Luke Ball back in the fold????

Re: Luke Ball back in the fold????

Anyway, hoo roo, I'm going back to my cave now: I've only posted half a dozen times in the past few years and I'm yet not ready to make it a regular thing again (well, at least, not until my impossibly busy life allows me to spend more time watching games again).

Best wishes to you all, especially "ripplug" : it's great to see the undead being permitted to post on SS.

ripplug66

meher baba wrote:By the way, re Ross Lyon, I don't think anyone on this forum was ever as negative towards him as I was during 2007 and early 2008. I hated (and still hate, to some extent) what I saw as the extremely defensive and negative style of football he brought to the club, fearing that it was best suited for a postage stamp-sized ground like the SCG and that the huge physical effort it required would lead to players fading out on the big fields, especially in the big games.

I found I had to eat my words from mid-2008 to the end of 2010 when, for two and a half seasons, the team performed better than at any time I can remember. Then, due more to the increasingly dreadful list management from about 2006 onward than to anything Lyon did or didn't do, the club went into a rapid decline.

But Lyon proved me wrong (not that he would care what I thought) and showed himself to be an excellent coach. He was a bit lucky to get through the 2009 PF (when Eade almost outfoxed him) but did brilliantly in the 2009 GF and was not to blame for the team missing umpteen getable shots on goal (nor for Hawkins being incorrectly credited with a goal which effectively cost us 11 points). In 2010, Collingwood looked the better side from the start of the first GF, but Lyon rang the changes and kept us in it while the Pies missed chance after chance.

Lyon leaving us at the end of 2011 was a good thing: I don't think he is the sort of coach who is suited to a team-building role, and we were always going to be bouncing around the bottom for the next 3-4 seasons. We certainly might have chosen a better replacement than Watters, but that's not Lyon's fault.

So, once I got over my incorrect early assessment of Lyon, I could never really see the point of the Lyon-bashing that is common on this forum. But, then, I could never really understand the GT-bashing either (other than from one particular poster who is generally assumed to have a longstanding personal grudge against the man).

Excellent post and good to see you back. We need more of your type where common sense seems to be a high priority.

Stay around MB, you will be missed if you don't post.

saynta wrote:Stay around MB, you will be missed if you don't post.

It can't be that busy on the Apple Isle, that you can't come visit just a few times more........ we have more Tasweagans playing for Saints at moment so c'm on , stay with us MB , you might be able to get ITK Tassie info for us!!!!!!! I assume you are still in Tassie??????

Thanks plug and loris. Yes, I'm still in Tassie, with a new partner and a demanding job. If I get time to watch a few games on the box next year, I'll certainly post a bit. I'm looking forward to a bit of a resurgence in 2016 and 2017. Y'all keep well.

meher baba wrote:Thanks plug and loris. Yes, I'm still in Tassie, with a new partner and a demanding job. If I get time to watch a few games on the box next year, I'll certainly post a bit. I'm looking forward to a bit of a resurgence in 2016 and 2017. Y'all keep well.
I've got a demanding partner and a new job but it doesn't stop me from posting.

heck i come on ss to get away from the demanding partner, kids, and job.
"i'm reading and writing work emails love, important s***, bit busy at the mo!"

ripplug66

kosifantutti wrote:
meher baba wrote:Thanks plug and loris. Yes, I'm still in Tassie, with a new partner and a demanding job. If I get time to watch a few games on the box next year, I'll certainly post a bit. I'm looking forward to a bit of a resurgence in 2016 and 2017. Y'all keep well.

I don't have a partner or a job and I hardly have time to post.

The Recruit

Isn't he a Collingwood player?

kosifantutti wrote:

Driven out the door by Ross Lyon, who refused to give Luke Ball the job security he sought...despite having a great 2009 GF. Do the math - you'd all do what Luke did.

Luke's a 150-game player who served the club to the best his body would allow him too. He drew an excellent salary from the club during that time but I felt gave us great service.

Never booed him, nor judged his character. Always welcome back at our football club.
Last edited by evertonfc on Tue 10 Nov 2015 3:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

Three cheers for all colonwood players.

evertonfc wrote:Driven out the door by Ross Lyon, who refused to give Luke Ball the job security he sought...despite having a great 2009 GF. Do the match - you'd all do what Luke did.

Luke's a 150-game player who served the club to the best his body would allow him too. He drew an excellent salary from the club during that time but I felt gave us great service.

Never booed him, nor judged his character. Always welcome back at our football club.

Despite turning his back on us he said he wanted to remembered as a Collingwood player ....umm that just about does it for me.

We shoulda picked Judd.

markp wrote:We shoulda picked Judd.

Can you imagine?

Basically Ball cost us the 2004/2005 Flags and the 2009/2010 flags.

We would have won those years for sure with Judd.

Bloody Ball

ripplug66

Can you imagine?

Bloody Ball

Should have got Hodge. Those flags plus 18 and 19.

ripplug66 wrote:

Can you imagine?

Bloody Ball

No we couldn't get Hodge, the Hawks had pick 1.

But it is a guaranteed unarguable fact that Ball cost us four flags.

ripplug66

ripplug66 wrote:

Can you imagine?

Bloody Ball

No we couldn't get Hodge, the Hawks had pick 1.

But it is a guaranteed unarguable fact that Ball cost us four flags.

Semantics. Could have swapped Harvey and Hayes to get pick one if we were fair dinkum. Harvey and Hayes cost us 6 flags.

Ross Lyon is a very good footy coach, and was at StK

No one would seriously dispute that?...

Six flags at least.

We'd be where the hawks are now.

GT would still be our coach and lauded as the great guru instead of Clarko.

But ohhhh no, we had to pick Ball.

Things do get exaggerated over time

Luke was not dropped a couple of times... In 2009
He was dropped once for two weeks

Luke played about half of his time on the ground in 2010 as an inside mid... The other half he played as a HF

The fitness depts assessment and conditioning of Luke was obviously incorrect as Collingwood got him on the park and able to run well enough to be a key player in a premiership
Ross' assessment of Luke was incorrect, and Mick benefitted

How do we know this
We can now judge in hindsight... Luke went to Collingwood and was successful. Good on him.

Ross the working class boy, is fond of the coin himself it seems... He'd sell his own kids if he got the right deal I reckon.
Good coach... Character judgement, he really shouldn't judge.

markp wrote:Six flags at least.

We'd be where the hawks are now.

GT would still be our coach and lauded as the great guru instead of Clarko.

But ohhhh no, we had to pick Ball.
Yeah but if we'd won those six, we'd be the 'destination club' and would have picked up all those free agent stars that would have brought us at least another four flags. So he actually cost ten flags. Not to mention those Garnier Fructose ads that polluted our culture.

ripplug66

BigMart wrote:Things do get exaggerated over time

Luke was not dropped a couple of times... In 2009
He was dropped once for two weeks

Luke played about half of his time on the ground in 2010 as an inside mid... The other half he played as a HF

The fitness depts assessment and conditioning of Luke was obviously incorrect as Collingwood got him on the park and able to run well enough to be a key player in a premiership
Ross' assessment of Luke was incorrect, and Mick benefitted

How do we know this
We can now judge in hindsight... Luke went to Collingwood and was successful. Good on him.

Ross the working class boy, is fond of the coin himself it seems... He'd sell his own kids if he got the right deal I reckon.
Good coach... Character judgement, he really shouldn't judge.

I believe he was dropped twice in 2009. matter of fact just about sure. Once for 3 weeks and then for 2. The reason I remember it is because I was discussing the situation with MM at the time and the reasons he was dropped. And Ball was definitely fitter at the pies. Not sure why but he was and has said that.
Last edited by ripplug66 on Tue 10 Nov 2015 5:25pm, edited 1 time in total.

ripplug66 wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:

I don't have a partner or a job and I hardly have time to post.
I've got a chip on my shoulder and a prostate the size of a melon , now what day is thursday !