trivia questions: 1991

guess who played in the jumper No 60 in 1991

and who kicked the goal in 3rd quarter

why was the finals system so unfair :(

anyone else watch the Footy Flashbacks from Sunday
Last edited by saintbrat on Tue 07 Jul 2009 6:33pm, edited 1 time in total.

David Grant.

plugger66 wrote:David Grant.
not the game I am watching

Robert Mace.

Nothing to do with the question, but didn't Dermot McNicoll wear #60 in his brief sojourn with us?

Robert Mace.
No
so in light of your suggestions - Did players change numbers during years?
or only at end of. or during pre season,.

I taped it and it was Nicky Winmar. I'd almost forgotten how good he was. Can't remember what happened to his no 7.
And the system was so unfair because the elimination finals featured 3rd against 4th and 5th against 6th. So a team that finished lower than us got to play the next week as a reward for beating another team below us.

Re: trivia questions: 1991

saintbrat wrote: anyone else watch the Footy Flashbacks from Sunday
no, i wish i had. lockett was awesome that day. 9.5 in a losing side.

yes it was Nicky.
Gilbert McAdam was playing first game in a final
Danny Frawley defeated Ablett 1 then took on Billy B - who kicked 8?

19 was no well known player manager.

they prefaced the game highlights with Interviews with Harves and Barry Stoneham -

saintbrat wrote:yes it was Nicky.
Gilbert McAdam was playing first game in a final
Danny Frawley defeated Ablett 1 then took on Billy B - who kicked 8?

19 was no well known player manager.

they prefaced the game highlights with Interviews with Harves and Barry Stoneham -
Ricky Nixon kicked the goal after Plugger flicked the footy towards the goalsquare from the pocket.

hey!!
i reckon i watched this b4 the geelong game

matrixcutter wrote:hey!!
i reckon i watched this b4 the geelong game
you did 8-)
I always put the tape on for plenty before and after games so I don't miss,.

Muir_32

was that the year the final 6 had the loser of 3 v 4 and loser of 5 v 6 eliminated?

Was it really Gilbert McAdams first game? I wouldnt have thought so... I know he kicked our first goal in finals footy in 18 years..and wasnt there a roar???lol

Sainterman

saint66au wrote:Was it really Gilbert McAdams first game? I wouldnt have thought so... I know he kicked our first goal in finals footy in 18 years..and wasnt there a roar???lol
Wasn't Gilberts first game...but he did kick that running goal to get things started. And yes, that roar was amazing. Was a great match that one, and we were very unlucky to be gone after that loss. I still think we could have done some damage later in the finals had we have continued.

f*** me the big man was a good kick huh.
in front, hands like glue pots
and just dead eye

In fact, it was Gilbert's first season but he played all bar two of the games that year, so it was his 23rd (24 H&A games in 1991).

It is a game that will live in the pages of infamy, when that hack G Ablett (who got 5 kicks) KO'd Nathan Burke in a gutless act and with David Grant also whacked and out, we ran out of legs. These were days when there were just two reserves. By the way, Tony Lockett's kicked 9 goals 5 behinds, was the greatest display of full forward work in a final that I have ever seen.

one of the highlights shown was Stewie Kicking one from over 50 mt out- with the commentators saying Lockett's calling for it- and doubting he could make it- He did.

Was one of the classics.

We always had dreams at where the great man would take us,and for 3/4 quarters..especially the second our dreams were coming true. He just annihalated Geelong in the second.The snap for his 5th must of almost set off an earthquake through the south eastern suburbs we went that spastic. We'll never see another Lockett :(

AlpineStars

Is it just me or did Geelong have a good run with the umps that day as well? thats just what came into my head remembering the game.

Wake me up when September ends.

AlpineStars wrote:Is it just me or did Geelong have a good run with the umps that day as well? thats just what came into my head remembering the game.
Yep,first half we got utterly crucified ....and suprise suprise I think it was Peter Cameron for memory. I remember a bloke behind us was going to jump the fence and give them a bake but his mates held him back.....those were the days haha

ablett senior (i think) won them the game by taking out burkie and david grant in the first quarter. dog.

his son appears to be a better bloke and might be his equal as a player.

Apart from the fact that he is probably the biggest sook to ever play sport. The most self obsessed player to ever play the game..

jonesy wrote:Apart from the fact that he is probably the biggest sook to ever play sport. The most self obsessed player to ever play the game..
i know, but at least he doesn't go around clocking st kilda players like his old man.

He got us twice didn't he..

I don't remember anyone remonstrating with him in 91....we had a few tough nuts out there too that didn't mind throwing some haymakers....Vidovic,Greig(did he play?),Winmar,Lockett.

He was very hit or miss those days Gary. Wasn't til 93-96 when he became super consistant..before that he was either brilliant or unsited. That day he was unsited,but probably won the match for them taking out our bench