o'dea greening incident

esaint66

o'dea greening incident

i was reading in this old magazine about the john greening and jim o'dea incident and there were stories about supporters of both collingwood and stkildas storys of the day like one were a young magpie fan with the number 22 on his duffle jacket walked out crying while saints fans yelled stuff like hope he dies and how people never actually saw the incident and how greening was a fantastic player.then on the next page they had a story about how the next pre season at vic park they had a practice match in honour of john grrening and the pie fans had a massive GREENING banner whilst the saints fans had a smaller O' DEA banner rumours werer that the saints fans got the s**t kicked out of them if anyone has any storys on either the greening o'dea incident game at moorabin or the charity game at victoria park please tell thanks :D

ancient history...give it a rest troll.......or p!ss off.....

why would any football supporter say that they hoped a young champion would die ffs.......moron..... :roll: :roll: :roll:

esaint66

hey mate i dont know i wasnt there i was just intrested in the topic and wanted to know if there was any truth in the matter if it bothers you that much im sorry

snoopygirl

Stinger, he's just quoting what he read in a magazine. Who knows, he may be too young to know the story & all the controversy & bitterness associated with it.
Last edited by snoopygirl on Fri 21 Dec 2007 5:44am, edited 1 time in total.

my les foote

Without a search function, I can't look for your other posts but this one is very troll like.

"I'm interesting in finding out about a Saints player being a thug and their supporters being blood thirsty animals"

Win it for HIM!
esaint66

well my les foote the blood thirsty animal part was written by a collinwood supporter

HSVKing

stinger wrote:ancient history...give it a rest troll.......or p!ss off.....

why would any football supporter say that they hoped a young champion would die ffs.......moron..... :roll: :roll: :roll:
C'mon stinger... Would you please give it a rest? If it were up to you 95% of posters would be trolls I would say.

Nothing wrong with someone younger than yourself, obviously interested in a topic, to be stating things they have read about it, and be questioning things about it.

Just settle down a bit mate, or I'll have to send you on a holiday for a bit.

They walk amongst us...

I was there that day and what I saw was ...

absolutely nothing !

Rumour had it O'Dea and Greening had a run-in in the carpark before the game.
Jimmy obviously hit him, but O'Dea never had a reputation as a real dirty player before or after the incident. Like Guy McKenna I suspect most of the damage was done as he hit the ground awkwardly rather than the initial blow.

I feel sorry for both of them.
Greening because he was a champion in the making, well actually he was already a champion, but had his best ahead of him. And he never lived up to his potential.

But in turn O'Dea was a victim. He was stigmatised for the rest of his career and remains so for an incident where the ramifications far exceeded his culpability.

All in all it was a sad day for football.

I was at the game and although I didn't see the incident I do remember the reports at the time from other saints fans...

O'Dea was really worried and from what I was told (as a kid) spent many a night with no lights on .....

Not really a great moment in football and one hopes won't happen again...

esaint66

yeh im sure this kinda thing wont happen now they have cameras on every player every second of the game.

Riewoldting

saint edward wrote:yeh im sure this kinda thing wont happen now they have cameras on every player every second of the game.
Care to explain why you suddenly used a full stop?

"To be or not to be" - William Shakespeare
"To be is to do" - Immanuel Kant
"Do be do be do" - Frank Sinatra
HSVKing

Riewoldting wrote:
saint edward wrote:yeh im sure this kinda thing wont happen now they have cameras on every player every second of the game.
Bed time? :lol:

They walk amongst us...

esaint66

the full stops just a habit jeez hahaha :D

HSVKing wrote:
Riewoldting wrote:
just off topic, hehe

who the flowered is that on you av HSV??

St Fidelius wrote:
HSVKing wrote:
Riewoldting wrote:
just off topic, hehe

who the flowered is that on you av HSV??
Looks like Lewis Hamilton.

Had the pleasure of meeting and working with Jim O'Dea a few years ago when he was a football director in charge of our VFL side.

A nicer bloke you would never meet. A total gentleman.

I've not been able to reconcile the bloke I know to the person involved in the Greening incident. However, I do know it is not a subject to be broched with Jim.

My understanding of the events that took place is as follows:-

Greening had just kicked the ball from a mark/free kick and O'Dea was on the mark.

As he ran past O'Dea, following the kick upfield, Greening made an uncomplimentary remark about O'Dea's wife, along the lines of "I f....d your wife last night"
O'Dea threw a punch which connected too well and Greening hit the ground unconscious.

There was no premeditated 'king hit'. It was a spur of the moment lashing out by O'Dea.

I was there that day, sitting in the stand above the 'animal enclosure, and like everyone else saw nothing of the incident. My version of this incident was told to me a few days after the event by someone who was a friend of O'Dea.

As far as I'm aware no credible witness has ever come forward with a first hand account of the incident. I discount totally those Collingwood fans who publicly purported to have seen the incident and who later were found to have been 'mistaken'.

Incidentally, whilst Collingwood people continue to demonise O'Dea and the incident none of them ever mention their own player Duncan Wright who happened to be standing next to Essendon's Peter Sommerville at the MCG one day, and didn't see him 'feint' some 80 metres off the ball.

Selhurst Saint

Tell that to Stephen Baker :shock:

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

Not sure what the purpose of this thread is - why are we bringing up this rather tragic incident again. O'dea copped his punishment - a very decent man who has indeed been stigmatised by a spur of the moment action. Greening was a star and unlucky. It happened in 1972 - so of all the incidents that have happened in footy, and there have been plenty, from all sides - we all have our skeletons - why are we re-hashing this one.

Verdun66

We went through this a few months ago....well covered.

Mr Magic is dead right from what I've heard over the years....and yes, the magpies have their own bad stories.

And Stinger ( as usual ) is spot on about the trolls. Love his work. We'll have a beer one day when I can get to Melbourne!

what was troll like about this post ?? did he critisise anyone ? i wasnt born in the 70's so i know little to none about this incidentso if i asked this question would i be called a troll ?? its part of our history and with history you cant just edit out all the bad bits

Hubbie said that Greening had been in a car accident that week, had concusion and wasn't spose to play anyway.

HSVKing wrote:

C'mon stinger... Would you please give it a rest? If it were up to you 95% of posters would be trolls I would say.
Er HSV, he's right about 95% of the time too I reckon.

Richter wrote:
HSVKing wrote:

Er HSV, he's right about 95% of the time too I reckon.
thanks for your support guys...... :wink: :lol:

The rose coloured glasses on this site amaze me. That is all I can say on this incident.

plugger66 wrote:The rose coloured glasses on this site amaze me. That is all I can say on this incident.
Can't really comment on this incident as I'm too recently a Sainter to know anything about it. But if you look towards the top of the page Plugger66 you'll find a phrase Saintsational Fan Forum.

There are always two sides to every story and I think it's forgiveable if when there is doubt that Saints fans err on the side of giving the Saints player/club the benefit of any doubt.