Tom Hislop

hotdish

Tom Hislop

Originally from Tassie, was just delisted by the bombers after only 2 seasons in the AFL. Plagued by injury and attitude problems, he played 7 games after being drafted at pick 20 in 2006.

I reckon we should have a good look at this kid and put him on the rookie list - he has real talent...

Yeah would be a handy pick-up maybe a late national draft pick?

why do we need someone with attitude problems for?

ralphysaints35 wrote:why do we need someone with attitude problems for?
Who said he has attitude problems?

A champion in the making. Must pick him up.

homework wrote:
Can you not read. :evil:

ralphysaints35 wrote:
homework wrote:
Why would i believe you?

homework wrote:
ralphysaints35 wrote:
homework wrote:
Why would i believe you?
check the OP...

Code: Select all

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Hislop
he cant be to good if he got delisted stkilda need to stop picking up discards from other clubs lets make our future, insted of getting old discarded crap

saintDal

homework wrote:
ralphysaints35 wrote:
homework wrote:
Why would i believe you?
Oh no. It's the perfect storm :?

ralphysaints35 wrote:
homework wrote:
ralphysaints35 wrote:
homework wrote:
Why would i believe you?
check the OP...

Code: Select all

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Hislop
he cant be to good if he got delisted stkilda need to stop picking up discards from other clubs lets make our future, insted of getting old discarded crap
Mate wikipedia isn't 100% real

hotdish

There isn't any real source to the claim he has attitude problems, but that is the speculation for why he got de-listed. Had a shoulder reco a while back, so has had limited opportunities.

Don't know much about him except for the fact that he goes hard at it, and was highly rated coming into the draft.

Was a former AIS-AFL Academy player: Tom Hislop Tas Medium inside midfielder who is a strong player at the contest. Can go forward and kick goals and has great awareness. From Burnie in Tasmania.

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/ ... ewsId=6877

Kevin Sheahan's analysis:

Tom Hislop - Tasmania, 185cm, 85kg, Burnie
Medium midfielder/forward, Hislop averaged 20 possessions and five marks in the championships. He also had the most tackles (24) in division two, highlighting his strong aggressive style. Champion Data player rankings had him score 478 points - one less than Vic Metro's Tom Hawkins

http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/N ... wsId=27713

plugger66 wrote:A champion in the making. Must pick him up.

There must be a very serious reason for his delisting. He's definitely got the ability to be a regular AFL player, but maybe injuries/attitude are holding him back.

Interview him and get him to a medical. If no big problems are found then he's definitely worth a shot on the rookie list.

BakesFan

saintDal wrote:
homework wrote:
ralphysaints35 wrote:
homework wrote:
Why would i believe you?
Oh no. It's the perfect storm :?
LMAO!!!! It's Larry and Curly...where's Mo?? "Why I Oughtta!! :evil: "

hahahahhhahhaha

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)

Maybe someone should run the names of all these discards past the new List Manager and that will show us where he's at......

He'll probably say this is StKilda,not hacksville......

the constant chat between homie and ralphy makes comedic gold

Very surprising that Hislop got the flick... he was very highly rated prior to the 06 draft.

He's definitely worth investigating anyway... especially as a rookie.

Saints Premiers 2008 wrote:the constant chat between homie and ralphy makes comedic gold
Yep...

I must admit I had a chuckle at this...
homework wrote:
ralphysaints35 wrote:
homework wrote:
Why would i believe you?
They are like two rivaling brothers lol

Beekay

They're a few stubbies short of a six pack those kids.

HAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

OMG, we have the winner for thread of the year!!

As for Hislop quite surprised he got the cut, showed a lot of potential but I don't know of any issues surrounding him, teams don't delist quality players for no reason, I'm sure the coaching staff will look into him and I am more than happy to back their judgement on this one...

Beekay wrote:They're a few stubbies short of a six pack those kids.
Comments like this really arent needed, people have feelings you know,

Armoooo wrote:HAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA

OMG, we have the winner for thread of the year!!

As for Hislop quite surprised he got the cut, showed a lot of potential but I don't know of any issues surrounding him, teams don't delist quality players for no reason, I'm sure the coaching staff will look into him and I am more than happy to back their judgement on this one...
matthew knights is an idiot that will not be there in a few years...

let him make incompetant calls now...watch him defend himself attempting to be a wordsmith, putting postive spin and energy into it

if for instance armitage was a few years older and we had ironed out his apparent 'attitude problems' i would be all for recruiting hislop if he fitted what we wanted and thought he could become in our environment

not because he has played 4 games and was highly touted in a draft one year

FortiusQuoFidelius

From today's Herald-Sun

ESSENDON'S hard-line stance on player discipline has claimed another victim, with talented youngster Tom Hislop delisted. Hislop, a tough utility taken with pick 20 in the 2006 national draft, was yesterday given his marching orders amid ongoing behaviour issues.

Essendon football manager Travis Auld admitted Hislop's discipline problems had been a factor in the club's decision to cut him loose.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/ ... 42,00.html

With all due respect I cant see why we would be intrested in a player plauged with injury and attitude problems AND deemed not good enough to hold a place on the list of a bottom 4 club.

I was expecting a mediocre thread about a delisted player but the handbags between ralphy and homework have made this thread a must read.

Seriously guys the posts are funny as hell

kickittokosi!!!!

Doubt we'll pick him up.

Whilst i completely support the club's position re: recruiting Ben Cousins and hope that his rehabilitation is a complete success.

I doubt the club would see 2009 as a opportune time to take the risk of bringing in a young man with attitude problems in hope of turning him around. Just my opinion.

Sure, someone will pick him up though... maybe Sydney.

go saints!