Footy on Good Friday? !!

Should football be played on Good Friday?

Yes
75%
No
25%

Total votes: 60

Footy on Good Friday? !!

I know, it comes up every year and I am normally the one who raises it !!

It isn't going to hapen this year but it will hapen at some time in the future, possibly as early as next year. Someone is going to grab it and run with it. If there is to be a Dollar to be made out of it, it might as well be us who makes that Dollar.

I know there is the religous side of Good Friday. I also know that this wears off by mid afternoon leaving most people with NOTHING to do from mid afternoon onwards.

My idea is;

Set up an arrangement with either Richmond or Carlton to adopt and nurture Good Friday footy into an event to rival Anzac Day. The best time for this would be twilight (5.40pm start). The game would have to be at the MCG on a Home-Away basis (home one year-away the next).

NO, we won't get 80,000 the first year but I believe we (us and Rich or Carl) can grow this into a blockbuster within a few years.

I know this topic will divide opinions but I do welcome peoples thoughts

Archie, you could monitor this thread to gauge opinion !!

I like.

brown-coat

Footy on good friday? PREPOSTEROUS!

midas_touch

They play games on Easter Sunday, I cant really see the difference here.

Trust the Midas Touch

"My heart is at St.Kilda, I've been here seven years, I only wanted to play for them." (Fraser Gehrig, 27/11/2007)
B W and R all over

I think you'll find if it ever does get the green light, Carlton and Richmond will be the two to take the game.

They've been lobbying for ages.

And I laughed at
I know there is the religious side of Good Friday

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

midas_touch wrote:They play games on Easter Sunday, I cant really see the difference here.
You have to be joking......

So, you cannot see the difference in Good Friday and Easter Sunday......

YEAH :roll:

rogerwa

would take it at the drop of a hat

reckon they will hold off until the the g/coast team is up & running be it 09 10 or whenever..may only get 25000 at the game but will have a viewing audience of millions...nice little sweetner for the new club

hate to say it but what are the odds on the filth v g/coast on fri night tv...2 3 4 million viewers

played in the g/coast..the tv networks would rather have 3mill viewers than 80000 at the game...we know who runs the game

St Fidelius wrote:You have to be joking......

Not everyone is a practising Christian.

I believe in choice!

My choice to the movies, the casino, the rugby, the pub, the restaurant.
Why can't I have the choice to go to the footy?

Life Long Saint wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:You have to be joking......

I believe in choice!

That's fine...

but I posted on a poster that can't see the difference between Good Friday and Easter Sunday...

St Fidelius wrote:That's fine...

but I posted on a poster that can't see the difference between Good Friday and Easter Sunday...
Nor can I...But I am not religious.

Instead of replying in a disbelieving manner, how about explaining it so we all understand?

To me, both are holy days in the Christian calendar.
We play footy on one but not the other.
I don't get it.

Life Long Saint wrote:

Instead of replying in a disbelieving manner, how about explaining it so we all understand?

I don't get it.

I rspect the religious view, BUT my view is I dont GAF! I dont care what day it is, blow the siren and lets get it on!

Life Long Saint wrote:

I don't get it.
Good Friday is when Christ was crucified

East Sunday was when he rose and ascended to heaven...

Hence why Sunday is the real celebration and for some reason kids get to eat their chocolate eggs...

So the difference is Good Friday is a day of mourning and Easter Sunday is the opposite.....

St Fidelius wrote:Good Friday is when Christ was crucified

Hence why Sunday is the real celebration and for some reason kids get to eat their chocolate eggs...

So the difference is Good Friday is a day of mourning and Easter Sunday is the opposite.....
I knew that he was crucified on Friday and rose three days later.

What I still don't understand is why one day is more holy than the other.

It seems that the Christians are hell bent on making the rest of miserable on the day too!

So can we let the Christians go and mourn while the rest of us watch the footy? I am sure the church won't spoil the party and broadcast the game live to the congregation!

St Fid, - A serious question from a non-Christian.

Why is Xmas day on Dec 25 yet the Easter date changes every year?

Life Long Saint wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:Good Friday is when Christ was crucified

I knew that he was crucified on Friday and rose three days later.

It seems that the Christians are hell bent on making the rest of miserable on the day too!

So can we let the Christians go and mourn while the rest of us watch the footy? I am sure the church won't spoil the party and broadcast the game live to the congregation!
Well, if you knew that, why bother me with an explanation about it....

F*** this site....

why bother explaining something and get told that they know that...

A poster could not see the difference between Good Friday and Easter Sunday and I tried to explain the difference...
Life Long Saint wrote:

I don't get it.
and if you already knew that, don't bother me with you want me to explain it

FAIR DINKUM

WHY BOTHER!

C YA ......

Saints-06-Premiers

Mr Magic wrote:St Fid, - A serious question from a non-Christian.

Easter is dependant on the moon cycles. As a catholic, and also of Greek heritage, we get two easters most year, the Greek one is based, i think, more truely on the moon. I'm not exactly sure, its got something to do with the moon.

Too lazy to update my username

Saints-06-Premiers wrote:

Easter is dependant on the moon cycles. As a catholic, and also of Greek heritage, we get two easters most year, the Greek one is based, i think, more truely on the moon. I'm not exactly sure, its got something to do with the moon.
Thanks SP06.
Does that mean that Xmas Day is actually a 'made-up' date and not really the actual birthdate?

Lennon

St Fidelius wrote:
Because the Christians overlayed their celebration on a pre-existing celebration of Spring, to try to make the people they were attempting to convert more malleable, and in this pre-existing celebration people would give each other brightly painted eggs as a symbol of fertility and new growth... I think.

I'm sure the chocolate part was somebody's bright idea to make a buck.

Thanks SP06.
Does that mean that Xmas Day is actually a 'made-up' date and not really the actual birthdate?

I thought it was all made up?

jonesy wrote:

Thanks SP06.

I thought it was all made up?
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Saints-06-Premiers

When you think about it, the calendar has year 0 right in the middle. Before that was BC (before christ) and since that is AD (which is latin for the year of the Lord). Now if that calendar was true, Jesus would have been born on New Years Day, Year 0.

Jesus was born roughly 4 or 5 years BC. Not sure where the date comes from.

But hey, even non-Christians, your not gonna complain about a couple of public holidays, surely.

I'm 1000% in favour of Good Friday Footy.

If it's played as a night game or twilight then what the religious fork does it matter?

FFS not all of us are Christians/Catholics/believe in Easter anyway.

Most Christians never go to church and Easter/Xmas is just an excuse for a holiday or pissup, so you'll never ever convince me that the religo angle is at all significant in this very secular country that we live in.

But I suspect it is a religious minority within the AFL that's holding it back.

Also, what's wrong with a big contribution to the RCH appeal from a Good Friday game?

It should be able to raise at least $100K through all sorts of donation strategies.

St Fidelius wrote:Well, if you knew that, why bother me with an explanation about it....

F*** this site....

A poster could not see the difference between Good Friday and Easter Sunday and I tried to explain the difference...
Tad sensitive, aren't we?

I was expecting something a little deeper in the meaning than death and rebirth.

You still haven't explained why one is more holy than the other.

I just thought an explanation on here that wasn't Bible101 might help the non-religious among us understand why Christians are so adamant about this day.

Don't bother, St Fid, I'll just google the bloody thing!

I can get the deeper and more meaningful explanation without the anger.

Saints-06-Premiers

Good Friday is the death of Christ. I don't think we can rank which is more holier.

St Fidelius wrote:
midas_touch wrote:They play games on Easter Sunday, I cant really see the difference here.
You have to be joking......

Life Long Saint wrote:

I believe in choice!

St Fidelius wrote: That's fine...

Life Long Saint wrote: Nor can I...But I am not religious.

I don't get it.
St Fidelius wrote:
Good Friday is when Christ was crucified

Life Long Saint wrote: I knew that he was crucified on Friday and rose three days later.

Life Long Saint wrote:
St Fidelius wrote:Well, if you knew that, why bother me with an explanation about it....

F*** this site....

Tad sensitive, aren't we?

I was expecting something a little deeper in the meaning than death and rebirth.

You still haven't explained why one is more holy than the other.

I just thought an explanation on here that wasn't Bible101 might help the non-religious among us understand why Christians are so adamant about this day.

Don't bother, St Fid, I'll just google the bloody thing!

I can get the deeper and more meaningful explanation without the anger.
Well then...

was the first topic on whether Good Friday was more Holier than Easter Sunday??? FFS

The question was Why a poster could not see the difference on why we play on Easter Sunday and NOT Good Friday FFS

Good Luck with Google :roll:

I answered the reason when you wanted an explanation the is NO difference in Holiness, just a difference in Celebration...

Farkin Google that, if you cannot see the difference....