Back Pocket Problems

It is that time of year that I start wondering about best teams and how we match up with other top teams.

Our big problem really is covering small fast forwards who play deep.

We have heaps of half back flanker types, but when it comes to little fellas who can play tight and have the speed to match it with clever little goal sneaks ... I think we are in trouble.

My summary:

- Baker: is wasted there and is out for 114 weeks anyway
- Attard: a good fit but is out with a knee for 2008
- L. Fisher: reliable BUT too slow for the faster evasive types

I thought McQualter should have been played there some more over the past few years ... after showing some promise there in practice games.

Other options:

- Schneider: played back when searching for form but better value forward
- Birss: Untried, unfashiobale but a hard worker who would never give in
- Armitage: Wasted here but this would give him more discipline and gametime
- Geary: Hearing good things but I dont know if he could hold this spot

From the rookie list Eddy would be a chance.

Other suggestions?

Pace, discipline and footy smarts are a prerequisite. Nerves close to goal need to be like steel ... so that discounts golden boy Clint Jones ...

Gram is also more value on half back or wing ...

Can we are should we pick up a mature player for this specialist spot?

Well Mark Johnson will be in the PSD but I am quite happy with who we've got atm...
With Baker I don't think he will be able to hold his spot in the midfield anymore, I would rather him as the role you are talking about or even in the forward line.
Attard is perfect for it, it's just a shame we wont see him very much next year...
I think that we should be able to cope thought because those small forwards that can control a game are quite rare and they really shouldn't affect our season IMO.

LTN16

Jake King was a good pick up off the Rookie List for Richmond.

We need a player like him.

Wasnt King just delisted?

Dunn from Freo in the PSD could fit there.

LTN16

n1ck wrote:Wasnt King just delisted?

No that was Cam Howat.

King got Elevated to the Senior List :wink:

LTN16 wrote:
n1ck wrote:Wasnt King just delisted?

No that was Cam Howat.

King got Elevated to the Senior List :wink:
Yea King goes alright, he could have been handy, but he isn't the best at shutting down opposition he is more of a flanker in that he is attacking and he is most damaging with the ball in his hands...

Viking3

Bakes seems better suited in a tagging role further up the ground. Would be good to have a solid and dependable back pocket. If we are looking at someone with experience, Brent Hartigan would be a cheap pick up. Solid without being brilliant. Liked the way he went about his footy and surprised Tigers delisted him.

Give me one flag & I'll go to my grave a happy man.
Zippy

I think we should use Robert Harvey.

Seriously, if our midfield's not too badly injured, we can use Bakes down there, and Leigh Fisher's great on most players.

Blindly delusional optimist. Fan of the Blake.

"If anyone disagrees with anything I say, I am quite prepared not only to retract it, but also to deny under oath that I ever said itâ€

Mmm, so you're from the Tim Watson school of football, then?

Harvey in the back pocket?

n1ck wrote:Mmm, so you're from the Tim Watson school of football, then?

Harvey in the back pocket?
Please don't refer to him by his real name, it shows too much respect to old Timmid...

Armitage should get first crack IMO.
Good grounding for a rookie while he builds his fitness base.

Joffa Burns wrote:Armitage should get first crack IMO.
Good grounding for a rookie while he builds his fitness base.
I wouldn't mind seeing him get given a crack in all sorts of positions to give him some versatility and give him a well rounded skill base.

It did Burkey the world of good starting in the back pocket.

Maybe Brad Howard could play that role? He's pretty quick and a very good tackler, and it would improve the defensive side of his naturally attacking game.

Showed some good form of half-back for the Scorps at times this year.

Jayden Attard is the ideal player - unfortunately he is out.

Baker can play the role, although I'd actually like to see him used up forward and through the middle instead.

Xavier Clarke is another who has had success playing as a small defender in the past.

Finally, Sean Dempster is pretty quick (top five at the Swans) and has a very good defensive side to his game. His agility might be of a concern, but he could play the role.

Yeah Dempster probably could do the role alright.
Howard is a pretty interesting suggestion, I reckon that he could go alright at it, he could be pretty similar to Jake King...

Agree with the Op on L Fisher and Attard, but I think its now Bakes best position. he will be hounded on the ball now, at least in the short term.
I reckon he goes very well back there.

Like the idea of Howard and Dempster. Think its a good possie for X, Armo is interesting, think he would be wasted there though.

Absolutely no to Schneider, desperately need him up forward and I think Birss would be too slow.

What about Gwilt?

F_Q_F

I tend not to use my back pocket. Just makes it awkward when you sit down.

I actually believe that opposition clubs try to 'drag' Baker into their attacking goalsquare because they believe he is vulnerable there. Any mistake/infraction by him results in a goal and my recollection is that he seems to get 'found out' when playing on either quick forwards or taller opponents.
As a tagger in midfield he is the competition's best, because of his ability to 'read' both the play and his opponent. When he invariably gets free-kicked for scragging/holding, the penalty to the team is not too great.

I think that Attard took over his back-pocket tagging role this last season and acquitted himself really well. I fear we will miss him next season in that role.

Of the current players on our list, probably Leigh Fisher is our next option but he can be found out by quick/clever players. Although he certainly can hold his own in the arial contests with most small forwards.

ben_fff

Attard will be a quality back pocket, he had a really solid season.

Like a few have said here Baker is best in the midfield, not just because he's a great stopper but often because he frustrates his opponent so much he can actually get given free kicks himself.

I wouldn't mind Howard in the backline doing a similar job to what Attard did, he'd need to put on a bit of muscle though.

I really don't rate Leigh Fisher, he makes poor decisions and puts players in bad situations when under pressure, he also makes some shocking mistakes when the ball is in dispute.

I don't see it as a problem. We have plenty of options.

Between L.Fisher, Gram, Baker, R.Clarke, Dempster, Gwilt, Ferguson, Gilbert and X.Clarke we have a suitable opponent for most small/medium forwards.

Armitage could be given game time in defence for some good experience.
Howard could turn out to be an excellent lock-down defender.
Geary is another option, although he would be best used as a rebounding flanker or wingman.

LTN16

I reckon that this would be the perfect role for Brad Howard.

I hope he gets a run in the NAB Cup at this role.

Geary and Armitage would both be more suited to the half back flank.

If we are going to experiment, I don't see why Jimmy Gwilt could not play that role. He's found himself on blokes a lot bigger than himself and been lit up sometimes but there's no questioning his endeavour and he's familiar with our backline set up. I think he has the pace so as long as he learns not to be turned inside out then I think this is possibly his best opportunity to show his value to our set up.

Otherwise it may go to a newbie such as Myers, should he fall in our lap. I don't see much value recruiting from the PSD when I think players on our list can more than cover that position already, well certainly better than anyone in the PSD.

karnak

would be a waste to recruit for this position as will not lose you games 22 rounds a year.

We need young midfielders,

ruckamn

KPP backman,

next year I'd expect to see more tagger types bought into the list.

Sam Gilbert you are an EXCITEMENT MACHINE!

karnak wrote:would be a waste to recruit for this position as will not lose you games 22 rounds a year.

We need young midfielders,

ruckamn

KPP backman,

next year I'd expect to see more tagger types bought into the list.
Tagger types? Attard, Baker, L.Fisher.
We have more than enough players who can play tagger types and anyway St.Kilda play their best footy when they are ones being tagged not doing the tagging.

Add Dempster to that list Armoooo

The Back Pocket position, in the modern day and age does not have a standard player type. Because Forward Pocket players vary in size, stature, speed, and potency, Back Pockets are selected more on a matchup basis rather than positional.