Anyone else disappointed with the attendance on Sunday?

marksnsparks

Anyone else disappointed with the attendance on Sunday?

Thought 33,800 was poor for Harves last home game.

I wonder if it has a lot to do with the Dome's dodgy ticketing system. When I went online to buy tickets on Thursday, there was only level 1 $42 tickets available. I know this put off a long time Saints supporter at work, because he would be taking his two sons as well. I wonder if this happened to others?

Anyway, I paid for me and my brother to go along ($42 for him, $20 for me as a member) and was annoyed to see great swathes of level 3 empty. Obviously Telstra Dome keep tickets aside for sale on the day at the gate...whilst at the same time misleading those purchasing online IMO!

doggerel

I dunno mate, I thought it was a reasonable effort. Few rounds back against Prt we got 22,900, so without the Harves factor this round might have got 25-26k? Plenty will be planning to see him off in the next 2 or more weeks...

St Kilda Social Club member since 1996

All that swathe of Level 3 was walk up seating..which was most certainly available to purchase online....or just grab tickets on the day and save yourself the booking fee

Superboot

Depends how you look at it.

There were probably 33,000 Saints fans there. I'm not sure how many more than that we can expect.

marksnsparks

saint66au wrote:All that swathe of Level 3 was walk up seating..which was most certainly available to purchase online....or just grab tickets on the day and save yourself the booking fee
Sorry, don't like to be offline for too long. Scared of missing all the belly laughs I get reading this forum.

The Saintsational Man

Didn't really suprise me.

For Saints fans it his "Last Home Game", but for football fans it's not his "Last Game"

Expect to see massive turnouts in the finals for us, even though we draw the biggest finals crowds, expect a few more than usual.

I think the crowd against Essendon will be 50,000+, I'm sure alot of Dons fans will be there to say goodbye.

St_Cave

As we only have 30 odd thouasand members I thought it was a reasonable turnout against the crows. I think a lot of the non-member Saints supporters will come out in the finals as they have to pay the full price anyway. So i suppose what i'm saying is non-members might prefer to send Harves off in his final game rather than his last home game.

Sunday afternoon is a poor timeslot too. I imagine that had the game been Friday or Saturday night, the crowd would have been a lot larger.

I would expect 33,800 to be above average for our Sunday afternoon home games.

St Chris wrote:Sunday afternoon is a poor timeslot too. I imagine that had the game been Friday or Saturday night, the crowd would have been a lot larger.

I would expect 33,800 to be above average for our Sunday afternoon home games.
If they started the games at 3.10pm it would help a lot.

Thought it was a poor showing IMO.

30k members, and at least 3000 crows fans.

Would have hoped for at least 35,000.

Just shows how fickle suporters are these days. We would have crammed at least 25,000 at Linton St. :lol:

The problem at TD is that if we're behind and come back, the crowd doesn't double at 3/4 time like it used to at Moorabbin :lol:

I wonder how many fickle bandwagon supporters we've lost in the past 18 months due to our style of play. Every club has them no doubt,and i'm sure we've lost a lot through some of the garbage we were dishing up.

Go back two seasons and there would of 40-43K there no doubt

don't forget that its a sunday.. worst day for footy, plus there are still kids playing footy.

The Saintsational Man

jonesy wrote:I wonder how many fickle bandwagon supporters we've lost in the past 18 months due to our style of play. Every club has them no doubt,and i'm sure we've lost a lot through some of the garbage we were dishing up.

Our average home attendance in '07 & '08 is higher than it was in '04, '05 & '06.

It's our away crowds in '08 that has sunk by almost 7,000 from the '07 figures.

Saintschampions08

jonesy wrote:I wonder how many fickle bandwagon supporters we've lost in the past 18 months due to our style of play. Every club has them no doubt,and i'm sure we've lost a lot through some of the garbage we were dishing up.

Actually...i did just that:

2003 Round 2 - 19,131 people on a Saturday Day.

2005 Round 9 - 35,100 people on a Friday Night.

2006 Round 12 - 34,170 people on a Friday Night.

2007 Round 15 - 32,210 people on a Friday Night.

Yep...40-43k no doubt :roll:

Saintschampions08 wrote:

Didn't realise Harvey was playing his last home game and had past players giving him a guard of honour at those games too? :roll:

mick13

Err guys, they dont check your tickets.

*wink wink*

Saintschampions08

jonesy wrote:
Saintschampions08 wrote:

Didn't realise Harvey was playing his last home game and had past players giving him a guard of honour at those games too? :roll:
No...but how many people do you think that added? 20,000?
The fact that its his last home game means fairly little .. considering we are playing at TD next week....and then possibly the week after.

At our peak and close to Adelaides peak, we could only manage 35,100 - on a Friday night.

40-43k on a Sunday eve game...good luck

Disagree. The Harvey factor added 7-8k I'd reckon.

What have been our attendances in our past couple of home games playing interstate sides recently? Low 20's for memory. Two people came with us who haven't been all year as they wanted to be there for the Harvey celebrations. Having said that,I guess you could argue that these were the fickle supporters that were coming two years ago and haven't been coming recently:? :wink:

I think you'll find that Adelaide traditionally draws the biggest away crowd to our home games against interstate teams.

It would appear on face value thatr 33-34k wasn't such a bad attendance in comparison to other games against Adelaide or other interstate teams.

mick13 wrote:Err guys, they dont check your tickets.

*wink wink*
Err you need to scan a ticket to get thru the turnstyles???

Sure, you could scan a Junior ticket, if that's what your're getting at!

saintspremiers wrote:Err you need to scan a ticket to get thru the turnstyles???

Sure, you could scan a Junior ticket, if that's what your're getting at!
Used to be able to do that, when they didn't have attendants at the turnstyles. In fact if you scan a Junior ticket, the orange light on top of the ticket scanner flashes. Then if they see you're obviously not 14 years old, they'll nab you.

I think they must have realised something was up when there were 30% Juniors at every match.

Was at the Brisbane V Saints Woolhair goal game,which was all ticketed and sold out that night. Had a mate that wanted to come but it was sold out,so i said i'll pass my membership out the gate and let him see how much he can spin them if the scanner says its been double swiped.

So he go's to scan it and it says already been swiped and they don't let him in. So he put on a massive turn,asked too see the supervisor who he told in no uncertain terms that this was his membership and no one else had scanned it that day and he demanded an apology. They gave him his apology and let him in....he said "don't let it happen again!" hehe