Shane Tuck

Shane Tuck

Anyone know what happened?

(Sorry if this is inappropriate. I can't find any info anywhere)

Re: Shane Tuck

minneapolis wrote: Sun 26 Jul 2020 7:54am Anyone know what happened?

Try Google. 🤔

Awwww...
I didn’t know about this (generally don’t follow media). That’s so sad. The man was barely older than I am. Awwwwwww.

That’s really upset me. What a tragedy

minneapolis wrote: Sun 26 Jul 2020 7:54am Anyone know what happened?

I know his mum Fay, but I ain't going to ask her.

SAINT-LEE

Long term depression, suicide. Very sad.

78sainter

Very sad to hear, always admired the way he went about his footy, tough and reliable. You can take this to the bank <edited by mods> very sad leaves behind a wife and two kids. Vale Shane tuck.

I don’t know that you should post the explicit details

78sainter wrote: Sun 26 Jul 2020 2:20pm Very sad to hear, always admired the way he went about his footy, tough and reliable. You can take this to the bank <edited by mods> , very sad leaves behind a wife and two kids. Vale Shane tuck.
Poor form mate.

Saintly66

78sainter wrote: Sun 26 Jul 2020 2:20pm Very sad to hear, always admired the way he went about his footy, tough and reliable. You can take this to the bank <edited by mods> , very sad leaves behind a wife and two kids. Vale Shane tuck.
Sad to hear yet you have no respect for the family by posting that on a public forum? Absolute gossip merchants some of the people on here, people have been banned for less.

78sainter

Sorry guys didn’t mean to offend, I sincerely apologise to the family and friends of Shane, it was not my intention to upset people or family and friends. I am going to ban myself for a while, it was not my intention to be disrespectful.

78sainter wrote: Sun 26 Jul 2020 3:53pm Sorry guys didn’t mean to offend, I sincerely apologise to the family and friends of Shane, it was not my intention to upset people or family and friends. I am going to ban myself for a while, it was not my intention to be disrespectful.

I understand it. It’s OK. I thought that something like that must have happened. Trying to guess what is appropriate and what is not is tricky when we can’t even have conversations about somethings without risking the branding and witch roast. When Spud went into the tree, it wasn’t even called the ‘s’ word...still isn’t, I feel apprehensive even mentioning that it isn’t.

That we suffer in confused silence seems to be the way it goes nowadays. There are reasons for it no doubt, bigger than I can get my little brain around. But I’ve spoken out of turn, acted in ways I thought was bold, and regretted it.

Don’t feel feel bad sainter78.

78sainter wrote: Sun 26 Jul 2020 3:53pm Sorry guys didn’t mean to offend, I sincerely apologise to the family and friends of Shane, it was not my intention to upset people or family and friends. I am going to ban myself for a while, it was not my intention to be disrespectful.
No need to ban yourself mate. Apology was sufficient.

My son in law killed himself that way. We didn't tell his kids who were quite young the gory details but some clown posted it on social media and the kids were told by their school friends.. Caused more than a bit of grief. Maybe it's better to come clean right from the start but I'm no expert.

Can the details be edited out then???

However the self banning is a Furphy, methinks - 78Sainter has 9 posts - and probably another persona on here.

78sainter

Thank you so much Saynta and shanegrambeau, again I apologise to the family of Shane tuck I just guess the question was asked what happened and I perhaps gave too much information that I am a little privy too.
Your right shanegb unfortunately when it comes to the “s” word people don’t like to talk about it or it becomes a massive taboo. Unfortunately as sainters we know only too well the problems with mental illness, we only lost spud a year or so ago and the troubles that Jack Steven has had are also well documented.
And sianter_dad I do not have another profile, I read this forum most days but generally don’t post, I’m a fifth generation st kilda supporter and my kids are sixth, my dad was at the 1966 grand final and I have been to 3 heartbreakers. My great grandfather played for Collingwood in the early 1900’s but that’s where my affinity for the filth finishes. Please don’t pretend to guess my profile.

Thanks for editing your post

According to the ABS "There were 3,046 registered deaths of people who died due to intentional self-harm (suicide) in Australia in 2018. Suicide is the leading cause of death among people aged 15-44 in Australia", with a ratio of 3 males to 1 female.

On ABC "Offisiders" this morning the panel discussed Shane Tuck's tragic passing.

Catherine Murphy said that she had discussed this issue with a leading mental health expert who believes that suicide should be brought out in the open from out of the shadows and discussed openly, as a means to destigmatise this very important issue in society, and possibly assist to earlier intervention and bring those numbers down.

Either way, whatever the reason, it is little consolation to the loved ones left behind by the deceased be they parents, partners or children who have to pick up the pieces and get life back on track - best wishes to all of the Tuck Clan!

"To do good is noble. To tell others to do good is even nobler and much less trouble.."