adelaide fences

esaint66

adelaide fences

ive noticed behind all the sanfl teams goals they have a massive metal net fence and in the early days at aami stadium they had one there can anyone explain to me why?

is it crowd behaviour (because after hillsborough in the soccer i think we've worked out that doesnt work)
or is it not to waste time retreiving the ball?
dont need to rip into me or anyone just asking

noddy

Never seen them and i go to a lot of SANFL games. I think you have them mixed up with somewhere else

Snakeman66

This is a photo of Noarlunga(South Adelaide)

Fences like these used to be at Footy Park if you watch pre AFL Games.

Don't dwell on the past.
Look to the future.
Snakeman66

Elizabeth(Centrals)

Don't dwell on the past.
Look to the future.
Selhurst Saint

I always thought it was to stop supporters getting hurt when players slammed the ball through from the square.

Remember the Goal umpire who got KOed in that manner.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."
esaint66

Selhurst Saint wrote:I always thought it was to stop supporters getting hurt when players slammed the ball through from the square.

yeah i do remember that and i think you post is very valid because a mate of mine got hit in the face with a ball when robbo (in his early sandy days) slammed one through the centre.

he got to keep the ball though :D

noddy

I understand what you mean now. They were put their so that fans dont get hit by the footy and so that people dont have to go and collect the footy for the boundary umps or fullbacks. I know for sure because at South Adelaide there is a huge area behind the goals that arent frequented by spectators and used to take heaps of time to retrieve the footy. At South Adelaides ground we hardly get over 2500 ppl . At times the ball still goes over this "fence"

saint edward wrote:
Selhurst Saint wrote:I always thought it was to stop supporters getting hurt when players slammed the ball through from the square.

yeah i do remember that and i think you post is very valid because a mate of mine got hit in the face with a ball when robbo (in his early sandy days) slammed one through the centre.

he got to keep the ball though :D
Understandable as he probably had to have it surgically removed. :lol:

They've had them as long as I can remember in the SANFL.

At the old Sturt Oval if they didn't have one the ball would have gone into the bowling green that was only a few meters away from the fence. The school at the Bay is pretty close too.

Fences behind the goals and red point posts are part of SANFL footy.

aussiejones

Fences behind the goals and red point posts are part of SANFL footy

Say no more SA are ferals

Selhurst Saint

The square goal post that mashed Carey's knee was a worthwhile South Australian initiative.

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

aussiejones wrote:Say no more SA are ferals
thanks tosser :D

they were put there so the ball was easy and quick to get back to the center square....it had nothing to do with being smashed in the head with a torpedo punt from 10 meters away :lol:

riccardo

Selhurst Saint wrote:The square goal post that mashed Carey's knee was a worthwhile South Australian initiative.
Thats the only time I ever heard a crowd boo a goalpost!

High-larious! :lol: :lol: :wink:

riccardo wrote:Thats the only time I ever heard a crowd boo a goalpost!
might not all be ferals over here, but that kinda shows how moronic some crows fans are 8-)

Saintgaz

They had them when WAFL games were played at Subiaco Oval.
Everyone wants to sit on the wing so you've got one of the players jumping over the fence to get the ball back.

One day it's all got to be worth it.
Right????