Never again shall I hear these words...CJ...

CJ great effort but no skills
two precision passes early in the first quarter which resulted in goals
not bad while tagging Kerr
Last edited by sunsaint on Sat 11 Apr 2009 6:04pm, edited 1 time in total.

you shall hear them again and probably within this match

Want to change your post now?

markinUSA

Clint played magnificently. I was really proud of him.

He really put in, shut down a great player.
Tackled hard, ran all day... made a real presence.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.
VietNam_Saint

I a a bit of a fan of CJ's , reckon a lot of criticism towards him is unwarranted.

Good hard tackling tagging type ,,

Laid no less than 14 tackles today

Played very well.

What will be next from this club ?

Clint had a great game........you will hear that critisism again, most likely warranted...

Played a very good game but he still lacks polish. But, if he can keep on doing what he did today he'll be a very good player.

polish?
who cares about the Mr Sheen when he racks up as many if not more disposals as the bloke he's playing on, which happened to be Kerr.
seriously if peeps bag this bloke they have NO idea about footy....l
chases
tackles
sheppards
1%ers

Was never a big fan (not a critic either) - always thought he was a try hard that tried hard enough to just earn a spot. But an excellent game today, and a very promising start to the year!

That's a stupid post......he played a VG game today, has had a good start to 09.....but he is the same as everyone else......not exempt from critisism....

Have YOU bagged Dal Santo before????

Many have....many.....He was All Australian in 2005....third in the Brownlow....Best in Finals.....yet he was a whipping boy last season....this is a guy who finished top 5 in the B&F 4 times....

Jones is only as good as his last game....which means he is very good.....but he is 1 game away from being under the microscope again.....although he now has a few credits in the bank....

BTW - Kerr had 27 touches today (18 contested), CJ had 25 (9 contested)
I thought CJ did him....but Kerr was not poor

Like last week when he picked up McLeod in the last quarter, playing on Kerr meant he was led to the ball. He then showed the real improvement in his game, surer handling and quick disposal. His hand passing is good and his foot skill - the Harvey (aka as a short pass) - has also improved. Generally, his fitness level and strength are up on last year, a characteristic of the team in general. He is an example of a real improvement in a player, no doubt through hard work, from one year to the next. So far, so good.

SaintDebi

Great game by Jonesy. Even when his games haven't been perfect, one thing he always is, is gutsy.

CJ is a star, the first time i ever saw him kick the footy down at training well before his first game i was his no.1 fan!
2013 Brownlow = Clinton Jones

"Another storied win in Robert Harvey's career. They say he is the embodiment of their motto of strength through loyalty, and on the day he became just the tenth man to play 350 league games the saints reward him with a seemingly impossible victory."
bungiton

CJ had an awesome game today, in my opinion he smashed Kerr. Was amazing how every time Kerr got the ball he was instantly smashed, mind you Jones' teammates helped him out heaps.

I'm sorry, you've gone through all the trouble to find out what this actually says and it really is quite insignificant.

Great game, but disposal still hopeless. Has kicked with his right foot once since he left WA. Ran into an open goal and because he doesn't have a right foot missed a goal that in a close game could have cost us big time.

Not in our best 22.

Loyal

he would smash you bernard.

Loyal wrote:he would smash you bernard.
What on earth is that supposed to mean Loyal (Loyal to what? Your ego?).

Relax, just some youthful emotion Bernard....I think it's great we have some young saints supporters hanging around here.

Loyal

Bernard Shakey wrote:Great game, but disposal still hopeless. Has kicked with his right foot once since he left WA. Ran into an open goal and because he doesn't have a right foot missed a goal that in a close game could have cost us big time.

Not in our best 22.
what's what supposed to mean Bernard?
he is a left-footer (and a fine one) why would he need to kick with his right?
his disposal is fine.
his tackling is superb.
his run is sublime.
why bag the guy?

what's your point bernard?
he's fine.

and here i was thinking kerr needed a hard tag from goddard.
CJ smashed kerr and he would smash you to bernard.

you make no bloody sense bernard.

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:Relax, just some youthful emotion Bernard....I think it's great we have some young saints supporters hanging around here.
I'm quite relaxed, owhenthesaints.
I just worry about posters suggesting that other posters should or would be "smashed".

If the poster is a youngster, as you suggest, better they learn about the big wide world sooner rather than later.

By the way, great game from Kosi.

Huzzad

Bernard Shakey wrote:Great game, but disposal still hopeless. Has kicked with his right foot once since he left WA. Ran into an open goal and because he doesn't have a right foot missed a goal that in a close game could have cost us big time.

Not in our best 22.
Thank christ you're not coaching St Kilda mate.

ohwhenthesaints! wrote:Relax, just some youthful emotion Bernard....I think it's great we have some young saints supporters hanging around here.
I just worry about posters suggesting that other posters should or would be "smashed".

If the poster is a youngster, as you suggest, better they learn about the big wide world sooner rather than later.

Yes wasn't it 8-)

Loyal

i've been around the world long enough to know that you have no idea what you are talking about bernard and that much is pertainently clear.

I promise to ignore all your future posts Loyal, please do me the same favour.

BigMart wrote: BTW - Kerr had 27 touches today (18 contested), CJ had 25 (9 contested)
I thought CJ did him....but Kerr was not poor
You're right CJ did do him...like a dinner!

Those 27 possessions, the majority under pressure and from what I saw fairly ineffectual, which was perfect for us because Kerr can be a ridculously damaging player. I would bet CJ's 25 possessions hurt the Eagles alot more than Kerr's 27.

Probably even more telling when Ball and Hayes had relatively quiet possession games by their standards.

Hopefully this is a turning point for CJ's career and the way he's perceived on this forum. I for one am changing my perception of him.