Training report 12/12

I posted some stuff on the rookie group on another thread.....this is a breakdown of training..

Hard running - Time trials.......followed by short drills and full ground....

training was very individualised....and specific...and the running groups appeared to be in ability grouplings....

Their seem to be as many coaches as players.....and a hell of a lot of voice, direction and leadership from the playing group....

King stated that the players should be "coaching each other" and be "hard on each other"

Most Vocal leaders...
King, McEvoy, Hayes, Riewoldt, Goddard (very harsh), Kosi, Goose, Milne, Eddy.

One general obsevation is that all player are very lean, and running seems to be the focus....I reckon most players have stripped KG's and opted for mobility....especially L.Fisher...players seem in good nick..

Best runners - 1000m trials (did perhaps 6)
1) L.Fisher 2) C.Begley 3)R.Eddy 4) F.Ray 5) J.Blake 6) S.Fisher 7) J.Geary 8)B.Goddard 9) S.Isles 10) L.Montagna/Hayes

Not participating in TT's
King, McEvoy, Baker, Riewoldt, Gardiner, Lynch (inside), Stanley, Conners, Dempster, Dal Santo

Not impressive enough
Gram, X, Ball, Raph, Armo, Schnieder, Howard, C.Jones

Individual work
Riewoldt/McEvoy - lead - mark - kick
Dal - Sprinting 40m
then
Those three did a running circuit of short sprints 5m + Ball handling
Then they did a series of 200's (probably 10-12)
Riewoldt was throwing up, and he looked in amazing condition

King and Gardy
althernating, one doing the tap...follwing up, handballing to a coach, getting it back....passing to a fwd (the othet one)....continuing to run fwd, and getting it back and kicking a goal

Dempster - Running laps (at good pace)

Baker and Maguire (no shirts, and looked like they had been in the gym all year)....were running a mountain of laps, at varying pace...both look very fit, and are building a running base..

Conners...looked proppy, running laps...as did Stanley.

Lynch trained inside, came out a couple of times

The rest trained as a big group (approx 30)
-Short skills (reasonable standard)
-Longer kicking (average standard)

Then they broke up.

Isles, Miles, X did some defensive work with SOS

The rookies went with another coach

Most into a full ground structured drill (stoppages, fwd set ups and back half run)

Goddard did not do this.....

Backs: Blake, Raph, Gilbo, Geary,

Mids...a sh*t load...the usuals + Ray, Armo, X, Schnieds, Jones, Gwilt, Mini

Gardner and King rucking

Fwds: Kosi, Milne, Heyne, S.Fisher, Eddy

Allen, Hudghton, Steven - NOT sighted

Other general obsevations
Heyne looks a good size and fitness for a first year out
Stanley and Blake are very long term
McEvoy looks like he is running better...but cannot walk
King and Gardner appear in good shape and work together continously.
The condition of Sam Fisher/Riewoldt/Goddard/Hayes.....awesome. They are clearly our best players
Kosi....running freely
Schnieder, Armo, Ball all seem too heavy...need to shed IMO.
Connors is too skinny
Players were working hard...and many stayed out after training to do more work....Hayes, Eddy, Kosi, Geary, Miles, Ray, McEvoy,
The rookies have a LONG way to go

Look for big improvements from...
Eddy, Ray, Geary, Miles, McEvoy, Raph, Gilbo, L.Fisher, McQualter....all look very motivated to improve from where I sat...

IF Eljay was running- even a little sounds like he was doing more than wed
and good to hear Gardi was out there- absent wed.

Whoa, Big M! Excellent work, and many thanks.

Probably too early to tell, but will Bug Mac get a run up fwd next year?

Not surprised with King... he was Capt after all. Good to see both rucks fit to go.

Once again, many, many thanks on a great report.

milney044

Cheers for the detail, appreciated.
I headed down on the Wednesday, good to hear that Matty was involved in some running, he was pretty static on the Wednesday. It was good to go down and try to put a few faces to the names, but I'm still not too familiar with the newbies- eh its December!
To me Eljay still doesn't look like a footballer, he's got a lot of work to do.
A few of the new kids looked to have solid bodies considering their age, but then again, they were standing next to Eljay :wink:
Riewoldt also really impressed me, just such a professional and looked super fit, he takes his football very seriously.
It will be a huge bonus if Maguire can get back on the park, a huge loss, and speaking of huge, he is!
I think Goddard is in for a big year, provided he is not interrupted by injury.

Thanks again for the report BM, sounds like its the usual standouts but perhaps a little more depth added to the midfield? Fingers crossed.

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

Instead of sponsoring a 4th player, I suggest we put the money towards buying Marto as a training watcher and coming up with daily reports.

Great work.

In depth, honest and detailed. Super stuff.

I was hoping Schneids would shed some kilos to be honest - I think it would lighten the load on his legs, making him less prone to hamstring tweaks and assisting with his explosive opening 5m.

Annoying to hear that Armo isn't cutting it up. I hope he just had a bad day, because he needs to realise that 2009 is his year to shine - because if he doesn't, 2010 could be his judgement day. He risks becoming the next McQualter. Hopefully he understands why Lyon wants him to play 18 games next year and how he can get there.

Ball - meh - he needs to work on being the next Greg Williams or Sam Mitchell. An inside superstar. That has to be his role. Forget the Ball of 2003-5. He could become immense as an 'extractor'.

On a more positive note, three of the first four TT players played no football for this club in the 2nd half of 2008 - L Fisher, Begley & Ray.

Hopefully it's a sign they want in for the first 22.

busso mick

A brilliant post - thanks for your time and effort. Lets hope big Mac can step up this year and add to our forward mix.

Cheers Everton.....but I can't take a sickie everday.....

and I enjoy doing it anyway......i find it interesting to see how motivated professional footballers are, vs their output....

Ball.....I believe it is a softly, softly approach to his running

Armo.....is just not a good distance runner, in lines (his agilty and sideways movement is OK) some people seem to run on top of the ground, and move very well (Riewoldt, Gram, Montagna, Raph etc....very effortless) for others it's a battle like Mini, Armo, 09Ball, Birss etc....

Armo reminds me a lot of Powell....hopefully he turns out as good. Both tough, slowish, good hands, aggressive but avg kicks......however both tend to kick some goals

"Stanley and Blake are very long term"

why do you say that blake is long term mate.....????

Niiice work BM..very comprehensive and some positive signs it seems

Interested on your comments on BJ. The couple of times Ive had the chance to seem him up close at practice matches he IS very intense. At the Challenge game v Collingwood at OO a couple of years ago he had a shocking first quarter and got dragged. He paced that boundary line like a fuming beast, giving Milney of the great all time sprays as he did for not chasing his man.

Marks himself verrrry hard does BJ I reckon :-)

Re: Training report 12/12

BigMart wrote:Fwds: Kosi, Milne, Heyne, S.Fisher, Eddy
interesting
Last edited by bigcarl on Fri 12 Dec 2008 5:29pm, edited 1 time in total.

Good work Mart.
You mentioned Gardi a couple of times. I've been critical of him in the past, only because of his inability to get on the park. Hasn't really played any serious senior footy for four years.
How was he moving, kicking, jumping?
Would be a big plus for us if Gardi can get over his issues with his legs and feet.

stinger wrote:"Stanley and Blake are very long term"

probably means McGrath I reckon

st.byron wrote:
stinger wrote:"Stanley and Blake are very long term"

probably means McGrath I reckon

:oops: :oops: :oops: ///yeah i twigged about half an hour ago..........silly me.....

Thanks for the AWSOME report Marto !!

It is posts like this that make Saintsational such a great place !!

Eastern wrote:Thanks for the AWSOME report Marto !!

yep....st marto is almost my favorite poster...... :wink: 8-)

Well !!

Come clean. Who's your fav? :roll: :wink: !!

Great report BM.

Connors...how proppy?

Well !!

you mate...of course..... :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol:

I am actually sainteronline and JB's favourite.....I am expecting the xmas card anyday now :wink: :lol:

Cheers for the kind words, but it was NO trouble heading down to Moorabbin on my day off :wink: and watching the boys run around.....I was looking forward to it, and now that I will be washed out this weekend, it will be the highpoint of the weekend (oh, and of course spending valuable time with the wife and kids :wink: )....

I really wanted to watch Tom Lynch....

I have watched the early training sessions of
Riewoldt and Kosi
The class of 01 (Ball, X, Dal, Goose, Joey)
Goddard
Raphael
Mini
Gilbo
Armitage
Macca
and did not get to see young Lynch have a kick....so I will have to return next week.

Who was I the most excited about after seeing them the first time???
Goddard

Well !!

you mate...of course..... :wink: :wink: :lol: :lol:
I now need a hat that is 4 sizes LARGER :wink: :lol: :wink: :lol: !!

:wink: :lol:

BigMart wrote:I

Cheers for the kind words, but it was NO trouble heading down to Moorabbin on my day off :wink: and watching the boys run around.....I
>>>>>>>>>>>>
Who was I the most excited about after seeing them the first time???
Goddard
were you aware there was a session or just pot luck?
Lynch trained with the main group on Wed where as BJ trained with Matty

many sessions before they head North-?
I assume they are going up Mon or tues because they ahve a very early session Wednesday.

Thanks for the great training report BigMart

Is Gaetner no longer training down there, I thought they may have rookied him :shock:

Your servants shall hold her stones dear, and have pity on her dust :shock:

Great report..thanks BM.

Very interesting on Leigh Fisher...and backs up his winning of the time trial earlier.

It is very pleasing that he is trying to re-invent himself for his career seemed to have stagnated....and others are pusing strongly for his position.

On BJ....one just gets the feeling that we are about to see the best of BJ...and that is going to very VERY good.

SAINT JUMP

were you their st mart. 3 time trails, not 6 cj and a couple of others you said not good enough, ran well. heard them talking geary won overall, eddy second jones 4th,so i dont know were you get your info from. or do you only look at certain players that you like.