We NEED a MONGREL ...or 3 !!

It dawned on me during last night's game that we have too many nice guys in our side and not enough mongrels. By mongrels, I mean being hated by opposition players/fans that much that they are respected. Glen Archer & Aaron Hamill are the types of players I'm on about.

It would have made the world of difference last night if we were able to intimidate Thomas, Pendlebury, Didak, Davis and any other opponenent who might have a weakness.

We need to go to the edge without going over the line. Things like introducing every part of an opponent's body to the Telstra Dome surface, having opponents think twice when there is a hard ball to get. WE NEED BLOKES WHO ARE HARD AT THE BALL AND HARD AT THE BLOKE WITH THE BALL.

Back to last night's game; Most of our better players last night were NICE GUYS, not MONGRELS;

Luke Ball: Hard nice guy

Robert Harvey: Nice Guy

Nick Dal Santo: Nice Guy

Sam Fisher: Nice Guy

Lenny Hayes: Nice Guy with just about enough mongrel in him.

I'm not sure if we have any MONGRELS coming through either. Armitage has the build to do it and could do it, but we need another 3 or 4.

When we were on that winning streak in 2004, we INTIMIDATED and were HATED/RESPECTED by almost every club in the AFL. We need to use that as a pemplate going forward !!

groupie1

i agree entirely

baker is it

schneider is built for it

G has no mongrel left - that's one criticism i have of him

Kozi needs to hurt guys as well

As does Gardiner

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

This has been a pet peeve of mine for the last 2 years. We miss Aaron H. G used to do it but cant/wont any more. Bakes hasn't been there. We dont even tackle hard any more. Aaprt from the losses this is something I find very disheartening.

we had mongrel ..... but hes been neutered by the TRYbunal

the fact is the mongrel player now days will spend more time in the stands then on the feild ..

Bakes
Josh Carr
Hall
Solomon

all spend too much time rubbed out now days

Mongerel's may be nice....

But what we really need are a few players that can hit targets...and finish off well.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sat 17 May 2008 1:20pm, edited 2 times in total.

gooner

Now if only Raph Clark could get himself hated by oppositon fans instead of his own.

"The humble improve" Wynton Marsalis

gooner wrote:Now if only Raph Clark could get himself hated by oppositon fans instead of his own.
I don't think anyone hates Raph Clarke.

Red

I agree with SaintsRising we need players who can hurt the opposition with

their skills.

I believe we have two players who are capable of this they being NDS and

Goddard the others are accumulators but don't always hurt the opposition.

An example of this was Lennny missing goal from 30 out on the run last

night. A top shelf player at that stage of the game would have nailed it.

brown-coat

Otiman wrote:
gooner wrote:Now if only Raph Clark could get himself hated by oppositon fans instead of his own.
I don't think anyone hates Raph Clarke.
Really?

heh..

patto

I hate Raph Clarke with a passion!!!!

Nick_Dal_Santo = ChAmPiOn

patto wrote:I hate Raph Clarke with a passion!!!!
but you don't count, so piss off

Physicality is almost useless in todays footy......Skill level, decision making, speed and fitness are the keys.....over aggression is punished nowadays....

Pendlebury, Thomas, Didak, Davis.....are any of them overly physical...

agreed ...physicallity is almost useless nowdays

we need to hurt them ok ...but on the dam scoreboard...too many easy goal opportunities are going begging every week
The top sides don't miss anywhere near as many as we do and kick heaps more beyond 50

what gets me about last nights missesthey were all just simple shots on goal from 30m in a stadium under perfect conditions...no wind!
totally inexcusable!

I'd love to see Armo, Geary and Steven all in the side. All good tacklers who will never back out of a contest (and they can actually play footy). If senior players see these teenagers attacking the footy and the man like those three do then surely it would inspire them to do the same and not be made to look soft by a bunch of kids.

Simon Templar

I agree....Didak had the gall to upend Bally last night and I thought the exact same thing when it happened. Didak of all dweebs........and, of course Didak then gets a boost to his confidence.

Like when Sam Mitchell was the first to break Bally's nose a couple of years ago. He sniped Luke in a pack. Mitchell thought he was a hero, he turned and grinned and raised his arms to his mates in triumph......it certainly was the biggest thing he's ever done in his piddling career at that stage.

Luke's just a bloody nice bloke....a ripper feller.

Go you good things....!!!

armo could be the one we have waited for. Happy to dump players and mouth off to them

patto

Nick_Dal_Santo = ChAmPiOn wrote:
but you don't count, so piss off

Sorry to disappoint you in a public forum dude but i made a statement and it counts.... So blow me

Solar wrote:armo could be the one we have waited for. Happy to dump players and mouth off to them
and not only that bust his gut chasing.

Did you see his chase on the Moorabbin Wing side of the ground?
His facial expression said it all....he was giving 110%.