12 months ago today - where were you ?

I was riding my son home from primary school when a friend driving the other way pulled over honking, and yelled out "Grant Thomas has been sacked".
I yelled back an expletive.
Passers-by including a shop owner and realestate agent got involved in the discussion.
All expressed shock.

Within 5 mins I was logged on here, and spent the next 10 hours monitoring and looking for answers.

I thought it was all a bit sudden, but then I wasn't surprised and looked at it from a purely footy point of view and thought, well we have underachieved, had a team to win a flag and didn't, and in fact started going backwards with no problems addressed. Apart from any other goings on in the background, I couldn't see GT doing a massive turnaround of the club in '07 unless he changed how he did things, which he obviously wouldn't with an ego that big. By the way, I was sitting around at home in suburban Melbourne on the day.
Last edited by spert on Wed 12 Sep 2007 11:30am, edited 1 time in total.

I was sick and had the day off.

About midday i got an sms from someone saying there was going to be a huge announcement that afternoon. Suffice to say i turned on SEN and had it going the rest of the day.

Probably the busiest day/night on SS that I can recall.

Came home from work about 4 and logged on to SS...saw a "GT sacked" thread that had already gone to 4 pages so knew there was something up

N1ck..its offically our busiest day. 244? logins just ater 4pm I think

HSVKing

Was at work, had a few sms's come through. Thought the first one was a joke... the next 10 or so confirmed it.

Listened to SEN on the way home (first time i had listened for an entire trip) and then got home and kept an eye on all the people who were on here to make sure it didn't get out of hand.

They walk amongst us...

i was only a week into this site when the gt saga started i dont think i got anywork done all day as i read through page after page of anger dissapointment sadness and also a little bit of relief , the following days were a bit rough as battle lines were drawn and forum were split by GT haters and lovers .... was definatly a hectic time on here

had a RDO. got a call from a mate at work who told me the news. thought he was taking the piss for a minute. then it sunk in. end of an era

Persuader

I was at work...someone told me there was some St Kilda news coming through...thought it was Harves retiring.
Then heard the real news....I was shattered.
Couldn't function at work for quite some time (mostly spent on here).
RB's performance on Fox drove me crazy and gave no answers other than to the question 'do I like Rod Butters.
I thought we'd blown it forever.
Only really felt ok again when the new coach was appointed - was very happy with the choice.

Founding member of the Jason Blake Appreciation Society

I was doing huge lines of coke with prominent members of......oops thats all just innuendo, nothing at all to make a back page story of :lol: :lol:

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

Got home from uni and heard whispers that a big announcement was coming on SEN.
Couldn't get the feed to work on the computer and noticed the thread on Saintsational.
Spent the next several hours here.

was down at the Supermarket, heard the news on SEN.

A watershed day for our club......in retrospect, it's a shame the board challenge didn't occur that day as well!

Dal'sGal26

I was on the other side of the world in Germany on a school exchange and didn't get the news until I came home that night and read my emails. The ones that got my attention where the ones that said GRANT THOMAS HAS BEEN SACKED!!

i <3 the red, white and black

Sainter for LIFE!
riccardo

Walking to the station after work, my brother called me and told me. I said "good" and, at the time I was frustrated and angry, so I damn well meant it.

Now, I'm not so sure. :?

i was at a mates house and his dad started getting stuck in to me about another coach being sacked and i'm like what are you talking about? Then i got the news from my mum and was shocked.

i cam on here a few hours later (when i rarely posted) and read page after page of threads on it.

Halo Halo

I had a sick day from work.. I remember going to the supermarket and not taking my phone and when i got home i had 13 messages on my phone and 4 voice messages and they all said the same thing.. GT has been sacked!! I was one of a few who had continually stuck up for Grant & I was surprised and a bit pissed.. I remember saying to my dad that night that if we did not get in the finals with the new coach that atleast it meant that we could get rid of Rod Butterss.. Funny how things work out..

In reality missing the finals hopefully will not hurt the boys & will give them some fire again. It took some time but im coming around to Ross Lyon and although he hasnt utilised a couple of my favourites (Voss & McQualter etc) I think he will do as well as Grant did!!

Now i just hope we can get rid of RB.. I think he has worked hard & has done some good things, but I cannot warm to him.. Im met him quiet a few times, I've listened to him speak & his speaches & his attitude are self indulgent & I think it is a time for a change..

But anyway getting back to the original post - This time last year I was at home facking a sickie!!

El Wood

I was at Grey Advertising and Paul Gardener (Melb pres) told me. Thought he was bullshitting me, and told me he would never sack Daniher before the end of his contract (which technically he didn't).

I have no recollection where I was or what I was doing...

I just remember thinking - here we go again - implosion at the Saints, when will we learn????

I liked GT, I like RL - and a couple of months later I was happy that this crap wasn't going to happen to us again for a long long time - HA!

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Selhurst Saint

El Wood wrote:I was at Grey Advertising and Paul Gardener (Melb pres) told me. Thought he was bullshitting me, and told me he would never sack Daniher before the end of his contract (which technically he didn't).
He is still a first rate Knob though.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

I was at home looking after my baby daughter when I saw it on Sky News. A bit like Riccardo, my first reaction was "fair enough, football is a business, he didn't deliver what was required'.

Then, from the moment I heard what Butterss said to the media at the press conference, and increasingly as we heard more and more unconvincing post facto justifications for the decision, I came to the conclusion that the Board had just engaged in a lemming-like piece of self-destructive groupthink. (I, for one, have never bought the idea that the sacking of GT was all, or even largely, the responsibility of RB.)

My next reaction was, if we don't make the finals in 2007, the current Board will be challenged and overthrown towards the end of the year. I guess I might have found a bookie somewhere who might have taken some money on that equation: although I suspect the odds he would have offered would have been rather worse than 10-9 on!!

i remember coming home from work and logging onto afl.com as it is my homepage and seeing the headline along the lines of 'thomas sacked/gone' etc

i remember yelling f*** wtf s*** diddly etc and turning on foxfooty where whitelinefever (rest its soul) was talking obviously about the days event

interesting day indeed

markinUSA

The week before, I had an argument with my girlfriend. She said that St Kilda's season had been a disappointment and she thought they would sack the coach. I said to her, "No way" and proceded to tell her how I thought GT was secure in his job. I said "Maybe next year, but the injuries this year... and 3 years in a row in the finals... Nah".

I remember coming on here and just being stunned. Just stopped dead in my tracks. And then really became addicted to reading this site, to find out what was going on. Previously, I'd just been reading West of Moorabbin. It was only then - when GT was sacked - that I got into checking this site out every day.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

markinUSA wrote: I remember coming on here and just being stunned. Just stopped dead in my tracks. And then really became addicted to reading this site, to find out what was going on. Previously, I'd just been reading West of Moorabbin. It was only then - when GT was sacked - that I got into checking this site out every day.
so true i had discovered this site only a week or so before and after the events of that day i signed up i think i went from one post to 70 in the first 3 days i think i hit 100 by the weeks end so it really got me hooked

Saw the release which said an announcment was being held in the players' theatrette at 4pm

When I read it, I felt Justin Peckett's retirement was probably a year overdue.

mischa

Arrived home from work, got on here and was absolutely horrified, disgusted and wanted to strangle everyone who said it was great and "nothing to worry about". Then I remember outlining why Butterss should have gone as well and remember bringing up Stan Alves and history (hindsight is a wonderful thing but knew he was lying through his teeth as to the "reasons" only confirmed by his inability to string two words together in the notorious 'On the Couch' interview). Sadly everything that has happened this year has only confirmed all that.

Launcestonsaint
Location: Watching our games on tele or listening to the radio :(

I was driving home from work & heard the report on the radio news. I got home & logged on here.

St Kilda's 2 premiership captains are Tassie born. The Doc & Roo.