Lyon

Stian

Re: Lyon

shanegrambeau wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 9:45pm GT helped Lyon. Those players were good little GT Boy Scouts turning into GTMarines by the time Lyon got them, I think it got technical in ‘07 and slowed down the mojo, then good to go like a rocket.
Penny was a mystery to my interest was patchy. Why did he go so early?
He was a really big loss for the future balance/strength of the backline. He retired at 24 with a dodgy knee that he just felt wasn't going to get better. A real blow.

Ross is a good match day coach, with the right cattle.

Proven horrible development coach. We are a developing team, he would do about as good as he’s done with Freo over the last few years with our list.

He is not the right fit imo

We’d be back to playing 60 - 50 point games, team of role players, and gun kids developing at Sandy while some other clubs gop rejects play run with roles.

skeptic wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:59am The 2009-10 were in my opinion a much more seasoned and depth full list.

The quality of the 05 list falls away quite dramatically
No way the bottom end of 09/10 list had anywhere near the quality of 05 that’s a fallacy
Mcqalter and Eddy tell u that

B.M wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 10:41pm We’d be back to playing 60 - 50 point games, team of role players, and gun kids developing at Sandy while some other clubs gop rejects play run with roles.

My concern, too. I’m not convinced he’s changed or even that he can. He’ll always revert to type, particularly under pressure

Well Teflon,

Remember Armitage, Steven, Lynch, Stanley, Geary and McEvoy were in the twos and couldn’t get a gig.

And I don’t think Eddy wasn’t in the 09 team?

BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 4:10pm
Vazelos wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 2:10pm
bigcarl wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:06am
Joffa Burns wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:00am
bigcarl wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 10:50am
spert wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 10:43am There's a lot better coaches around than Lyon, he couldn't get a very capable and disciplined team to win a premiership, so not really much chop in the end. Ratten should be signed up right now.

It was arguably the best list in the club’s history. Assembled and developed by someone else, I might add.
Disagree totally on the list comment, GT had the best list assembled in my time watching the Saints by a country mile.

Somehow, posters on this site seems to think or perpetuate GT made it to 2 x Prelims with a bunch of 18 & 19 YO kids (not suggesting you are one of them), when this was not the case at all. GT had a far superior list than Lyon inherited.

By the time Lyon took over most media and many, many fans including lots on this site thought it was rebuild time not an opportunity to have a tilt at a flag.

We can agree to disagree on that Joffa.

the fact is the core of that team - Riewoldt, Hayes, Dal, BJ, Kosi, Milne, Blake and others - was in its prime under Lyin’
2004/5 is well know as the best list we ever had.
It was the best list in the game and Thommo blew it...
I think that's misleading.

2004 was a raw list. Not rwady. Which showed.

2005 was the one. The list was ready, the belief was there...but injuries were the difference.

Did GT 'blow it'? Or did the losses of 5-6 startin 18 players from the Prelim prove a bridge too far?

I believe the latter.

2006 our injuries were worse.

So having the best list, is virtually irrelevant if a big chunk of that list doesn't play.

A poster just cut Lyon some slack cause he's missing 3 gun players - our 2005/06 teams missed more than 3 and made the top 4.

But anyway, who gives a s***.
One problem Barry......GT didn’t believe in investing anything into “Training services Department” under GTs 1980s corporate model we were to busy blowing 300k on SA trips to “round out young men” problem was.....when it mattered in 05 prelim we couldn’t get them on the park.
Thomas game style simply got found out - sides got on a roll in a shoot out against us
FACTS are Thomas never took the game , the club and the entire competition ANYWHERE near the level of Lyon did to the point Malthouse and Pies ripped off the style to great effect to win a flag.....but we at least GOT there to have a shot under Lyon ......Thomas wasted the abundant talent at his disposal.......just imagine what Lyon would have done with that list in 05 with an in prime Harvey Hamill and Coleman with Gehrig?
We’d have multiple flags I’ve no doubt but GT the dictator in his own mind was supreme ruler and still is.

Crossy66 wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 4:04pm
saynta wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 3:20pm
Crossy66 wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 3:03pm
saynta wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 2:22pm
Crossy66 wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 1:33pm It's fair enough to have a view on whether RTB is the best next coach option,.
But if the negative view is based on the circumstances around his departure, then that's wrong
RTB was not supportive of the blind faith the club had placed in pelchan- so who was right?
Nettlefold offered a sub par contract and wanted to reign Ross in. Just plain dumb if they believed he was the man going forward.
He didnt want to leave, was treated poorly, so why does anyone think he owed an incompetent board anything?
Following the pelchan model among other decisions by this group is what sent us into oblivion for 5 years.
He also cost us two flags. Here are just some of the reasons.

Giving the arse to Banger prematurely

Not playing Ball in the 4th quarter in 2009

Playing a guy who had been on a drip all night in preference to Maxie.

Poor team selection

Not giving the kids a go.

Pissing off both Ball and Maxie which ultimately led to us losing the 2010 grand final

The guy's a complete untrustworthy turd imho.
When you are in charge of anything, you have to make tough calls, some you get right, some u dont. But I have no doubt the motivation was to win a gf at all costs.
Even so none of the decisions make him untrustworthy.
Btw, the Ball decisions he definately got wrong imo Either way, if that's the reasoning for u not wanting him then thats fine. My only issue is with people that dont want him based on misinformation around his departure
Appreciate your post mate, but my recollection about the circumstances surrounding the tosser leaving the club is somewhat different from others. B for E might be right in some respects, but the prick stripped our list, retired certain players when they had no idea he was going to do that, and all while he was in secret negotiations with Freo, unbeknownst to the saints and his manager even.

As I said the guy's a completely untrustworthy turd and a wanker to boot.

My motto when it comes to footy is never forger and never forgive.
Lyon felt somewhat betrayed over the deal offered and the pelchan thing so I understand his mind set. Retiring the 3 players was a little bizarre and disrespectful to Baker but facts are that no one picked up eddy, Baker or mcqualter.
But if he was the best person to win our second flag, would you do it?
No and no. He is a proven loser just like scott. There is no reason imhfo, to suggest that he is the best candidate to win our second flag. No reasons at all, based on his record with us and Freo and what he did or has done to both lists.

Anyway, he coaches a crap low scoring boring game plan.

StPeter wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 5:35pm A big NO from me.

His team selections with the likes of McQualter and Eddy cost us two grand finals. He virtually admitted his mistake by cutting them both from the list shortly after.

His treatment of Ball was also disgusting especially in the 2009 GF when he forgot about him being on the bench for the whole last quarter.
Played unfit or injured players in those grannies. Eddy who had broken bones and Dawson who was on a drip in hospital the night before.

tony74 wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 9:18pm Ross is very very good.
Must say EVERYONE whose been involved closely with club rates h8m highly
Keyboard herald sun reading warriors on ss don’t.....
Er....I know where I’m putting my money
But I don’t think he’s coming at all.

B.M wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 7:39pm Obviously Penny, number 1 defender who was out all season and quit the game. Sam Fisher got injured in the final vs Adel, , Hudghton was injured and out for the QF and came back for the PF underdone, Maguire the same. Our backline was the walking wounded.

Matthew Ferguson and a 19yo James Gwilt were in the side. Brendon Goddard and Aaron Flora also came into the PF side. Hamill got injured, Kosi was out for the season, after exploding midyear with 20 goals in 5 games playing in the ruck and CHF in Rooeys absence.
And Guerra dogged it. prick of a bloke.

B.M wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 10:59pm Well Teflon,

Remember Armitage, Steven, Lynch, Stanley, Geary and McEvoy were in the twos and couldn’t get a gig.

And I don’t think Eddy wasn’t in the 09 team?
I also remember winning 19 in a row.....or did u forget that?

SaintPav wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 8:24pm Cain Ackland got slaughtered in the ruck in the last. Aussie Jones let Schneider run amok etc.
yeah, Sneids did didn't he.

Teflon wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:11pm

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

saynta wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:20pm

Are you 2?
Grown ups having a chat here if you got nothing to offer just say nothing....it ain’t hard ...
Don’t like Riewoldt , Montagna and Dal Santo views??? Go tell em.....you know best
Or just roll your eyes at them...

For those bagging Lyon let’s also remember.....
2009 31 inside 50s to 15 half time with easy goals missed by Milne, Schneider and Mqalter - the same 3 missed very gettable goals again in the second quarter
19-0 season THE GREATEST ever winning streak in club history (GT released a video after 10...)
20-2 season the THIRD HIGHEST winning season of all time
Yeah.....Lyons a dud....
Btw not sure I want him back but if they put a Hayes and Riewoldt around him......I’d look at it
No way to a Malthouse

Teflon wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:11pm I don’t think he’s coming at all.
You sure about that Teffers?

I’m sure that where there’s smoke there’s oysters.

Personally I think we should stick with Ratts. Too much baggage with Ro$$co.

Teflon wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:25pm

Are you 2?
Grown ups having a chat here if you got nothing to offer just say nothing....it ain’t hard ...
Don’t like Riewoldt , Montagna and Dal Santo views??? Go tell em.....you know best
So stop with the insults about posters who read the herald sun. I also subscribe to the Age, Canberra times and the Australian,

I post articles from the age and the herald sun because I think SS members would be interested in them.

You have been insulting me for a long time which has grown tiresome.

I think Joey knows my views already, but haven't caught up with the other two lately. I will let them know my views when I see them . :roll: :roll:

BarryGrogan

Teflon wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:06pm
BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 4:10pm
Vazelos wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 2:10pm
bigcarl wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:06am
Joffa Burns wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:00am
bigcarl wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 10:50am
spert wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 10:43am There's a lot better coaches around than Lyon, he couldn't get a very capable and disciplined team to win a premiership, so not really much chop in the end. Ratten should be signed up right now.

It was arguably the best list in the club’s history. Assembled and developed by someone else, I might add.
Disagree totally on the list comment, GT had the best list assembled in my time watching the Saints by a country mile.

Somehow, posters on this site seems to think or perpetuate GT made it to 2 x Prelims with a bunch of 18 & 19 YO kids (not suggesting you are one of them), when this was not the case at all. GT had a far superior list than Lyon inherited.

By the time Lyon took over most media and many, many fans including lots on this site thought it was rebuild time not an opportunity to have a tilt at a flag.

We can agree to disagree on that Joffa.

the fact is the core of that team - Riewoldt, Hayes, Dal, BJ, Kosi, Milne, Blake and others - was in its prime under Lyin’
2004/5 is well know as the best list we ever had.
It was the best list in the game and Thommo blew it...
I think that's misleading.

2004 was a raw list. Not rwady. Which showed.

2005 was the one. The list was ready, the belief was there...but injuries were the difference.

Did GT 'blow it'? Or did the losses of 5-6 startin 18 players from the Prelim prove a bridge too far?

I believe the latter.

2006 our injuries were worse.

So having the best list, is virtually irrelevant if a big chunk of that list doesn't play.

A poster just cut Lyon some slack cause he's missing 3 gun players - our 2005/06 teams missed more than 3 and made the top 4.

But anyway, who gives a s***.
One problem Barry......GT didn’t believe in investing anything into “Training services Department” under GTs 1980s corporate model we were to busy blowing 300k on SA trips to “round out young men” problem was.....when it mattered in 05 prelim we couldn’t get them on the park.
Thomas game style simply got found out - sides got on a roll in a shoot out against us
FACTS are Thomas never took the game , the club and the entire competition ANYWHERE near the level of Lyon did to the point Malthouse and Pies ripped off the style to great effect to win a flag.....but we at least GOT there to have a shot under Lyon ......Thomas wasted the abundant talent at his disposal.......just imagine what Lyon would have done with that list in 05 with an in prime Harvey Hamill and Coleman with Gehrig?
We’d have multiple flags I’ve no doubt but GT the dictator in his own mind was supreme ruler and still is.
As I said, anyway, who gives a s***.

Shaggy

Are you 2?
Problem is you seem to be driven by your hate for GT. So there is a lot of scepticism back on SS. Roo, Joey & Dal back GT also - does not mean they think he would be a good coach for us now.

bigcarl wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:31pm
a

To be honest I have my doubts Ross is what we need - I don’t agree with those saying he couldn’t coach that’s just rubbish but I’m not convinced the game hasn’t gone past him and I haven’t seen much new out of the Dockers to tell me he’s learnt the value of youth ....
That said.......part of me agrees with Riewoldt......the club could do with a dose of mongrel.....and he has that in spades

Shaggy wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:34pm

Are you 2?
Problem is you seem to be driven by your hate for GT. So there is a lot of scepticism back on SS. Roo, Joey & Dal back GT also - does not mean they think he would be a good coach for us now.
I base much of my view on facts - stats don’t lie , look them up (I don’t care much for your opinions on what I think)
I’ve also spoken to assistant coaches at 5he club under GT sacked by Lyon who stated : “ Grant Thomas f@cked your club” - that’s a word for word quote from an ex assistant who also told me Lyon is the best coach up close he’d seen (this was after Lyon sacked him....)
Show me where publicly Riewoldt, Joey or Dal have come out and said get GT back to the club as coach???
You make stuff up, mingle it with opinion and espouse it as fact eg tell lies
Did I mention I also don’t like how Thomas tried to run our club as “his” business...but u get the picture

Teflon wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:34pm
a

To be honest I have my doubts Ross is what we need - I don’t agree with those saying he couldn’t coach that’s just rubbish but I’m not convinced the game hasn’t gone past him and I haven’t seen much new out of the Dockers to tell me he’s learnt the value of youth ....
That said.......part of me agrees with Riewoldt......the club could do with a dose of mongrel.....and he has that in spades
I get where you are coming from, I really do.

On the other hand, I liked what I saw Sunday. I REALLY liked it. Young blokes playing with freedom, backing themselves in.

Just the caretaker effect? I don’t know.

bigcarl wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:40pm
Teflon wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:34pm
a

I get where you are coming from, I really do.

On the other hand, I liked what I saw Sunday. I REALLY liked it. Young blokes playing with freedom, backing themselves in.

Just the caretaker effect? I don’t know.
I like Ratten I hope he’s successful he’s a quality guy but I also am not a blind believer that this Saints list has 5he talent to sustain that effort.......I think we’ll see a dip but I hope Ratten isn’t purely measured on wins from 5 games....it takes time to stamp yourself on a team
I think Carlton could be ripe for Lyon......they have quality kids (could do with a little more experience) but that can be got

BarryGrogan wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 7:37am Caroline Wilson reckons some directors at the Saints are serious about getting Ross Lyon back.

Seemed to think it is actually a possibility.
Is this in an article?

Shaggy

Teflon wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:39pm
Shaggy wrote: Tue 23 Jul 2019 11:34pm

Are you 2?
I base much of my view on facts - stats don’t lie , look them up (I don’t care much for your opinions on what I think)
I’ve also spoken to assistant coaches at 5he club under GT sacked by Lyon who stated : “ Grant Thomas f@cked your club” - that’s a word for word quote from an ex assistant who also told me Lyon is the best coach up close he’d seen (this was after Lyon sacked him....)
Show me where publicly Riewoldt, Joey or Dal have come out and said get GT back to the club as coach???
You make stuff up, mingle it with opinion and espouse it as fact eg tell lies
Did I mention I also don’t like how Thomas tried to run our club as “his” business...but u get the picture
It is obviously personal between you and GT.

Maybe it is time to let go.