my favourite wins over everyone...

OneEyedSainter77

my favourite wins over everyone...

Adelaide - Gotta be the 2005 Qualifying Final. Were never supposed to win it yet somehow did. Magical stuff.

Brisbane Lions - Again, an obvious one. The game was scintillating from start to finish and WHAT a finish. The best thing Troy ever did for us!

Brisbane Bears - Not that there is much choice for me here, my favourite was the 9 goal floggin in the cold and wet at Waverly in 96. Loewe played a blinder and we tore them apart to keep our season well and truly alive.

Carlton - Well there have been many recently but my favourite was the unbelievable shellacking in 95. They lost two games all eyar and in this particular game they didn't have a goal at half time. They kicked three all day.

Collingwood - too young to remember the epic final or the Vic park win but the game in 97 was a ripper. We were last and they were top (although it was only round 3) It was a tussle all day and we previaled by seven points.

Essendon - the win in 94 when we kicked a ridiculously accurate score. Like 18.4 or something. Before I realised how crap St Kilda were I was impressed by this thinking that if we could beat Essendon (who had won the flag the year before ) then we must be good. :lol:

Fitzroy - A few stick in my mind but the only game I ever saw live with St Kilda and Fitzroy in the muck at Western Oval was my fave. The last game ever there (for Fitzroy). I rememeber having a kick with my mate (roys fan) on the ground and getting filthy. That was a top day all round.

Freo - Again, not much to pick. I'm goign for the one I intitally forgot about before Everton reminded me. It was a plucky and hard fought game at Subiaco and we'd been leading for most of the day but Freo were fighting back. Peter Everitt kicks an amazing goal to put the game beyond doubt and we eventually hold out in a ripper by 23 points.

geelong - Easily the Kardinia Park win in 99 when we came back from 40 points down at half time to win a ripper by ten points. Was good mates with barry Hall's brother at the time (being from Broadford) and he and I recounted the entire game in art class all day.

Hawthorn - The 27 point comeback at half time in 98. We were errant early and started on the backfoot. Then a magnificent third quarter saw us leading by 7 points before turning it into a 17 point win. Dunstall almost stole it. Was a terrific finish.

Melbourne - The 85 point belting in 97 which started an incredible turnaround. The finsih to that turnaround is pretty disappointing, but at the time I remember feeling a mixture of relief that we weren't last and of hope and possibility of what could happen. lol, of course there isn't much else to pick from...

North Melbourne - The Prelim win in 97. Was a terrific hard foought match. Contested footy at its finest. The 11 goal iwn at Waverley earlier in the year was good too.

Port - The big win in round 22 1997 to grab top spot. Ah the good old days.

Richmond - The comeback win in 98 when max Hudgton took out Richo (by accident I think) and we stormed home to win a great match in front of a packed crowd on Queen's birthday (also my birhtday)

Sydney - Round one this year....

lol, no seriously....

So many to pick from. but I have to go for the amazing last quarter comeback when Lockett helped us with eleven of his own and we got up by a point at the SCG.

West Coast - harves 350th is pretty hard to go past but a close sedon is the thrilling win in 97 (again)

Footscray/Bulldogs - The top of the table clash in round 14 1998. We won an epic by 14 points.

What are everyone else's favourite wins.... Don't have to name every team but feel free.

Funny, I just realised a majority of mine come from 96-99 which is pretty much when I became a really hardcore supporter.

EDIT - Changed the Freo game.
Last edited by OneEyedSainter77 on Thu 16 Oct 2008 5:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

Best against Swans, Plugger coming back from about ten weeks off kicked a lazy 15 at Moorabbin.

best against carlton the day plugger kicked 10 on SOS and kicked the winner with 42 seconds remaining. one of the greatest days at moorabbin.

Live games that I have been to -

1998, when we beat Sydney by 101 points, great fun
This year v Essendon, alway great to smash them
But seriously this years game v North at Carrara, to come from behind and that ground was rockin, what a night 8-)

Bernard Shakey wrote:Best against Swans, Plugger coming back from about ten weeks off kicked a lazy 15 at Moorabbin.
Was that the game when the Swans Banner read
Welcome back Rocket
Pleae stop Lockett.

in relation to Rod Carter (Tilt) was resuming after injury

Not including finals the best win I have ever seen was when we came from 47 points down against the Swans with only 10 minutes to go. Plugger kicked about 5 goals in that time, greig kicked 2 and the mighty Thornborrow kicked a goal. The most impossible win I have ever seen by any side.

It was also memoriable for the Caven incident and Plugger trying to kill the grey headed guy with one of his kicks at goal in the last quarter.

Live games Ive been at..

Adelaide: The 119 point smashing at Moorabbin in 1991. Plugger kicked 9 to half time after 6 weeks off and would have had 10 but the ump didnt let him play on after he took a mark. Hit the post from the resultant 2nd kick

Brisbane: Yup..Schwarters goal

Carlton: 1989 at Moorabbin. They reckon windows rattled in South Road when Plugger kicked that goal 8-)

Collingwood: SF this year. First time Id seen us been the Pies in a final live.

Essendon: Round 2 2004. Bombers spent the whole first qtr trying to start fights. we sucked it in, played the ball and Fraser and Roo were sublime..6 and 5 respectively as i recall.

Fitzroy: Round 5, 1985 at Waverly We'd lost 3 of the first 4 games by 100+ points. Plugger into the ruck in the last qtr snorting like a bull and we held on to beat them.

Footscray/Bulldogs: 1999 at Waverley. Tony Francis kicked the sealer in a thriller Tim Watson was the new Messiah

Geelong: Round 1 2004...they can grin now but at the time made Paul Chapman look like a dick.

Hawthorn. Waverly 1992. Shocking cold miserable day. We kept em goalless after halftime and Dunstall goalless all day.

Melbourne: Round 16/17(?) 2005. they tried to get physical in an epic first quarter. Dally snagged 4 in the first and we ended up beltig them

Richmond: Burkeys last game 2003

Sydney/South Melbourne: Stewies games record day. Played like crap for half a game then came out after 1/2 time and blitzed them.

West Coast. The 100 point belting at the Dome in 03.

Have only watched us play Port/Freo live a couple of times each and no game stands out to me

Superboot

Carlton The '95 game. They kicked their first goal at the 19 minute mark of the 3rd quarter. Last game of the season in '78 was good too. We needed to win to get into the finals and beat them by 6 goals. Unfortunately, we missed out becaue Geelong beat Fitzroy, but by that stage of the season we were close to the best team in the comp. And then there was game late in '91 when we hit form again after a slump. Plugger kicked about 12 and Dean Greig picked up about 40 kicks.

Collingwood 7 point finals win at Waverley in '92 was good. But the best was the 8-goal win at Moorabbin around '71 when Alan "Superboot" Davis kicked 10. '66 wasn't bad either!

Richmond '71 Preliminary Final

West Coast '03 at the Dome. I think we kicked 11 of the first 12 goals.
Last edited by Superboot on Thu 16 Oct 2008 9:30am, edited 1 time in total.

mine has got to be any interstate games ive been at and we win. i just love the feeling of winning away, and watching all the home supporters leave before the siren! :D
Harves 350th is at the top for me
i think it was 2006 rd 11 at the SCG a 2 point win! :D :D
freo this year at subi, amazing second half and loved every bit of it.
Gold Coast this year, shocking first qtr, but came back and got ahead in the 4th! :D
2006 rd 22 at the gabba, smashed the lions but was it worth it...because we ended up having to play the dees in the finals and then got smashed.
NAB cup 2008, my birthday was on game day, got to go over for the day and watch footy :D (seriously, how often do you get to watch your team win a grand final in March??? :lol: )
Both the Brisbane games in 03 and 04 where they were both a nail biting finish

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

Against the Pies at Victoria Park

I can't remember the year but it was the day that Nicky Winmar had a blinder, copped heaps of the Pies supporters and made that historic gesture. We won as well.

hard to go past 2004 when we beat west coast by 101 points we belted them with ease and if my memory is correct we flogged Carlton the week after by over 100 points ... they were good times

66 G.F
71 P.F
97 P.F
04 Q.F

st_Trav_ofWA wrote:hard to go past 2004 when we beat west coast by 101 points we belted them with ease and if my memory is correct we flogged Carlton the week after by over 100 points ... they were good times
That was a wonderful fortnight to be a Saints fan.

Smashed West Coast - by 101 points then hammered the Blues by 108 with Fev starting on G-Train at full back!

Those were the days!

saintdooley wrote:mine has got to be any interstate games ive been at and we win. i just love the feeling of winning away, and watching all the home supporters leave before the siren! :D
Gold Coast this year, shocking first qtr, but came back and got ahead in the 4th! :D
2006 rd 22 at the gabba, smashed the lions but was it worth it...because we ended up having to play the dees in the finals and then got smashed.
NAB cup 2008, my birthday was on game day, got to go over for the day and watch footy :D (seriously, how often do you get to watch your team win a grand final in March??? :lol: )
Ha ha, your Birthday must be near mine, we won night Premiership on my Birthday 2004.

Great effort OES77.

I nodded in agreement with nearly all of those, perhaps except for the Freo one.

I quite liked the day where we knocked them off at Subiaco with that magical goal from Everitt in 1996.

And also the win against Hawthorn in R22, 2001, was as special as they get. The best win we've had against them for sure.

This most recent win against Essendon was pretty good too, I might add :)

People seem to have overlooked our come from behind win against University in R9 1914 at the Junction.

A goal down at half time we had a thumping third quarter kicking 48 to their solitary point and went on to win by 34.
With the legendary TOTC Dave McNamara scoring his second bag of 7 goals in 5 weeks.

Saint Bev wrote:
saintdooley wrote:mine has got to be any interstate games ive been at and we win. i just love the feeling of winning away, and watching all the home supporters leave before the siren! :D
Ha ha, your Birthday must be near mine, we won night Premiership on my Birthday 2004.
lol, you must be the 6th? im the 8th

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."

1958. 1 point win over reigning premiers (3rd premiership in a row) Melbourne. We were bottom team (again). Terrific game from Paul Dodd. We were 11 points up at 3/4 time, but kicking against a 5 goal wind in the last quarter, but somehow we held them out. Terrific atmosphere at the Junction Oval.

Who has swiped my Avatar this time!!!!!!

66 flag
First moorabbin game,beat pies by 6 points to signal we were to become a powerhouse in the comp

OneEyedSainter77

evertonfc wrote:Great effort OES77.

I nodded in agreement with nearly all of those, perhaps except for the Freo one.

I quite liked the day where we knocked them off at Subiaco with that magical goal from Everitt in 1996.

And also the win against Hawthorn in R22, 2001, was as special as they get. The best win we've had against them for sure.

This most recent win against Essendon was pretty good too, I might add :)
I agree that those games were really good too. And well picked up on the Freo game.

The freo one WAS magical and I forgot about it. I couldn't for the life of me remember when we played them in 1996 and thought the Everitt goal one was the bulldogs so that is my favourite too now I remember it!

besides in all honesty, the one point win at Aurora s*** me to tears. I was so frustrated during most of that final quarter.

snoopygirl

2004 night premiership was on the 13th Dools. It was my birthday as well. :D

snoopygirl wrote:2004 night premiership was on the 13th Dools. It was my birthday as well. :D
60th :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: !!

crackers35

Fav Games

My Favourite games that i've been at
---------------------------------------------
2008 SF vs Collingwood- any win over Collingwodd is great but a final is awesome. Plus it was the first time we won a final that i went to!

2005 Rd 22 vs Brisbane- Just cos we won by a lot

2008 Rd 22 vs Essendon - Just the excitement of getting 4th spot was awesome

2004 Rd 6 vs Brisbane - Because of the closeness and the way it ended

2008 Rd 21 vs Adelaide - The Robert Harvey Tribute Match was awesome. i liked this more because it was a tribute to the great man!

2001 Rd 22 vs Hawthorn- cant remember much about it but i remember Barry Hall won the match after the siren

2008 Rd 16 vs Hawthorn- great comeback and a great rout over the Hawks

My Fav Matches I Watched On TV
--------------------------------------------
2005 QF vs Adelaide - Harv's performance was awesome and it was a real classic

2008 Rd 14 vs North Melbourne - Mainly cos it really turned our season around and it was the first time in ages that we had come from 5 goals down

2007 vs West Coast - This is my fav match of all time. Harv's 350th, We won against all odds and another heart stopper

Looking forward to 2010 - I'm gonna Lovett!