Saintsational is dying...

Re: Saintsational is dying...

Good to see such healthy discussion.

A few more points:

Activity levels: looking at the first page now there are threads with the last post ranging from March 25-29. That is 4 days. For newer posters it used to be normal that if you read a post and then came back, if it was not one of the more active discussions that it would often be on page 2 and so you had to look to find it. That simply dos not happen now. Posts per thread are less, and particularly if you deduct the Poster v Poster posts.

P66: Is very much a part of the forum, and I was not calling for him to be banned or to stop posting. I find some of his posts insightful, interesting and at times even amusing. What I was suggesting was that he and a few others desist with their baiting and poster vs poster threads. Or in P66s case at least the extreme volume of it. And to be clear it is not just P66 that I was referring to.

I certainly understand that one can get sucked into such behaviour, and to be honest for a period on SS for a time while I was not baiting, I certainly got sucked into posting too many one on one "debates" with several other posters. A few other posters pointed out that I was overdoing it. While initially aggrieved, I thought about it, realised I was overdoing it, that the forum was for all, and moderated my behaviour.

A forum such as this should always have debate as one of it's cornerstones. That SS was a bit more lively than many other forums (and not just football forums) was one of it's attractions. Counter views are fantastic and most welcome.

However do I want endless slanging, baiting and poster v poster jousts in thread after thread? = no. Moreso when it is just a small few repeating "Groundhog Day" in thread after thread.

Currently it is like the same joke being told over and over. Funny, or at least corny, the first time, but now mind numbingly boring to all but the person repeatingly telling the same old joke.

sunsaint wrote:PS also the current "PM didnt pick us thread" also points to the lack of mods
it woudl be fine in the general forum but not here
ohhh...please.....it was footy related....posted in fun ..and had a valid point...... :roll:

AccidentallyTim wrote:Not a regular poster but read just about every day for a long time now and imo the forum should be opened up to allow the unregistered to read but have to register to post, that's how I started.
i agree with you there......the way to get new posters...so it's the way to go.....dilute the bullies and troublemakers.....we can handle the odd stalker from another club...hell we have stalkers of our own anyway....

busso mick

In between seasons Saintsational is just a bit of a sideshow. Now that the new season is upon us the Forum will crank up again to normal levels, looking forward to being on here tomorrow after a win or a loss. Differing opinions is what makes this place tick, rather than a mutual admiration society agreeing about all things Saintly. Vive la difference.

Winmar

From my perspective:

I can access the TrueSainters forum using the Tapatalk app on my phone and tablet, whereas I have to wait to get on my pc to come here.

I get sick of every discussion turning into an argument. It becomes tiresome pretty quickly.

Having said that, I'm looking forward to the season starting and seeing what everyone has to say on here.

Winmar wrote:From my perspective:

I can access the TrueSainters forum using the Tapatalk app on my phone and tablet, whereas I have to wait to get on my pc to come here.

I get sick of every discussion turning into an argument. It becomes tiresome pretty quickly.

Having said that, I'm looking forward to the season starting and seeing what everyone has to say on here.
I normally use SS on my iPhone.

Rarely use my PC for it.

busso mick wrote:In between seasons Saintsational is just a bit of a sideshow. Now that the new season is upon us the Forum will crank up again to normal levels, looking forward to being on here tomorrow after a win or a loss. Differing opinions is what makes this place tick, rather than a mutual admiration society agreeing about all things Saintly. Vive la difference.
first place i come after going to the footy

The Craw

Saintsational – Saintsational
I'd sit alone and read our plight
My only friend through footy nights
And everything I had to know
I read it on saintsational

You gave them all those footy stars
Through wars of word – insightful and bizarre
You made 'em laugh - you made 'em cry
You made us feel like we could fly
Saintsational

So don't become some background blog
A backdrop for the trolls and flogs
Who just don't know or just don't care
And just complain when they post in there
You had your time, you had the power
You've yet to have your finest hour
Saintsational - saintsational

All we read is Saintsational ga ga
Saintsational goo goo
Saintsational ga ga
Saintsational blah blah
Saintsational what's new?
Saintsational, someone still loves you

We read the threads - we follow the stars
On twitter and facebook for hours and hours
No need to log on to see what appears
How forums change through the years

Let's hope you never leave old friend
Like all good things on you we depend
So stick around 'cos we might miss you
When we grow tired of all this visual
You had your time - you had the power
Saintsational - Saintsational

Saintsational goo goo
Saintsational ga ga
All we read is radio ga ga
Saintsational goo goo
Saintsational ga ga
All we read is radio ga ga
Saintsational blah blah
Saintsational what's new ?
Someone still loves you

Saintsational ga ga (ga ga)

You had your time - you had the power
Saintsational - Saintsational

Not Craw, CRAW!

Very good Craw. Is there a tune to it or is it a poem?

bigcarl wrote:Very good Craw. Is there a tune to it or is it a poem?
Freddy and Queen. Radio Ga Ga. :D

It's amazing at how fun a place this was around 2004-2006. A lot more young posters. Young and old meeting up at the footy, playing forum footy. Regular daily hilarity from an array of characters. You're lucky to see those characters post once a month nowadays.

I know times change, but it really has been for the worse.

The people in charge here are spineless, unaccountable, and seriously lacking in innovation and leadership.

You'd almost have to make an effort of not making an effort, to let this place become the dump that it has.

People pointing their finger at social media have got it ALL wrong. Social media should have made this place even better. More content, greater idea generation, increased awareness and user capability.

Repeat: "leaders" of this forum should hang themselves out to dry. Who are they again? Hiding in the bushes or just don't give a toot about this place? Sad either way.

We could go back to the future;

WHO's GOT A RECIPIE FOR COLESLAW? !!

As a relative newcomer to this site I have no real idea of it's ownership. Who does own it and what does that mean anyway?

99.9% of us are just posters and that's all we wanna be. We want to come on here and have a browse and maybe post a comment.

As I learned from my experiences with the Social Club at work - many people were very quick to criticise what the administration had organised for the year but very few were prepared to run at election time. And I keep that in mind whenever this topic comes up.

What if those in charge of this site, the "owners", all decide they've had enough and decide to walk away? And the Mods go from being hardly ever around to gonski. What happens then?

What if Saintsational is like some rickety old cyber airliner and were all strapped in; totally oblivious to the fact that behind the cockpit door the flight crew have already ejected as we hurtle towards oblivion?

I hope Saintsational survives and I hope it gets better. But I'm not going to bag those people running it (if indeed there's anyone still there) as I admit I'm not prepared to get involved in that side of it.

8856brother wrote:
bigcarl wrote:Very good Craw. Is there a tune to it or is it a poem?
Freddy and Queen. Radio Ga Ga. :D
ah, of course. got it

Beekay

I hope Saintsational survives and I hope it gets better. But I'm not going to bag those people running it (if indeed there's anyone still there) as I admit I'm not prepared to get involved in that side of it.
love your work in general, mate

but perhaps you should read/re-read some of matrix's posts within this thread.

Eastern wrote:We could go back to the future;

WHO's GOT A RECIPIE FOR COLESLAW? !!
them was the days..... :wink:

before TAF.....(trolls and flogs)... :twisted: ..joined en masse... :cry:

..when there were real posters, real men and women....plus children.... interested in mainly the footy....and..not a beer fairy in sight either :wink:

Beekay wrote:
love your work in general, mate

but perhaps you should read/re-read some of matrix's posts within this thread.
I'm not sure why I would need to do so.

These are simply my thoughts on the topic and I'm not sure why matrix's words make mine any less relevant or appropriate.

hmmmmm.

... when the seers saw 'the signs' early ,
the lazy condemned their political activism.

... whilst those who 'backed their faith' in this place ,
the lazy took cheap potshots condemning their activism.

... now ... they cry for a saviour .

hahaha.

Stinger does to the General Forum what / as 'No Class' does to this Ham Forum.

enjoy the slow death ... its been a way lot slower for those who pointed out
this OBVIOUSNESS , years ago !

Beekay

Dr Spaceman wrote: These are simply my thoughts on the topic and I'm not sure why matrix's words make mine any less relevant or appropriate.
pretty lazy and thoughtless thoughts

Beekay wrote:
Dr Spaceman wrote: These are simply my thoughts on the topic and I'm not sure why matrix's words make mine any less relevant or appropriate.
you're not having a go at someone are you beekay????? not like you....:mrgreen:

Ah.... The good old days???

Isn't it funny how we look at the past through rose coloured glasses?! Not much has really changed really... Lost the odd good poster like bungiton, statsman, savatage, HD, Solar and of course Barks....

But the personal stuff was no different, the stoushes were long and often quite ferocious! Of course we were either picking up glamour draft picks or contending in the last decade... Which creates more excitement than finishing mid road...

Also, We had the odd controversy I do believe....

Just think; If someone was to mention SACRED COW in this thread it might get to 26 pages !!

Rhys Lightning

It seems that the process to join has now been automated. It took me all of a minute.

Maybe if the forum was opened up it would be very easy for the trolls to get in.

Beekay wrote:
In your opinion I assume. :roll:

Keep up the good work Doc.

P66 is in no way a problem in fact his internet character and the ones that he niggles are one of the main attractions of this site. People love the argy-bargy and it's really funny. I would go as far as to say that P66 is marketable in his own right.

Incidently wouldn't the installation of Google Anaylitics be able to give a very objective and detailed report on the website usage? Maybe the site owners should look into it. Mind you, "the owners" might need to be reminded of how important this site is to a lot of people and get motivated to look at a host of improvements, some of which have been suggested in this thread.

Would the current owners be interested in sharing ownership and possibly introducing some new blood into the management of the site? I think the club should also somehow acknowledge SS in a way. Maybe advertise on our Banner agian, that is how I found this site back in 2005. The Saintsational web address was put on our banner for one game and I saw it on the TV and jumped on the computer and visited straight away and joined up there and then.