this monday night thing stinks

Sitting at my desk Monday lunch time it truly feels that round 7 has finished and we had the bye.........

and tonight is the first game in round 8!!

I hope the players don't feel as flat as I do on a Monday

fqf

bungiton

Yeah all the other clubs are getting over the respective semi/ licking wounds from the weekend, whilst we sit in antici..........................pation.

Want to see the Zac rip pebbles a new one, want to see Roo and Kosi go goal for goal and get 8 each and see CJ wear Thomas like the little skirt he is. Sadly we have to wait till 1030pm your time to watch it all unfold.

So yeah monday night footy sux!!

I'm sorry, you've gone through all the trouble to find out what this actually says and it really is quite insignificant.

Yep, it doesn't do much for me.

It's a longstanding thing in the NFL in the States.

The NRL have toyed with it off and on for years, and are doing it again ATM, but - of course - they don't tend to get very large crowds.

I guess it won't matter so much in the AFL if it is used for clubs like the Gold Coast, Swans, Roos, Western Sydney and other clubs that have a lot of trouble attracting a full house.

But it seems a waste to schedule a Monday night game involving a crowd-pulling team like the Pies. But, if there are fewer fans there tonight, it will probably be a benefit to us!!

Sainterman

I am not a fan either, seems like the round is over...hope we don't come out flat. Need that anywhere, any time philosophy tonight.

I think the AFL are obviously looking for ideas on what works once there are a couple more teams in the comp, personally I think Thursday is better than Monday if there is a need to stretch things one day longer to accomodate this.

Either way, Go Sainters tonight!

Re: this monday night thing stinks

terry smith rules wrote:Sitting at my desk Monday lunch time it truly feels that round 7 has finished and we had the bye.........

and tonight is the first game in round 8!!

I hope the players don't feel as flat as I do on a Monday

fqf

Yeh, I like it cos i usually hate mondays.....But this post just got me thinking about the players.....Definitely a big change to routine....Maybe the real effects will be felt next week.

Come on people, our boys are going to put on a good show tonight...let all other supporters tune in and watch just what a force to be reckoned with the Saints are for 2009....I am postive the ratings and crowd will be better than some anticipated.

dsreg1

I blame the AFL for my lack of production at work today.

The weekend isn't over until the footy finishes.

bigmicka

Hate the Monday night too. Instead of work, all i am doing is sitting here worrying about the Saints. F-You AFL. NO Monday nights.

Then they screw us over both ways.

If you go to the game, good luck getting home before 11pm.

If you watch the game, good luck getting to bed before 11:30pm

Instead i am taking back control. I will tape the game on TV. Listen to the game on the radio and go to bed at my normal hour.

mic

No one ever built a statue for a critic.
Pwoit

At least you will be able to watch it - I'm about to go to work now and wont finish until midnight. So I'll have to rely on a radio to get my fix somehow.

StNoodles

I quite like the anticipation of heading to a game on a Monday... Not sure if it's the novelty factor, but I have nothing against the concept.

saintsrus

the worse part for me is all the bombers supporters here are discussing playing us, this monday thing is crap

Before Im 85

Re: this monday night thing stinks

Spinner wrote: Yeh, I like it cos i usually hate mondays.....But this post just got me thinking about the players.....Definitely a big change to routine....Maybe the real effects will be felt next week.
it has made monday a lot more exciting.

i anticipate freo will get a lot of mundy night games.

We have visitors, so its feels like a long weekend for me.

golden hawk

i will never go to a monday game unless it is a public holiday !

your friendly neighbourhood hawk

Now my body is telling me tomorrow is the weekend.
But I have to go to work.
:? :?

footy is good to keep accesible for kids.

A Monday night game mid work week is shyte - built for TV and America.

If we can win and put on performances like that on the main stage, I will be happy with Mondays anytime 8-)

Nattens

Monday night sucks. My sister and old man won't get back home in Geelong until 1:30am and he has to drive to Melbourne at 6:30 tommorrow for work and she has to go to VCE.

Make the new game on Saturday afternoon, like the good old days. 3 matches on Sat arvo. One for Fox, one for seven, one for ten.

Beej

Speaking for myself, I absolutely loved it. However I do live a short 10 minute tram ride from Etihad.

Cannot wait until we're involved in another Monday night fixture. Cannot wait for the next Monday night game regardless of who's involved.

Interested to see the tv ratings; I will be surprised if it wasn't a roaring success.

Yeah, there sure was a stink on the 96 tram from St Kilda Beach.
The usual horde of St Kilda fans was missing.
The few Saints fans were out numbered by Collingwood supporters.
The stink wasn't so bad on the ride home though, many of the Colliwhinger supporters had gone home earlier.

They claimed a crowd of over 46,000 but when I made my assessment of the crowd size with 10 minutes to go there would have been less than 30,000.
Level 1 had more empty seats than fulll ones. :D :D :D

SideshowMilne

Out of interest (and as channel 7 hijacked my evening till beyond 11pm) what time did the actual game finish?

game finished around 10

the ground was certainly fuller before half time-- one radio station said they had an sms saying there was a crowd of black and white on the bridge heading north at about that time :()
Last edited by saintbrat on Tue 12 May 2009 6:01pm, edited 1 time in total.

SideshowMilne wrote:Out of interest (and as channel 7 hijacked my evening till beyond 11pm) what time did the actual game finish?
I think it was around 9.55. Got home around 11 in time for the replay. I actually think Monday is great if you win as you get in the papers on Monday morning and have them to yourselves on Tuesday. Not so sure the pies reckon it would be to good though.
Last edited by plugger66 on Tue 12 May 2009 5:37pm, edited 1 time in total.

SaintDebi

Nattens wrote:Monday night sucks. My sister and old man won't get back home in Geelong until 1:30am and he has to drive to Melbourne at 6:30 tommorrow for work and she has to go to VCE.

Make the new game on Saturday afternoon, like the good old days. 3 matches on Sat arvo. One for Fox, one for seven, one for ten.
I hate the whole monday night thing too, Nattens. How were your sister and dad getting home? We drive to all the games so don't know how late the trains get in, but we have never gotten home from a game so late and we do go to most of the night games. Even after a 7.40 game we are in well before midnight. Anyway, at least thier trip was worth it. Hope they enjoyed the game.

bethb7

didn't mind it when I was there, but when I got home at 12 and had to get up at 6:30 the idea wasn't as appealing to me anymore.

If you can't give the commitment you gave this year and you don't want to improve, you can go because we have unfinished business-Ross Lyon