Sam Newman on MMM !!

Sam was interviewed by the MMM team around 12.35 - 12.40pm today. Fairly "run of the mill" interview until right at the end when Sam asked Jason Dunstall if he could ask a question (a bit of yes/no banter followed). Sam then went on to say;

"I was playing golf with Jeff Kennett a few months ago and was talking about Ben Cousins and drugs. Jeff told me that he would sack any Hawthorn player caught ta........"

THE TRANSMISSION THEN WENT SILENT FOR ABOUT 15 SECONDS. They came back to say good-bye to Sam

The Footy Show will be interesting viewing on Thursday Night. I doubt that Garry & JB will be able to keep Sam under control !!

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 5:17am, edited 1 time in total.

aussierules0k wrote:7 mentioned the club - was it Dorks? What club is in question... obviously not us after this year. Anyhow... which club is it and are they playing finals. If so... what the!!!

If one player get's done the whole team should go.
Read your PM's :wink: !!

casey scorp

Re: Sam Newman on MMM !!

Eastern wrote:Sam then went on to say;

"..... Jeff told me that he would sack any Hawthorn player caught ta........"

THE TRANSMISSION THEN WENT SILENT FOR ABOUT 15 SECONDS. They came back to say good-bye to Sam
If a President has executive power to sack players I would be very surprised. However, if he has, then look out....

PM me too please mister Eastern sir :) :)

SaintBot

n1ck wrote:PM me too please mister Eastern sir :) :)
anyone mind telling me the gossip?

Tassie Saint
Location: In the wilds of Tassie - Where boys become men, and cousins become wives

n1ck wrote:PM me too please mister Eastern sir :) :)
please sir, can I have some more... I mean one too guv'nor?

Caaaaaarn you Sainters!!
aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 5:16am, edited 2 times in total.

aussierules0k

Last edited by aussierules0k on Tue 23 Jun 2009 5:16am, edited 1 time in total.

I think people should be very careful because there is a court injunction in place.

Any mention of the club or players - despite it being reported previously - contravenes that court order. Hence why MMM cut him off.

"Any media agency who intends to re-produce or re-publish any information to which the order applies run the risk of being in contempt of Court".

- AFL

JeffDunne wrote:I think people should be very careful because there is a court injunction in place.

Any mention of the club or players - despite it being reported previously - contravenes that court order. Hence why MMM cut him off.
Exactly !!

PM's are fine. Mods, over to you !!

i wad thinking that too JD. Just be careful what you say people

I don't think Joe Bloggs of saintsational.com counts as a "media agency"

Otiman wrote:I don't think Joe Bloggs of saintsational.com counts as a "media agency"
It's better if we don't get to the point where it becomes an arguement !!

Otiman, you couldn't be more wrong.

The AFL will be watching and they will do everything to make sure they cover this up as much as possible.

Same reason they went after Bakes. Image is everything to the AFL.

no but saintsational.com can count.

forums have been known to be sued or closed. just ask hawk heaquarters.

all naming of players or teams must be kept to PMs - any post which contains these details will be deleted or edited.

aussierules0k

aussierules0k wrote:Cool.

Who agrees with me, that if a club is done during the season for drugs - they should not be allowed to play finals.

We should be spitting chips. Here's our boy Bakes doing nothing really - 7 weeks, these players taking drugs... shhh.... can't mention it... shhh... possibly winning a flag.... shhhh...

Well stuff that, I want answers before the finals. I'll happily protest outside the MCG if a drug cheating club plays.

Fairs fair.

THe AFL should test for speed and those drugs and forget about the other drugs that are not enhancing. Then we should be told instantly a player is caught. He should be kicked out for 12 months. The club should lose points - lots of them.
I agree that drug cheats and criminals (those who take illicit drugs) have no place in our game. The problem is that the AFL is hell bent on protecting its drug policy. To them, the protection is MUCH more important than the facts !!

Some forums with relatively big backing should take on the AFL on matters such as this. It's not a news reporting situation and shouldn't be treated as so. Basically the AFL flexes their muscle and forums cave.

The only difference between this and a chat in a bar between mates is that it is recorded and able to be accessed by others.

A mate of mine works at Ch Seven and was around when this broke.

He said the players are really in the poo.

8-) 8-) 8-)

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo
aussierules0k

hobbo

so is there any chance someone could please PM me and let me know whi this club is? i miss out on alot of info being in nsw :(

cheers

hobbo.................

aussierules0k wrote:
Quixote wrote:A mate of mine works at Ch Seven and was around when this broke.

He said the players are really in the poo.

8-) 8-) 8-)
and playing finals?
At the time he was more referring to their 'appearance'.

Dunno about the other stuff.

Fortius Quo Fidelius Yo

They still show pics of the Ivanhoe drug clinic (a suburb not far from Hawthorn)....surprised that that piece of info is still available with the injunction.

I'm glad it got out....sure it was really dodgy how 7 both got the info and published it, but it further turns up the heat on Dimwit.