Saints want to plunder 3 stars from Draft

Re: Saints want to plunder 3 stars from Draft

Not sure what the point is here

Pretty good thread.... Some inconsistencies

McEvoy stats were career, not 2013 as Hickeys were?

Otherwise fair analysis At that point in time

Keep it clean, guys.

BigMart wrote:McEvoy could do what most Ruckmen can't ...... Take a contested grab

He was also reportedly the best endurance runner at the club (source, Milney)

But he did have limitations.... He, like Armo is a B-Grade footballer.... Which is still pretty good

I think Longer will overtake him.
But I thought you said McEvoy was a huge loss, a great leader and a huge mistake.

According to you he is only a GoP and Longer will overtake him.

Longer cant even get ahead of Hickey.
Might have to call you the excavator digging up things from that long ago.

Are you Saintsational's paelintologist?
Generally paleo.

BigMart wrote:Not sure what the point is here

Yes inconsistencies. I had plenty in my posts.

Was interested in your thoughts that McEvoy was only a GOP and Longer would go past him.

What changed your mind now he is at Hawthorn? If Longer will go past him, and he cant get a game because Hickey is keeping him out, why all the angst and carry on about McEvoy being at Hawthorn, especially considering we also have three new mids as well as Longer and Hickey???????

Inconsistencies? For sure!!!

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

BigMart wrote:It was a good trade.... ATT...... A great trade it seemed..

Proves my point.... Proclaiming a successful pick without knowledge is foolish

It was a miracle trade from November 2011-March 2013.... It looks less of a win now?

In Fact Seb in 2011/12 looked the disappointment of the deal... The other two looked the bonus.... Of course the opposite is now true....

You point is stupid. Not claiming any trade a success. The potential for success has been given a greater chance because of the trading success of Pelchan.

God you make stupid crap up.

You were the muppet proclaiming opposition supporters were laughing at the club. You also clubs other clubs were laughing at us for our trading strategy.

Then you make s.hit up about me claiming the recruits are a success. You really dont have much of a handle on reality.

Youa re so deluded by your own perceived self worth that you just believe the fantasies your ignorance and lack of insif=ght creates.

From now on every time you repeat the lie that I reckon the players are already a success, I will call you a liar, because thats what it is.

So dont lie and dont make ignorant s.hit up. I know you are upset you embarrassed yourself through out the drafting period, but take some responsibility like an adult does.

Ignornace and childish petulance wont cut it.

Proclaiming failure because there is no photo is probably worse than anything I have heard in this site.

How ironic is that.....!

Was interested in your thoughts that McEvoy was only a GOP and Longer would go past him.

What changed your mind now he is at Hawthorn? If Longer will go past him, and he cant get a game because Hickey is keeping him out, why all the angst and carry on about McEvoy being at Hawthorn, especially considering we also have three new mids as well as Longer and Hickey???????

stop making sense, JB!

Both 201 cm

Hickey is 23

Longer is not yet 21

Not much mystery as to why hickey is in front at that size

johng wrote:garlett is a great talent was going to be a top 5 draft pick carries too much baggage but if we get him for next to nothing and he doesnt work out we've lost nothing
not working out too well, even at a very well run club like Hawthorn ...

Devilhead wrote:
BigMart wrote:McEvoy could do what most Ruckmen can't ...... Take a contested grab
He averaged 1.5 contested marks a game this year

Thats 0.375 contested marks a quarter
I always felt his contested marking was very ordinary.

When he clunked them, he looked like he a vice grip. Which I think lulled people into thinking he was a good contested mark.

The problem was, that he just very rarely actually clunked them!

Always bugged me about him.

BigMart wrote:Which Ruckman averages more?

1.5 is actually pretty important..... They are 50/50 contest wins that stop goals and repel attacks.....

I'd love to see a stat on ruckmen fumbled marks that they get their mits on.

I'd wager that McEvoy would have dominated that stay whilst with us.

This thread has clearly gone off course.. look at the title up there ^^^^.. Did we plunder 4 stars from this draft?

It is certainly possible.... Dunstan, Billings, Acres, Eli.. time will tell

.. and in fact.. can we count Longer??

SuperDuper wrote:This thread has clearly gone off course.. look at the title up there ^^^^.. Did we plunder 4 stars from this draft?

It is certainly possible.... Dunstan, Billings, Acres, Eli.. time will tell

.. and in fact.. can we count Longer??
I'm happy to stay on course. I think Longer will be ripper. I'm also pretty happy with the Bruce / Delaney trades. I really liked liked Bruce's games with Sandy last weekend.

We just need Lee or White to step up into the key forward role. It's going to become critical if we're seriously challenge in the coming years. I'm sold on neither at this stage but want to be proven wrong.

At this point Dunstan and Templeton appear to be on the way to becoming stars. Billings is class and barring unforeseen circumstances should become a star. The fourth star is yet to emerge although i'm hoping Weller can show enough to be promoted at the end of the season. Acres is still coming back from injury so the jury is still out there.

All in all at this very early stage i'd say we are in a position to say we killed it at the draft

What is critical, is to 'plunder' the draft again this year. And even to a lesser extent, the year after.

How does that occur? Well, we either finish bottom 2-3 this year and/or we trade away good players for draft picks.

We don't really have any 'good players' left that we'd either be prepared to lose or would command high picks in return.

So we need to finish bottom 2-3 this year.

Which for mine creates a predicament that I didn't see coming prior to the season starting....

....we might be too good to finish in the bottom 2-3 this year!

And if we are too good to finish bottom 2-3, how do embrace it if it happens?

Or maybe only Melbourne are actually worse than us? Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself? Maybe the young blokes will fade as the season goes on?

I expect us to defeat Adelaide this weekend, but after that I can only see us beating Carlton. By the end of the season I think we will in the 4, to 6 from the bottom range. Still better picks available than we have had for years except for last draft, but it will be harder to get three top players like we did last draft.

P66
Did I proclaim that Cripps was no good BECAUSE he had no photo, did I?

Please provide the evidence to back up that statement that you have been using in every unrelated thread I post in now for 4 years...

Why do you refer to it every thread...
I suppose if you keep saying something over and over again, it certainly perpetuates and almost sound like a real truth... Especially comments taken out of context. It a political trick Tony Abbott uses to brainwash dumb voters... And a trick you use to attempt the same.
Exactly what did the Cripps Photo lie have to do with this post?
Again nothing, just your personal agenda of bashing..... In fact you just wanted to weigh in with some cheap shots
Gutless, boring, predictable, untruthful

Your MO

Love guys like you... Scared of your own shadow no doubt!

You've used the comment

Here, I do remember what I typed all those years ago, it went something like

No Photo?? No surprises there

I asked the question and explained myself at the time.... But that wasn't good enough

Even after it turned out Cripps was nothing special at best?!
You still churn it out to SUPPORT EVERY WEAK argument you present... In a pathetic character credibility argument
You rarely debate the actual argument or present one.... Another Abbott trick
Better opposition leader, than leader....

Objection
Irrelevant your honour!
Sustained

BigMart wrote:P66
Did I proclaim that Cripps was no good BECAUSE he had no photo, did I?

Please provide the evidence to back up that statement that you have been using in every unrelated thread I post in now for 4 years...

Why do you refer to it every thread...
I suppose if you keep saying something over and over again, it certainly perpetuates and almost sound like a real truth... Especially comments taken out of context. It a political trick Tony Abbott uses to brainwash dumb voters... And a trick you use to attempt the same.
Exactly what did the Cripps Photo lie have to do with this post?
Again nothing, just your personal agenda of bashing..... In fact you just wanted to weigh in with some cheap shots
Gutless, boring, predictable, untruthful

Your MO

Love guys like you... Scared of your own shadow no doubt!

You've used the comment

Here, I do remember what I typed all those years ago, it went something like

No Photo?? No surprises there

I asked the question and explained myself at the time.... But that wasn't good enough

Even after it turned out Cripps was nothing special at best?!
You still churn it out to SUPPORT EVERY WEAK argument you present... In a pathetic character credibility argument
You rarely debate the actual argument or present one.... Another Abbott trick
Better opposition leader, than leader....

Objection
Irrelevant your honour!
Sustained
I dont want to make you look foolish but I will. This is an old thread BM. I said that on the 31st of October last year. Surely we dont need to go over it again.

JB

Seriously, stop making crap up

MacEvoy is no better now than at StK... Maybe a touch with maturity
He was a solid Ruckman at StK and is a solid Ruckman at Hawthorn

He WAS a top ten DP yes?
We did develop him for 6 years yes?
He did Play 90 odd games yes?
He did career average 1.5 HO per game... The average of most good AFL Ruckman? Yes??
He did average 20 HO per game yes?
He was in the leadership group, yes?
He was the preferred #1 Ruckman in 2011-13 yes?

We did trade him for a second round selection, yes

Never said he was a star, did say he was a B Grade Ruckman.... Like most AFL ruckmen

And seriously
Why is Hickey ahead of Longer?
Longer has only played a season and a bit of Senior Footy.... He is a top ten DP... And has elite talent
Is already stronger than both Ben and Tom, has a bigger leap than either, is more aggressive than both
Lacks experience at finding the footy at that level ATM ... He has plenty to learn

Why is Josh Saunders getting a game ahead of Jack Billings

Why is David Armitage getting a game ahead of Seb Ross

Why is CJ getting a game ahead of Tom Curran

Come on man
Longer, in ruck terms is an infant

A year and half. why lie to prove a point. Into his third year. And how do you possibly know Longer is stronger than both other players?

Very strange Marto.
So Longer is an infant to hickey, but Hickey isn't an infant to McEvoy?

Hickey is much closer to Longer in experience than he is to McEvoy.

Also, we ended up with 2 first round draft picks & a player in the McEvoy deal.

They're called first round draft picks because they are all used before the start of the 2nd round, just a heads up if you interested in gaining any respect from this perpetual faulty argument.

We just had 3 first round picks, comprehend it.

Maybe you need to read more articles... Longer is bigger and stronger than Hickey...

Why don't you, ask your mate Lenny... Who is stronger
Longer or Hickey?

In fact Stanley is the strongest Ruckman, if not player on the list...

Has Billy Longer played 40odd games? I didn't realised he had? I though he had only played 10-20

BigMart wrote:I suppose if you keep saying something over and over again, it certainly perpetuates and almost sound like a real truth... Especially comments taken out of context. It a political trick Tony Abbott uses to brainwash dumb voters

You mean like:

"Tony Abbott is a misogynist"
"Tony Abbott has a problem with women"
"Tony Abbott has a problem with gays"

Like that ???

Oooops.......sorry........wrong side.......... :roll:

BigMart wrote:Maybe you need to read more articles... Longer is bigger and stronger than Hickey...

Why don't you, ask your mate Lenny... Who is stronger
Longer or Hickey?

In fact Stanley is the strongest Ruckman, if not player on the list...

Has Billy Longer played 40odd games? I didn't realised he had? I though he had only played 10-20

Why would i ask him that? What has he got to do with this? Got the articles to prove it. I notice you read the comments i made about that but failed to address the cripps thing. That would have made you look foolish and we all know your MO. Got no idea what Stanley has to do with this. Anyway about that cripps comment? I have you ever said thew word wrong to anyone and I mean saying you were wrong? Ever?

BigMart wrote: Why don't you, ask your mate Lenny... Who is stronger
Longer or Hickey?

Is Lenny in charge of writing down how much everyone can lift during the weights sessions Plugger?

I reckon that seems pretty disrespectful to such a senior player, would have thought that one of the conditioning staff could have been put in charge of that...........

True Believer wrote:
BigMart wrote: Why don't you, ask your mate Lenny... Who is stronger
Longer or Hickey?

Is Lenny in charge of writing down how much everyone can lift during the weights sessions Plugger?

I reckon that seems pretty disrespectful to such a senior player, would have thought that one of the conditioning staff could have been put in charge of that...........

Lenny can do anything. he is god. he can even be brought up on here for no reason at all.