does gehrig ignore fans normally after matches??

This unofficial St Kilda Saints fan forum is for people of all ages to chat Saints Footy and all posts must be respectful.

Moderators: Saintsational Administrators, Saintsational Moderators

tassiechick

does gehrig ignore fans normally after matches??

hi, newbie here!
I recently took my son to watch the scorpions vs tassie at bellerive oval here in hobart.... my son who is a passionate fan of gehrig and riewoldt asked gehrig timidly for an autograph after the game. He didnt demand his attention by screaming at him or getting in his face, he actually said excuse me mr. gehrig, can i please get my top signed? I counted 6 kids who were lining up to get an autograph from him, he signed 2 ( he didnt look, smile, speak to the young fans) and then shook his head and ran off. the kids were devastated. It wasnt just that he didnt have time for them, it was the attitude and gruffness of him. There was an article in the Hobart Mercury with a photo of a young boy with his hand out hoping for a high five from him, and as the old saying says, a picture tells a thousand words. The article basically crucified gehrig for his attitude. In hobart or tassie in general, we dont see many games or 'stars' of the game very often. Raph Clarke was only too happy to sign autographs and have a quick chat and joke with the kids, its just a shame that the more high-profile players cant have that same attitude to a few young footy starved fans! sorry for the long winded rant!! I haven't been to watch an AFL match in victoria yet and just wondering if that is the norm for him? GO SAINTS! :D

footy starved in tassie!!
Batnoe

i can see where you are coming from, it broke my heart when my idols didnt sign

it could be how he played, wasnt happy with his own efforts so thought he didnt deserve to have a fan

bigcarl
Saintsational Legend

Re: does gehrig ignore fans normally after matches??