How are we going to win clearances?
We were beaten at the clearances and disputed ball again at the weekend. This time we were able to dominate regardless (Saints' accurate kicking, Pies inaccurate, Saints pressure on ball carrier etc etc).
But we certainly won't get near Geelong, nor the Hawks probably, if we don't do something to improve in this area.
So what's it going to be? We really need Bally back, but will he have the conditioning to play the game in the middle? If he comes back and the coaching staff are planning to nurse him thru with significant time at half forward, that's not going to be the solution.
I think perhaps we need to get MG back in the side. Kingy has been solid and at least nullifies the ruck contest mostly, but once it hits the deck we don't get our share.
Prior to his injury Gardi was starting to slot it right down the throats of our runners. His last couple of weeks at Casey were good enough to put him in contention. I reckon it is worth a crack.
If not, how else? It is going to take more than just replacing Eddy with Birss.
But we certainly won't get near Geelong, nor the Hawks probably, if we don't do something to improve in this area.
So what's it going to be? We really need Bally back, but will he have the conditioning to play the game in the middle? If he comes back and the coaching staff are planning to nurse him thru with significant time at half forward, that's not going to be the solution.
I think perhaps we need to get MG back in the side. Kingy has been solid and at least nullifies the ruck contest mostly, but once it hits the deck we don't get our share.
Prior to his injury Gardi was starting to slot it right down the throats of our runners. His last couple of weeks at Casey were good enough to put him in contention. I reckon it is worth a crack.
If not, how else? It is going to take more than just replacing Eddy with Birss.
St Kilda Social Club member since 1996
-
- Club Player
Blake in the ruck is actually a serious solution to that problem.
Especially against the smaller Hawthorn ruckmen, who help their midfielders with the contested ball.
Blake can nullify this Hawthorn advantage, and provide us with extra pressure at ground level in the ruck.
Michael Gardiner has retired I believe.
Tackling pressure is also critical. We need to lay 50+ tackles, and that helps a lot even if you are slightly down in the clearances and with the contested football.
Especially against the smaller Hawthorn ruckmen, who help their midfielders with the contested ball.
Blake can nullify this Hawthorn advantage, and provide us with extra pressure at ground level in the ruck.
Tackling pressure is also critical. We need to lay 50+ tackles, and that helps a lot even if you are slightly down in the clearances and with the contested football.
- Persuader
- Club Player
When did Michael Gardiner retire?
It's not a ruck problem. Time and time again the ball went straight to
one of our midfielders who fumbled it or had it robbed from them.
So another body (ie: Blake ) would be good....but then it robs our backline.
It's not a ruck problem. Time and time again the ball went straight to
one of our midfielders who fumbled it or had it robbed from them.
So another body (ie: Blake ) would be good....but then it robs our backline.
Founding member of the Jason Blake Appreciation Society
-
- SS Life Member
Last time we played them, we had far more of the ball, even in the first quarter when we were a long way behind. Hawthorn's goals were coming from counter attacks when we stuffed up delivery through the midfield.
We got on top eventually simply by using the ball more effectively, not by winning it more often.
In theory, there's no reason why we can't do it again.
We got on top eventually simply by using the ball more effectively, not by winning it more often.
In theory, there's no reason why we can't do it again.
Last edited by Superboot on Mon 15 Sep 2008 3:01pm, edited 1 time in total.
- WinnersOnly
- SS Life Member
Centre clearances are a problem...
Our problem is that HAYES is our go to man and when he is well tagged we have any one else physically capable of hitting the space where the tapped ball is to be at a strong pace.
All of our midfielders stand flat footed at ball ups - the centre clearances are won by players backing their instincts and collecting the ball at pace.
-
- Club Player
This is where the game will be won or lost.If we can restrict quick supply into the forward line & even better limit supply into the forward line then the battle is half over. If we allow their midfield to get control of the contested footy then we have a snowmans chance in hell of stopping them from kicking a winning score.It is that simple, win the centre clearances & we will win the game. Hawthorns forward line is a lot better structured than Collingwoods & if we allow them to get inside 50 as often as we did against the Pies then we will be in trouble.The back line did a saintsational job last week but you carnt expect them to do the same againt a star studded outfit getting plenty of supply. I really think we can & will win but this is the big hurdle we have to clear to make it reality.
Who are the smaller Hawthorn Ruckman. Campbell and Taylor both massive units?Legendary wrote:Blake in the ruck is actually a serious solution to that problem.
Maybe this year?
-
- Saintsational Legend
Yep need Blake into ruck at stages - his mobility and attack on the footy worried them last timesaintly_safes wrote:This is where the game will be won or lost.If we can restrict quick supply into the forward line & even better limit supply into the forward line then the battle is half over. If we allow their midfield to get control of the contested footy then we have a snowmans chance in hell of stopping them from kicking a winning score.It is that simple, win the centre clearances & we will win the game. Hawthorns forward line is a lot better structured than Collingwoods & if we allow them to get inside 50 as often as we did against the Pies then we will be in trouble.The back line did a saintsational job last week but you carnt expect them to do the same againt a star studded outfit getting plenty of supply. I really think we can & will win but this is the big hurdle we have to clear to make it reality.
Need L Ball at the coal face for sure to help out Hayes and I reckon Birss but that wont happen cause he obviously ran over Lyons cat.
-
- Saintsational Legend
or if kosi had been suspended they would have bought in gardiner.hotdish wrote:MG has not officially retired. It has not been announced by the club, there is only speculation.
He has been training, and playing with Casey, so obviously he's still in contention.
If King went down tomorrow, Gardiner would come in ahead of Rix.
Thus he aint retired!
- Saints Premiers 2008
- Saintsational Legend
i was amazed that the Pies only had 26 tackles for the whole game, they didnt harrass enough, that is why our kicks were so effective
we only had 46 but looked more hungry....
Pies had over 70 tackles against Geelong when they won, if we can keep the pressure on their carriers and harrass, they will turn it over and we will set up the other end.. we can win this game even without first use if we harrass hard and give them no easy possessions
we only had 46 but looked more hungry....
Pies had over 70 tackles against Geelong when they won, if we can keep the pressure on their carriers and harrass, they will turn it over and we will set up the other end.. we can win this game even without first use if we harrass hard and give them no easy possessions
-
- Saintsational Legend
worth remembering his contribution last time. almost gives you another midfielder when he's used in the ruck and i'm sure it's something that will be factored in.hotdish wrote:Put Blake into the ruck for spurts when we are struggling. He dominated last game v Hawks and turned the game for us with good rucking/second efforts + hard running forward (he kicked 3 goals)!
- matrix
- Saintsational Legend
agreedTeflon wrote:Yep need Blake into ruck at stages - his mobility and attack on the footy worried them last timesaintly_safes wrote:This is where the game will be won or lost.If we can restrict quick supply into the forward line & even better limit supply into the forward line then the battle is half over. If we allow their midfield to get control of the contested footy then we have a snowmans chance in hell of stopping them from kicking a winning score.It is that simple, win the centre clearances & we will win the game. Hawthorns forward line is a lot better structured than Collingwoods & if we allow them to get inside 50 as often as we did against the Pies then we will be in trouble.The back line did a saintsational job last week but you carnt expect them to do the same againt a star studded outfit getting plenty of supply. I really think we can & will win but this is the big hurdle we have to clear to make it reality.
Need L Ball at the coal face for sure to help out Hayes and I reckon Birss but that wont happen cause he obviously ran over Lyons cat.
watched the replay from round 16 and blake put heaps of pressure on them in the middle and was much more mobile and just ran forward....kicked 3 goals in about 5 mins.
a wildcard
-
- Club Player