INS: X.Clarke, Mc Evoy

jimmy_slats

who ever gets droped will struggle to get a game at sandy. they are something else at the moment and not just the saints players, was blown away at how they destroyed franky in the last.. how good is it to have so many options??

'WALK THIS WAY!!!!!'
Pwoit

saintly_safes wrote:Port are a fast clever outfit & will probably have both Burgoynes back .
Peter Burgoyne still has one match suspension to serve

[quote="saintly_safes"]Port are a fast clever outfit & will probably have both Burgoynes back .
[/quote]

Should that spelling be "Bye Gones".

saint08

X does not have the match fitness yet to play our style of play.
i would have thought we cant play mcevoy in the same team as king and gardiner. be interesting to see what they do. i would like to see a forward brought in.

mightysainters

i'll agree wit hthe assessment of gram was deplorable, selfish and missed every target... he was definately our worst tonight...

Legendary wrote:
Jesus.

That's why Ross Lyon sits in the coaches box and you sit on your couch.

Correct...Grammys finishing was the only thing that let down an otherwise excellent game

Head over the footy at all times, hard at it and set up a couple of goals with selfless play

If his disposal had matched the rest of his game he'd have been close to BOG

What are these people smoking?

His run is sensational, we need guys like that.

Just because he is an outside player and makes some mistakes you have a vendetta against him!
some ridiculous canning of Gram here Can't believe the Footy IQ of a few posters ...definitly room temperature

Just watched the replay for a second time and I'm with you 66 The only cricism of his game tonight would be in the disposal department where he looked like he'd slipped back a bit, but if he had a crook foot you'd have to cut him some slack
His run and team play now from up on a wing could not be replaced by dropping him ...bloody ridiculous!

Ok he probably can be rated in the last half dozen last night , but the entire 22 contributed very well indeed , so that type of statement has to be taken within that context....and the fact that we are having this great overall consistancy throughout the 22 is whats got us sitting on top with a % of 200+

for mine its Big Mac in for Kozi to keep the balance and successful and very dangerous setup within our forward line no question and no X!

Gram..a few points

* Gram..played his best game for the season...so improved...and is improving.

* We need pace and run in our midfield.

* The way we structure up with our "rolling zone" being oriented in our bacline it is vital that we have players with the pace to switch back there when the Saints lose control of the ball.

Conclusion
No way will Gram be dropped.

PA Game.

Ok Kosi will not play.

Conditions: Will be Friday night outside and such games are often slippery over there.

Therefore we may not necessarily go like for like....and an extra small may be preferred.
If so this will most likely be X.

Other Options

Goose is not quite ripe, but is looking ok. Therefore if a big body is preferred Goose may be the man. This would mean rotating Zac, Gilbert, BJ all through the forward line.

Like for like. McEvoy rucking still leaves a lot to be desired but he has been moving and marking very well. This option does have the advantage that you gets to have another look at McEvoy at AFL level...and this may be handy to know if someone breaks down come finals time. However the downside is that Ports run and pace out of their backline has caused us troubles in the past.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 19 Apr 2009 4:40pm, edited 1 time in total.

Someone must come in for Koschitzke - a marking target who can at least bring the ball to ground for a smaller forwards.

Hudghton and Raph Clarke may be ready to play but given their past frailties I would be giving them an extra weeks rest.
If their bodies must be put at risk I would not want that to be at the risk of going one down on the interchange bench for the match.
Losing Koschitzke early this week did not hurt the interchange too much because Fremantle were so pathetic.

But that means that if retained, Gwilt will have to play a blinder as he would be the logically player for either to replace the following week.

Just why do some posters suggest that X should be the next player to replace a current player??

Surely Robert Eddy is in front of X

St Fidelius wrote:Just why do some posters suggest that X should be the next player to replace a current player??

X has good form at aami stadium...eddy is slow, dont need those types against port.

saintly_safes

St Fidelius wrote:Just why do some posters suggest that X should be the next player to replace a current player??

I like Eddy's courage & work ethic but needs to improve his disposal to become a contender imo

jimmy_slats wrote:who ever gets droped will struggle to get a game at sandy. they are something else at the moment and not just the saints players, was blown away at how they destroyed franky in the last.. how good is it to have so many options??
Two "p"s in "dropped".

One "p" in "crap". :roll:

saintsRrising wrote:Gram..a few points

* Gram..played his best game for the season...so improved...and is improving.

* We need pace and run in our midfield.

Conclusion
No way will Gram be dropped.
what he said.

saint08

HarveysDeciple wrote:

X has good form at aami stadium...eddy is slow, dont need those types against port.
Actually, in time trials pre season, eddy is in the top 3 quickest at the club.

saintsRrising wrote:Goose is not quite ripe, but is looking ok. Therefore if a big body is preferred Goose may be the man. This would mean rotating Zac, Gilbert, BJ all through the forward line.
or play goose at chf to give us the strong, physical, aerial presence of kosi.

sort of a straight swap.

our willingness to kick to a contest this season has provided many opportunities for the crumbers and has led to quicker and more dangerous entries forward.

that would be my attempt at maintaining the structure that has been good for us so far, but as you say, conditions might be a factor.

there's more than one way to skin a cat and we are blessed with many structural options. if performance this season is any indication, we're in capable hands as far as getting it right.

bj will always be in the coach's mind as a possibility to go to ff if what we are doing isn't working and gilbert is another one who can probably slot in there.
Last edited by bigcarl on Sun 19 Apr 2009 3:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

The only way McEvoy will get a game if he rucks with king and gardiner is played up forward

markinUSA

Edit: I've moved this post to the discussion of Gram's kicking. I hadn't seen that before. Sorry.

"Don't give up, never give up" - Robert Harvey.

goodie wrote:I'd spell Schneider before Gram, for mine he's looked the flattest (not bad, but not near his best) for a couple of weeks now, could use a run in the magoos.

Don't see either playing with Sandy any time soon though
Yep, Schneider has had four nothing games so far this season: near bottom of the list in terms of disposals, bugger all goals. I'm still waiting to see him do something to convince me that he is as good as lots of posters on here seem to think he is. I reckon that the people running the Swans know what they are doing, and they were prepared to throw him in with Dempster (who really seemed to be quite a good player) for a second round draft pick. Nuff said.

If we are going to bring X into the team for anybody right now, Schneider is surely top of the list, with Gwilt second. Gram is probably around 5th below Geary and McQualter as well.

meher baba wrote:
goodie wrote:I'd spell Schneider before Gram,
You should be on Spelling-Bee.
That "chn" bit and the "e before the i" always gets me !

saintjake

fingers wrote:No.

OUt Kosi. In X

Gwilt forward
why not play x foward?
and i think bring goose in, goddard foward.
sam fisher can also go foward.

load the forward line

either:
mcevoy and play all three rotating ruck forward
or
bring in x and let him roam the offensive side of the 50.

dunno
im very interested to see what Lyon does here actually, he mentioned that when Kozi went down it messes with the structure and flow quite a bit (hence the second qtr drop off)...
i look forward to this weeks team sheet....against the power, port power...i hate port power
HATE :twisted:

busso mick

We definitely need another tall as Port have Lade and Brogan, which are covered by Gardi and King. I think this is exactly the sort of game to play McEvoy for the big game experience and also to pinch hit against two rated ruckman.

sainters man

Legendary wrote:Jesus.

That's why Ross Lyon sits in the coaches box and you sit on your couch.
haha thats good!! :D

sainters man

We could bring mcEvoy in and play gardi and riewoldt deep in the forward line? or play mcEvoy up forward

or

bring x or eddy in and put gwilt forward?? opinions?