BJ's spray

BJ's spray

Anyone see the massive spray BJ gave Grammy after he turned the ball over with that silly lil kick in the 3rd quarter?

I reckon BJ was letting a bit of frustration go too as he was being hard tagged and struggling to make an impact. We all know how hard the guy marks himself, prolly only behind to Roo and Max

Good passion or un-needed break of discipline?

I reckon that's just BJ's style, whether we're winning, losing, drawing, and whether he's winning, losing or drawing.

If he sees it, he calls it.

rexy

part of his onfield role as a senior player and leader, as long as its not personal then I have no issue, IMO we need a couple of guys to start doing the same. Good teams demand good decisions and execution.

Maybe this year?
aquariusJ30

well i loved it. i love how passionate goddard is; plus i sometimes feel like screaming at gram too

I saw a little bit of it, If it was nick i would not of been happy, was no where as bad as maxy last year

The Saintsational Man

If a teammate fu*ks up, you let them know about it.

Simple.

It was a stupid mistake and if we wana win a premiership, that stuff needs to be done.

Justified...it was a piss poor effort. I'm sure Grammy didn't take it to heart, half the team has been sprayed by BJ by now - plus he followed up nicely with a couple good kicks, a ton of hard efforts and some nice tackles.

rexy

aquariusJ30 wrote:well i loved it. i love how passionate goddard is; plus i sometimes feel like screaming at gram too
I do, my wife hates it. It wakes up the kids. Frustrates me with the difference between his best and his worst in the effort, execution and decision making parts of the game.

Maybe this year?

Its just the way BJ goes about his footy!!

Would have given himself the same spray 5 minutes later when he turned the ball over resulting in a goal, and I reckon Grammy will point it out a few times during the match review.

Gram improved his input after the spray.

I thought Gardi was close to having a dig at one point, it was just an intense game I think

I was happy to see it. Its just to snap him out of just cruising along, like a brain lapse. intensity is very important in a game like that.

Re: BJ's spray

saint66au wrote:Anyone see the massive spray BJ gave Grammy after he turned the ball over with that silly lil kick in the 3rd quarter?

I reckon BJ was letting a bit of frustration go too as he was being hard tagged and struggling to make an impact. We all know how hard the guy marks himself, prolly only behind to Roo and Max

Good passion or un-needed break of discipline?
And Gram deserved every word of it!

TriColourDisciple

I'm going to go against the grain here and voice my disapproval of BJ's 'for all to see' spray on Grammy.
To me, to see players turn on each other like that isn't good & it not only appears unproffessional but, as though the team is in panic mode and are starting to turn on one another as a result.
I love it when l see other teams do this as l think that we've unsettled them & therefore are in with a chance.
Granted, Grams was a terrible turnover, but he needed to told about it in a more discreet manner. There was no need for BJ to public display.

Proudly Brainwashed since 1972
claystreet

BJ is in the leadership group and its his duty of care to give a knackabag performance like Grams a HUGE spray. Gram needs to think more about his footy than how he looks on the big screen replays. Is the hair right ?

Dont get me wrong the guy can play and is a bewt kick of the footy, but i havent seen a game in while where i rate him

8-)

Deserves a spray,reckon his disposals in both games has been terrible.Cant afford that ,so his spot in the side is going to come under question,if it keeps up IMO

I like BJs passion but I don't think such an open criticism is a good look.

Speaking of sprays, I only half caught it, but it looked like Bakes came up with a big spray from deep within his stomach :D

I think it's fine.

BJ was frustrated that for about the 5th time in a row we had failed to clear the defence as a result of a very lazy kick.

Gram is better then that, and for the rest of the night he was better then that.
He needed a rocket for that very slack pass.

I think it was very professional & deserved. Delivered by a professional to another professional, a reminder that they need to remain switched on at all times, especially in that part of the ground where there's no 2nd chance. Not personal, just the way it was...would be disappointed if he hadn't been told it was a lazy effort (one step kick)...Gram would acknowledge he was deserved of it.

markinUSA

Yeah, I don't like it.
If someone publicly yelled at me like that, I'd have hurt feelings.
Maybe I'm too sensitive, but that's just me.

I guess it depends on how close they are, as mates.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

Don't mind it if a player is being lazy,selfish,shirking an issue...but not for skill errors.
I'm sure Gram didn't intend it and would be dissapointed with his excecution...maybe a more constructive approach for skill errors and not going off your head is needed. It can create a panick mode,we don't need our players panicing about there own skills...they need to keep up an element of risk ,going into your shell in panic mode is a recipe for disaster
Last edited by jonesy on Sat 04 Apr 2009 12:08pm, edited 1 time in total.

god people change...a year ago and before he was being lambasted for doing so...

but oh wait...

jonesy wrote:Don't mind it if a player is being lazy,selfish,shirking an issue...but not for skill errors.
I'm sure Gram didn't intend it and would be dissapointed with his excecution...maybe a more constructive approach for skill errors and not going off your head is needed. It can create a panick mode,we don't need our players panicking about there own skills...they need to keep up an element of risk ,going into your shell in panick mode is a recipe for disaster
Yes, I think you are right. It's like yelling at a teammate for missing a goal. I don't like to see it at all, not least of all because if you are having a go at a teammate then your opponent is wandering free somewhere else. It's all about 100% concentration. I might say that my other pet hate, and Brendon is a culprit here too (amongst others), is players stopping with the ball and pointing to teammates up field to run to a position. Do they think that the other team is blind? The only result of this is to slow down the game so much that all free players up field are covered resulting in a kick to contest. The pointing player then looks disappointed at his teammates whereas he was the problem for not moving the ball more quickly.

The best thing goddard could of done, is go up to him and give him a pat on the back and say, next time mate etc

Gee, looks like most of the posters in this thread have never played team sports, nor worked in any sort of team environment.

Lets make this clear and simple.

You never, ever, ever mouth off at your teammates like that in front of the opposition. Ever. Period.

Gee there are some dickheads on this forum actually saying they liked it. How pathetic can you get.