Training Report 16 Sept/ Merged

PART ONE
I went for the first hour. Say about 500+ fans there..

BBQ going...so a burger and frothy while watching. No that is how I like training

Ball was doing the same training as the bulk of the group.

Laps , stretching then various skill work.

Overall session was not at full pace...but I did see Bally let a few long kicks go. So, so far so good.

He looked to be moving freely and was kicking ok. SEN reported that he was ginger at first..but he look ok to me as in general the whole group was just easing into things.

No extended testing of his hammy...but what do you expect at a public session with TV Cameras??? So a cavaet on him trainng. But better he is out there than not at all.

Real test will be on Friday...so most likely he will be selected....but who knows whether he will play....
Last edited by saintsRrising on Tue 16 Sep 2008 4:46pm, edited 4 times in total.

PART TWO
MG was out there and looked fine. Did not look hampered in any way, despite the retirement rumours.

At one stage was doing kicking at goal practice with Roo and Kosi.

X looked fine..was in main group.

Did not see Allen.

Most of the rookies seemed to be there.

As per when I was there a fortnight ago:

*Banger and Schneider did a lot of seperate work. mainly short repetition running. Howevera fortnight back Schneider had his calf strapped..no strapping this time

* King did a lot of lap work..often by himself.

* BJ started of seperately with the rookies doing a lot of handball drills. He later joined the main group. BJ left knee was heavilly strapped, but he moved ok.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Tue 16 Sep 2008 4:33pm, edited 2 times in total.

Thanks for the report....Bally is vital, need another clearance player.

Hawks are ranked 16th in the comp for contested posession, Bally is a master of it, must exploit them where we can.

PART THREE

Eljay was there and looking ok...but seemed to "feeling" his shoulder a bit.

Re: Training Report 16 Sept

saintsRrising wrote:PART ONE
That is FANTASTIC when compared to reports that the Dogs had about 150 fans watching them !!

Re: Training Report 16 Sept

saintsRrising wrote:PART ONE
That is FANTASTIC when compared to reports that the Dogs had about 150 fans watching them !!
When I went a fortnight ago we had about 150...this time it was about 3 times last time.

james rose

at about 1 o'clock they came out when a group of about 20 of us were there played some warm up games and seemed to be in good spirits...

I didn't see hayes at all but i did leave early

I was there from about 2 to 3 pm...

Otiman wrote:Well, there were a good few hundred people at training today, so we should get some good reports.

I had to leave early, but got there early too, and saw the first session (before 2pm).

Overall it wasn't a full on session, was mostly close (2-10m distance) skill work.

Ball - 90 to 95% in the drills they were doing, no sprint work. I reckon he'll play.

Hayes - Must have come out late, I didn't see him, but SEN report on the way back in the car said he was out there training.

Goddard - Went in to the rooms early, wasn't training with the main group. (Was in a group with Miles, McEvoy, Van Rheenen, Steven).

M. Gardiner - Was out there, hard to say if he trained well or not.

Gilbert - 1 on 1 kicking practice at 25-35m.

Harves, King, Schneider did laps while the rest did skills work. Harves got a cheer from the crowd on every lap :D

Not as vocal as it has been in the past, but the players looked very focused.

The following players were not there.

7, 8, 10, 24, 31, 36, 43, 46.

Bakes was out there for the initial session, but did not break from a walking stride.

[[Yep, deleted my other post.]]

Well, there were a good few hundred people at training today, so we should get some good reports.

I had to leave early, but got there early too, and saw the first session (before 2pm).

Overall it wasn't a full on session, was mostly close (2-10m distance) skill work.

Ball - 90 to 95% in the drills they were doing, no sprint work. I reckon he'll play.

Hayes - Must have come out late, I didn't see him, but SEN report on the way back in the car said he was out there training.

Goddard - Went in to the rooms early, wasn't training with the main group. (Was in a group with Miles, McEvoy, Van Rheenen, Steven).

M. Gardiner - Was out there, hard to say if he trained well or not.

Gilbert - 1 on 1 kicking practice at 25-35m.

Harves, King, Schneider did laps while the rest did skills work. Harves got a cheer from the crowd on every lap Very Happy

Not as vocal as it has been in the past, but the players looked very focused.

The following players were not there.

7, 8, 10, 24, 31, 36, 43, 46.

Bakes was out there for the initial session, but did not break from a walking stride.

i was there until it started raining.

what's the story with bj. is he under some sort of injury cloud?

saintsRrising wrote:PART TWO
MG was out there and looked fine. Did not look hampered in any way, despite the retirement rumours.

Did not see Allen.

*Banger and Schneider did a lot of seperate work. mainly short repetition running. Howevera fortnight back Schneider had his calf strapped..no strapping this time

* BJ started of seperately with the rookies doing a lot of handball drills. He later joined the main group. BJ left knee was heavilly strapped, but he moved ok.
Dont think you will see Allan for a long while as I have heard he may have a fractured hip socket.

bigcarl wrote:i was there until it started raining.

I would not be too worried. He started the same waya fornight ago (ie doing seperate ring hanball drills while the main group of players were doing what they were doing)

AlpineStars

Hayes didn't train, stayed til the end, I asked Athony Rock he said no problems just inside doing some weights taking it easy.

Gerig looked Awesome.

Wake me up when September ends.

saintsRrising wrote:PART TWO

Did not see Allen.

Dont think you will see Allan for a long while as I have heard he may have a fractured hip socket.
that's a shame for the young bloke.
Earnt an opportunity in a big fine and got struck down by misfortune.
He'll be a good player going forward, hope his recovery goes well.

SaintBot

The five I'm interested in are Ball, X.Clarke, Armitage, Eddy and Birss.

By your reports it sounds as though Ball is a probable.

Did the other four all train strongly with the main group?

Cheers for the reports srr and oitman.

SaintBot wrote:The five I'm interested in are Ball, X.Clarke, Armitage, Eddy and Birss.

By your reports it sounds as though Ball is a probable.

Did the other four all train strongly with the main group?

Cheers for the reports srr and oitman.
X, Armo, Eddy and Birss all trained.

But it was bulltish training as has been reported earlier....they were going at best at half pace....really dull actually.....not worth reading anything into it at all.

Yes.

bigcarl wrote:i was there until it started raining.

I would not be too worried. He started the same waya fornight ago (ie doing seperate ring hanball drills while the main group of players were doing what they were doing)
I think he, like a number of others, is on a modified training regime.

Most clubs these days have varying training programs for individual players due to a number of reasons.

Which is what we wanted and needed with new fitness programs

hence the less of the niggling injuries we always used to have as all players have a different body and need a different program

Batnoe wrote:Which is what we wanted and needed with new fitness programs

hence the less of the niggling injuries we always used to have as all players have a different body and need a different program
I think you find players have had different training programs for at least 5 years.

Also headed down there, until it started raining and I had to get my bubba out of the cold. Unsure why the fans were not allowed to take shelter in the stands, unless they are a safety hazard :shock:

We arrived early, and some players had hit the track before the official session. They seemed to be in good spirits, and there was a bit of friendly banter amongst the group.

I would also say about 400 fans there, and about 5 TV crews including Real Footy, Channel 10 and Fox Sports.

I will post some photo's later this arvo, all up I thought it was nice of the saints people to make a special effort to put on the BBQ and welcome the fans.

Go Saints :lol:

FullMonty

Thanks for the reports guy's.
Fingers crossed!

Montyrules!

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:Also headed down there, until it started raining and I had to get my bubba out of the cold. Unsure why the fans were not allowed to take shelter in the stands, unless they are a safety hazard
over several years they have been encouraged to NOT use the stands-

story today was that they are basicly condemmed and the cost of having them open with any resultant liability would be horrendous.

pity about the rain, with such a big crowd out.

and if anyone complains about the guys going in

WE DO NOT need them standing out in the freezing cold, in wet clothes Gaining colds and flus and aching joints - despite the dissapointment of not getting that signature or photo.
YES they may have to play in that weather BUT they then go into warm rooms and shower and are moving all the time- not standing around in wet clothes.

BJ, Lenny and Max didn't train.

Don't read too much into that.

Max rarely does much during the week.

Lenny would be having physio for his back spasms.

BJ probably just having a light day.

Ball looked good, but didn't do any bending down to pick the ball up.
He will probably be right by Saturday night.

Pity about the rain. No autographs.

Hope it doesn't rain on Saturday night, obviously allergic to water.