milton66 wrote: This thread is about Luke Ball.

Ok, so you don't want to discuss other players being treated poorly?

Milton66

rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:

Plenty are. You don't know what you're arguing Wayne, you clearly just spend time on here for some fun.

And the reason why 3 players were treated poorly are......

Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:

I think making Max get kitted up and warm up in the rooms on camera in some amatuer ruse to kid the viewers at home that he playing in the Prelim wasn't in great taste, and wasn't overly fair on Max.

Just one exmaple.

Milton66

rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:

I think making Max get kitted up and warm up in the rooms on camera in some amatuer ruse to kid the viewers at home that he playing in the Prelim wasn't in great taste, and wasn't overly fair on Max.

Just one exmaple.
And you know for a fact that it was a ruse?

More please...

rodgerfox wrote: I think making Max get kitted up and warm up in the rooms on camera in some amatuer ruse to kid the viewers at home that he playing in the Prelim wasn't in great taste, and wasn't overly fair on Max.

Just one exmaple.

= "I got nothin"

Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:

Just one exmaple.

More please...
Gooe being told he would play his 100th in 2009, and this info being aired publicly by the club.

Nothin' alright.
I was about to say RF's subsequent silence has been deafening.
But in actual fact, it's been quite pleasant.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

Luke Ball sitting out over 50% of the GF.

Do I need to go on? Seriously, you cannot seriously be sitting there with a straight face saying that we treat all players really well.

Remember, I'm not saying it's a bad thing at all.

:lol: :lol:

Best do one of your disappearing tricks rodge... it really is getting embarrassing for you.

rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:
rodgerfox wrote:
Milton66 wrote:

Just one exmaple.

More please...
Gooe being told he would play his 100th in 2009, and this info being aired publicly by the club.
Piss poor.

'Gooe' was going to play in Tassie.

He got injured.

rodgerfox wrote:Luke Ball sitting out over 50% of the GF.

Do I need to go on? Seriously, you cannot seriously be sitting there with a straight face saying that we treat all players really well.

Remember, I'm not saying it's a bad thing at all.
Rodger Fox. Now with extra rubber!!!

rodgerfox wrote: Seriously, you cannot seriously be sitting there with a straight face saying that we treat all players really well.
No, you're the one sitting there with your tongue in your cheek saying they were treated poorly... and Max very poorly.

How?