Spencer White

Re: Spencer White

bigred wrote:He got on the end of a cracking kick to advantage.

I thught the double baulk and kick by JW was just as good.

as did the Coach who pointed it out on the Couch last night.

bigred wrote:He got on the end of a cracking kick to advantage.

I thught the double baulk and kick by JW was just as good.

as did the Coach who pointed it out on the Couch last night.

Webster is coming good it seems. We need his clean kicking badly. Be nice with Spencer crashing through in the forward line, long accurate kicks from outside 50 from Siposs and beautiful delivery from the backline from Jimmy Webster.

gringo wrote:Webster is coming good it seems. We need his clean kicking badly. Be nice with Spencer crashing through in the forward line, long accurate kicks from outside 50 from Siposs and beautiful delivery from the backline from Jimmy Webster.
This is the guy who someone on here was saying recently would be the best player to come out of Tasmania. A big call, I thought, but he does look to have some ability.

Websters brother Zac is meant to be realy good. I am hoping we snag him with our second rounder this year.... DONT TRADE THE SECOND ROUNDER FOR BROWN!!!

SuperDuper wrote:Websters brother Zac is meant to be realy good. I am hoping we snag him with our second rounder this year.... DONT TRADE THE SECOND ROUNDER FOR BROWN!!!

His other brother Luke coaches Northern Blues which they play this week. He also played at freo. I notice he is from perth originally and Jimmy is from Tassie. They must have moved.

Spencer white looks great - but is a 2014 proposition - still only weighs 84 kg - next year if he's more like 90 he will start making his mark - as will Lever I think who looked agile and poised for a big man for the zebs last week - exciting prospects

saint6709 wrote:Spencer white looks great - but is a 2014 proposition - still only weighs 84 kg - next year if he's more like 90 he will start making his mark - as will Lever I think who looked agile and poised for a big man for the zebs last week - exciting prospects
so we may need a couple of our older big guys to hang around for a little more transition....

saint6709 wrote:Spencer white looks great - but is a 2014 proposition - still only weighs 84 kg - next year if he's more like 90 he will start making his mark - as will Lever I think who looked agile and poised for a big man for the zebs last week - exciting prospects
so we may need a couple of our older big guys to hang around for a little more transition....
Nah… Hickey, Maister, Lee, should so play as much as possible…

As we are not expected we are not going to play finals this season. Should he been given a couple of games at the end of the year to see what AFL is like? As mentioned no need to rush him in the team, but it wouldn't be that bad nearing the end of the season to get a taste for it?

Play him!

Spinner wrote:Play him!

Far to early. Still a long way off it.

If I remember correctly Spencer DID NOT have a pre-season at all because of a wrist injury suffered near the end of last season. Pretty hard for an 18yo KPP to get much senior footy in his 1st year, let alone him NOT having a pre-season under his belt !!

Agree.
No need to rush him - our ladder position is not Spencer's problem. It would be irresponsible if the club put him out there just to give hope to fans.
let him go at his own pace. pre-season was hampered by his wrist so im guessing he couldnt even do much gym work. needs another preseason hopefully injury free.

I have never seen him other than the clip of the goal.
So who thinks he will play AFL this year?
And who doesn't?

Will play 1 game this year.

Goose is king wrote:I have never seen him other than the clip of the goal.
So who thinks he will play AFL this year?
And who doesn't?
I think not this year.

Play Lee most weeks and maybe even Jay Lever later in the year

Eastern wrote:If I remember correctly Spencer DID NOT have a pre-season at all because of a wrist injury suffered near the end of last season. Pretty hard for an 18yo KPP to get much senior footy in his 1st year, let alone him NOT having a pre-season under his belt !!
He still would have done cardio training. It might have been hard for him to steer a bike though.

Spinner wrote:Play him!

Far to early. Still a long way off it.

Given the words of our coach on Foxtel the other night, I get the feeling you may be eatin gyour words - seemed to indicate some more kids were going to be given a run this year, and you would have to think White will be one of them....

From what I've heard Waters say in the media I think he will play this year.
With all the hype about him he may play him at some stage for the experience and to show the footy world he isn't quite ready.
A quarter and a half as the sub won't hurt anyone.

Assuming his Sandy form is good, he should play 2 or 3 games at the end of the year mainly for marketing reasons.

IF he shows some potential he could be used to promote memberships in 2014.

IMO North are really keen on Daw for that same reason.

Where do the Sandy watchers see Jay Lever?

In the games I have watched Sandy on the TV I have been surprised by him. Id almost written him off - but he can actually play footy. Hes pretty good below his knees is a nice kick and is pretty agile and hes bloody tall.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Where do the Sandy watchers see Jay Lever?

In the games I have watched Sandy on the TV I have been surprised by him. Id almost written him off - but he can actually play footy. Hes pretty good below his knees is a nice kick and is pretty agile and hes bloody tall.
Have been surprised by both Jay Lever and Jordyn Staley. Had written both off, but may be proved wrong.

stkildathunda

True Believer wrote:

Have been surprised by both Jay Lever and Jordyn Staley. Had written both off, but may be proved wrong.
Staley miles ahead of Lever IMO. I havent been overly impressed with Lever, but Staley is showing very good signs down back. If you had to choose 1 of the 2 to keep on our list id take Staley in heartbeat. Just dont see where Lever's future lies. Lewis Pierce is much better ruckman then him.

stkildathunda wrote:
Staley miles ahead of Lever IMO. I havent been overly impressed with Lever, but Staley is showing very good signs down back. If you had to choose 1 of the 2 to keep on our list id take Staley in heartbeat. Just dont see where Lever's future lies. Lewis Pierce is much better ruckman then him.
Thanks mate

Interesting. Staley is only 19 still.

40 Jordan Staley
Height 194 cm
DOB 14-07-1993
Weight 93 kg

Agree. Only seen the one match on telly. I liked Lever but didn't know where to play him :? . Would like to see him get a game at AFL level.