Sandringham v Port Melbourne

Sandi started well and had a 4 pts lead at 1/4 time. Ryder dominating and Byrnes getting plenty of it.

Other than that our VFL youth depth is really quite poor.

Allison runs around like a headless crook and doesnt impact the game. Just not a smart footballer.

Paul Hunter is ordinary even at VFL level, what our recruiters saw in him is a mystery?

Connolly has neat skills but doesnt run hard enough for mine.

Dunstan looks slow at VFL level.

McKernan is good at VFL level but no AFL future.

Clavarino looks ok in defence, but I worry whether he has the physique to become an AFL key defender.

Kent is an absolute list clogger.

Sandi Lead 55 to 32 at half time.

Watching our lack of VFL depth really has me worried for the future of the Saints list.
Last edited by Impatient Sainter on Sat 24 Apr 2021 4:53pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Sandringham v Port Melbourne

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 4:11pm Sandi started well and had a 4 pts lead at 1/4 time. Ryder dominating and Byrnes getting plenty of it.

Allison runs around like a headless crook and doesnt impact the game. Just not a smart footballer.

Paul Hunter is ordinary even at VFL level, what our recruiters saw in him is a mystery?

Clavarino looks ok in defence, but I worry whether he has the physique to become an AFL key defender.

Have been watching on Kayo.

It’s a very congested game, with little space and they look rushed.

Connolly likes a guy who may be better at the higher level with his skills.

Ryder & Byrnes look the only two ready to come into the seniors in the first half.

What has happened with Kent?
Was mostly a best 22 last year and now can’t get a look in regardless of multiple injuries and poor form.

55 points to 32, someone must be doing something right.

SAINT-LEE

Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 4:52pm
Impatient Sainter wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 4:11pm Sandi started well and had a 4 pts lead at 1/4 time. Ryder dominating and Byrnes getting plenty of it.

Have been watching on Kayo.

It’s a very congested game, with little space and they look rushed.

Connolly likes a guy who may be better at the higher level with his skills.

Ryder & Byrnes look the only two ready to come into the seniors in the first half.

What has happened with Kent?
Was mostly a best 22 last year and now can’t get a look in regardless of multiple injuries and poor form.

I've heard Kent has had a niggling tendon and its not enough to throw in the season and get surgery but it's enough to limit him at times with burst speed. If we are going to keep him I reckon, get surgery now and get him firing for pre-season. He's not our key star that wins game even when running around on 50%....and he's definitely only 50%.

saynta wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 4:55pm 55 points to 32, someone must be doing something right.
Yep they are in front but both are two very ordinary VFL sides.

Clavarino?

Dunstan, Ryder and Kent played ok

A lot of the Sandy players have been woeful.

Game is still going no?

Not sure Matthew Allison has got a touch?

Tyson Milne, Ryder & Byrnes were Sandringhams best. Dunstan had plenty of it but did nothing with it. Ports will and team run won the game in the end. They were prepared to work harder.

Once again Sandringhan played a stoggy stop start brand of footy. No run from behind and the lack of link up runners was telling. As soon as it rained in the 3rd quarter Port looked far the better side.

If we are looking for a young key defender Ethan Phillips born July 17, 1999., 196cm from Port Melbourne would be worth a mid season pick.
Last edited by Impatient Sainter on Sat 24 Apr 2021 6:02pm, edited 3 times in total.

Pretty ordinary effort
Sandy like Saints.... no forward of the ball game plan/system

If our depth is this shite can't we employ some decent recruiting staff and can Bassatt tell Gags to stop trading good picks for duds. :roll:

Dunstan’s had 45

B.M wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 5:59pm Dunstan’s had 45
Great VFL player, but I fear the lack of leg speed and running capacity required at AFL level is now beyond him.

Did he help Sandringham win, or just rack up possessions?

He’s always been slow, poor endurance and can’t kick

We used Pick 19 on him

He was great in the u18 as a 85kg power inside mid

Blind Freddy could see, he was very limited

B.M wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 6:14pm He’s always been slow, poor endurance and can’t kick

We used Pick 19 on him

He was great in the u18 as a 85kg power inside mid

Blind Freddy could see, he was very limited
Blind Freddy could, but saints recruiters couldn't?. Bit harsh mate. If Port thumps us, he will be back in next week.

He’s a good footballer, just not a good AFL footballer

Can’t cover the ground like an AFL mid should

We’ve got a heap of injuries and three of the emergencies were held back. One will be sub.

I think Dunny is still a handy player unfortunately we have too many similar players & last week I think might have stamped his papers he was very ordinary in a game that he needed to impress

Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 6:12pm
Great VFL player, but I fear the lack of leg speed and running capacity required at AFL level is now beyond him.
Like McGough

B.M wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 6:20pm He’s a good footballer, just not a good AFL footballer

Would have been very handy in the 80's on a muddy Moorabbin pitch.

B.M wrote: Sat 24 Apr 2021 6:20pm He’s a good footballer, just not a good AFL footballer

I think you’ve had his measure for a long time now BM.

Mark one for the correct pile

Carlton shoulda grabbed him to help Cripps

You don’t grab ordinary players to try and become better, we have proved that this year.

Dunstan would have been a good player in the 80s for sure
It was less pinpoint passing possession game, he could just have smashed it forward. And he could have just hung around the centre and racked them up.

Now the game is too quick for him and he can’t spread and defend.

Very good state league footballer. At his best, a serviceable AFL player, but generally not up to it.