Interesting Observations.. Flight home !!

I made a few interesting observations on the flight home from Brisbane. Firstly, I was surprised that the umpires made it on to our flight (Left Bris at 1750). Scott McLaren & Ray Chamberlain moved about the plane talking to anyone and everyone, including what appeared a lengthy and polite conversation with Andrew Thompson. Both appeared to be pleasant enough. I did notice that Matthew Head sat away from them and didn't bother to mingle with anyone. I again encountered Head as we were leaving Melb Airport. He was rude and aggressive and appeared to show a real attitude.

Just observations, make of them what you will !!

redwhite&blackblood

Re: Interesting Observations.. Flight home !!

Eastern wrote:I made a few interesting observations on the flight home from Brisbane. Firstly, I was surprised that the umpires made it on to our flight (Left Bris at 1750). Scott McLaren & Ray Chamberlain moved about the plane talking to anyone and everyone, including what appeared a lengthy and polite conversation with Andrew Thompson. Both appeared to be pleasant enough. I did notice that Matthew Head sat away from them and didn't bother to mingle with anyone. I again encountered Head as we were leaving Melb Airport. He was rude and aggressive and appeared to show a real attitude.

So Head's nickname is appropriate "Dick".

Bleeding Red, Black and White for 38 years!
Life Motto - Fortius Quo Fidelius
Raph "Cult Hero" Clarke Fan Club.
esaint66

redwhite&blackblood wrote:
Eastern wrote:I made a few interesting observations on the flight home from Brisbane. Firstly, I was surprised that the umpires made it on to our flight (Left Bris at 1750). Scott McLaren & Ray Chamberlain moved about the plane talking to anyone and everyone, including what appeared a lengthy and polite conversation with Andrew Thompson. Both appeared to be pleasant enough. I did notice that Matthew Head sat away from them and didn't bother to mingle with anyone. I again encountered Head as we were leaving Melb Airport. He was rude and aggressive and appeared to show a real attitude.

Yeah i was going to ask eastern did you leave out his middle name. :lol:

saint edward wrote:

I didn't get close enough to check out his boarding pass :wink: !!

My observations were that Mclaren,[Dick]Head, & Ray Chamberlain absolutely slaughtered us when the game trend was in the balance early....

Rated them before todays game as the 3 worst umpires in the game and nothing today has changed my mind...

Think the game is all about them and literally pluck decisions out the their collective AR$ES too phucking often to justify their pathetic existance :x

Was not the reason we lost but a contibuting factor no doubt...

A disgrace to their profession at the detriment to the game of footy IMO :evil:

esaint66

saint edward wrote:

:lol: :lol: get the reading glasses out next time, maybe the binoculars :wink:

saint edward wrote:

:lol: :lol: get the reading glasses out next time, maybe the binoculars :wink:
:idea: :idea: :wink: :lol: !!

Not being smart but can someone tell me why there was a 50mtr penalty paid Jonathan Brown, think it was the 3rd qtr when he took a clean mark. Look like it was against Rob Harvey. It took him to the goal square and kicked a very easy goal.

Was that the one where Gram walked across the mark ?

Mouthing off apparently. (the Harves one)

cowboy18 wrote:Mouthing off apparently. (the Harves one)
that was against king

one of a few ones that were a bit of a wtf....

when the game was in the balance we were bent over and taken good and proper by the umps....kosi getting his arms chopped in the square for one

it must be fun making up the rules of one's profession and changing them an still having a decent paying job at the end of the day

esaint66

WHAT !!!!!!!!!!! ??????????? .................. HARVES MOUTH OFF !!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: what has the world come too ?????

saint edward wrote:

WHAT !!!!!!!!!!! ??????????? .................. HARVES MOUTH OFF !!!!! :shock: :shock: :shock: what has the world come too ?????
Nah !! Head accused King of mouthing off. We could see Kingy asking what he was supposed to have said and HEAD refused to even acknowledge him !!

they...the umps were absolutely flowering disgraceful......but then so were the players.......

stinger wrote:they...the umps were absolutely flowering disgraceful......but then so were the players.......
Agreed Stingersaurus.... We can't blame the Umps for that one.... we were absolute fertilizer out there.

stinger wrote:they...the umps were absolutely flowering disgraceful......but then so were the players.......
I know we should be better than a few umpires decisions BUT it's where they are given

City end- in the back
Saints player marks in front with two lions behind-

'the in the back' went to the Lions player in the middle- against the saints who was in front-or against the lion behind- anyway- resulted in akickc out from what would have been a certain Saints goal- and run quickly down the other end for a goal

kosi in front of goal- marks- in the back- give it back to the Lions

saints pushed oin the back- thats ok let the lions have it- frustrates me- so MUST frustrate the players.

My trip story- certain athletes where making sure the lactic acid didn;t congeal in the legs and were standing near cabin breaks - trying to avoid hitting their heads ( injury report- young future ruckman took out his head on the Plane entry- but avoided the overhead lockers.)

along comes a Cabin steward ( male) who says " i just don't know which way to go"

saint patrick wrote:M
Was not the reason we lost but a contibuting factor no doubt...
:evil:
absolute bullsh*t. We lost because we were soft, insipid and p*ss weak, don't shift blame, not even 1% of it. It just makes you look weaker.

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:
that was against king

when the game was in the balance we were bent over and taken good and proper by the umps....kosi getting his arms chopped in the square for one

it must be fun making up the rules of one's profession and changing them an still having a decent paying job at the end of the day
not as easy as it is to point the finger at the umpires. Fair Dinkum SP, we lose to the Filth in a close one and you were complaining about the umpires. We get absolutely shellacked and you claim that when the game was in the balance the umps did us over. See a pattern? It's complete and utter crap. Just not good enough mate. End of story. No-one else to blame but the blokes in R,W&B.

st.byron wrote:
Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:
that was against king

not as easy as it is to point the finger at the umpires. Fair Dinkum SP, we lose to the Filth in a close one and you were complaining about the umpires. We get absolutely shellacked and you claim that when the game was in the balance the umps did us over. See a pattern? It's complete and utter crap. Just not good enough mate. End of story. No-one else to blame but the blokes in R,W&B.

100% correct

im not saying the umpires changed the game obviously

a few calls in the first really perplexed me espeically being 10 metres or so away

saint patrick wrote:
Think the game is all about them
Careful, careful "saint patrick" didn't a coach of ours in years gone by utter just this sentiment?

The way the AFL likes to get money off everyone you might have to have your wages docked and the money go into the umpires provident fund too.

And meanwhile the umps have the right to penealise us because someone had the gumption to really say it how it was/is eh :wink:

I know we should be better than a few umpires decisions BUT it's where they are given

City end- in the back
Saints player marks in front with two lions behind-

'the in the back' went to the Lions player in the middle- against the saints who was in front-or against the lion behind- anyway- resulted in akickc out from what would have been a certain Saints goal- and run quickly down the other end for a goal

kosi in front of goal- marks- in the back- give it back to the Lions

saints pushed oin the back- thats ok let the lions have it- frustrates me- so MUST frustrate the players.

My trip story- certain athletes where making sure the lactic acid didn;t congeal in the legs and were standing near cabin breaks - trying to avoid hitting their heads ( injury report- young future ruckman took out his head on the Plane entry- but avoided the overhead lockers.)

along comes a Cabin steward ( male) who says " i just don't know which way to go"
Big Mac is ok isn't he?

Buckets wrote: Big Mac is ok isn't he?
no blood
but given the others and how far they were ducking their heads I\m just glad they didn't whakc them.