Zac Dawson rejects St Kilda's offer

saintbob wrote:I'm glad the footy club and Pelchen decided to play hard ball with Dawson, he is the most overated player on our list especially by most on this site.

I for one, will NOT be sad to see him go!!!!

RL & Freo are welcome to him!!!
So who do you think should replace him Bob?

lol at quote over on bigfooty:

"I feel a great disturbance in the force. It was as if a million Fremantle fans cried out at once and were suddenly silenced."

I'm trying to decide between -

Dawson ..let me know if you need help with the doorson .

or

Zac .. let me show you to the Dawson.
Last edited by samoht on Mon 31 Oct 2011 11:19am, edited 1 time in total.

i wonder what will happen to alex silvagni as he is the full back for freo

Hammer

Don't let the door hit you on the way out Zac!
300k Tsk.....

Bring back the Hammer!

older saint wrote:The position he plays and the time these type players take to develop makes his value greater than his ability level.

Supply and Demand state that full backs with a mature body ( he is never going to be big just like Max was ) are not in abundance hence he can ask for bigger coin.

The issue we will have losing him is there is no ready made replacement to take this spot. Jimmy is a Leo Barry type undersized and coming back froman ACL, Fisher is a running CHB, Simpkins may well be a Dawson 3 years back. Blake has size but disposal isnot good enough. Many bag Dawson's disposal check out his kicking efficiency for the last few seasons.

many here will be glad a Zac became the whipping boy when rah was out but it will hurt mark my words.

the inability or unwillingness to make a trade in Trade week for a Gram/ray/Peake/Gilbert who are easier to replace has led to this position.

On ability 300K per year is well over however based on supply and demand it is probably not far off market value .
Good post. I think it's far from ideal to have to now find someone to play at fullback.

For someone like RL - i.e. someone who cannot develop players there may be a supply and demand situation and you may need to scrape the bottom of the barrel and play someone like Dawson.

or you can start developing and giving other players a chance who might easily surpass what Dawson has - and it might not be too hard to.

Watters may just be that coach... i hope so anyway as RL left a lot to be desired.

Freo (I feel) has poached a rotten egg...they might end up with the poached egg on their face... and are also eminently welcome to Dawson RL's by-product.
Last edited by samoht on Mon 31 Oct 2011 11:41am, edited 1 time in total.

matrix wrote:archer?
at fb?

rightio
lol
Archer was outstanding as CHB against collingwood in last quarter in VFL

He has potential as a defender

Leo.J

One door closes, and another opens for someone else.

Zac did his job, he was one toe tap, and an unlucky bounce away from being a dual premiership player.

Oh well... move on.

noddy04

I can't wait to see Dawson playing on Rooey.. He will be in an oxygen tent halfway through the first quarter LOL

We have to lose someone.

Dawson was front and centre with player 'misadventure' preseason 2010 and for all his good there was plenty of ill discipline.

I'm not fussed, especially if some other mob are going to empty their wallets paying for him.

Simpkin, Gilbert or Blake step in. Not like we're short on backmen.

"The inches we need are everywhere around us. They're in every break in the game. Every minute, every second. On this team we fight for that inch. On this team we tear ourselves and everyone around us to pieces for that inch. We claw with our fingernails for that inch. Because we know when we add up all those inches that's gonna make the f***in' difference between winning and losing! Between living and dying!'

if we had height issues down back; send down the Kos

markinUSA

Can I just ask... does getting rid of Dawson solve our salary cap problem? Or could there still be more changes?

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

we mismanaged and couldn't afford to pay our middle tier players

or

zac is asking too much and is just not rated that highly

or

zac is worried that pelchen cut him before and his opportunities will be limited, and wants some financial security (and a lyon's cage to give him on-field security)

whatever it was, hit the road zac. i hope you like flying across the country every second week.

noddy04 wrote:I can't wait to see Dawson playing on Rooey.. He will be in an oxygen tent halfway through the first quarter LOL
Probably be nervous as hell the night before.

Might have to pop a few sleeping pills :P

carnasaints55

cant wait for a Roo v Dawson match up. Roo will outmark and outrun Dawson. Roo to kick 5+ vs freo (if they play on eachother that is, Mcpharlin usually takes roo i think).

EDIT: cant believe i missed someone saying the same thing above. apologies.

roo=god
Hammer

Always remember him beating up on Barry Hall.
Er, I mean "finger poke and run"! :shock:

Bring back the Hammer!
Hammer

Always remember him beating up on Barry Hall.
Er, I mean "finger poke and run"! :shock:

Bring back the Hammer!

zac did do this to hally -

matrix wrote:lol at quote over on bigfooty:
"I feel a great disturbance in the force. It was as if a million Fremantle fans cried out at once and were suddenly silenced."
"That boy is our last hope." "No, there is another."

We just don't know who it is yet.

Not the player i would have preffered to lose from the uncontracted bunch.

I doubt Pelchen rates him thats why Simpkin was quickly signed.

I reckon Lyon was in his ear early.

I hear hes a sh it bloke anyway.

Just my random thoughts.

hahaha
no, there is another

err chb isnt the same as fb

and yup
im not happy he has gone either
replacing fullbacks isnt easy
but we were not far from this spot a couple of years ago

going to be interesting and create some great debate :? :D

Old Mate wrote:Not the player i would have preffered to lose from the uncontracted bunch.

I doubt Pelchen rates him thats why Simpkin was quickly signed.

I reckon Lyon was in his ear early.

I hear hes a sh it bloke anyway.
Just my random thoughts.
what makes you say that?

The fact is Zac plays on the quality talls/monsters week in week out.
Im talking Buddy/Cloke etc etc. And as much as people criticise him he NEVER gets toweled up. When was the last time some fwd kicked a bag against us?

Granted we play a good team defense and we often have a loose man to double team. But sheesh. Cloke/Brown/Buddy etc would love to play on Blake. Simkin is promising but not sure he is tall enough for those guys?

Zac = big hole.

Zac's a lovely kid (contrary to that stupid above comment about him being a 'sh1t bloke'), but has serious flaws in his game and at best is a below average AFL footballer.. He has been covered by a super defensive strategy and some serious relief.. Fisher, Blake & Gwilt have covered his ass that many times it's not funny..

He has them to thank for this nice financial offer from Freo & Ross.. I feel for McPharlin next year, he's gonna have to peel off hard..

For all those that support him by using examples like keep Cloke quiet, go back and watch the rnd 24 game v Carlton where a now delisted spud in Setanta ruined him 1 on 1..

One out, and on pure ability, he is no loss..

Don't rate him, wrapt he's gone..