Round 7 1991 Moorabbin

With Adelaide this week it is opportune to reflect on one of the best days in our history.

What a glorious day at Moorabbin.
The day Plugger kicked 12.
The day of the famous "Dragging of Danny Hughes" past the entire jeering grandstands.
Russell Morris stopped every Adelaide attack at CHB with almost 20 solid marks.
We kept them to 1 goal at 1/2 time and just three scoring shots in the second half.
The 131 point win was a club record (until our walloping of Brisbane in 2005).
Harvey was on fire.
Winmar was sublime.
And Scott Hodges didn't get a touch.

The Animal Pit was in party mode from early in the game.
One of my happiest days ever.

Ah yes! I seem to recall a young 35 streaming out of the middle and putting it down pluggers throat...now was that early in the first ??

I also think plugger might have come back from a number of weeks off injured?

What great days

Holy s***! Exactly what Im talking about . haha , nice work. Great days indeed.

Anyone remember if it was early in the first quarter?

It was very early, it was the first 15 seconds of the game!!!

Our 1st quarter 7.3 45
and
Our 2nd quarter 7.4 46
remain as our record quarter scores against Adelaide.
Our total score of 24.18 162 v 4.7 31 remains our record against Adelaide.
As does the winning margin of 131 (162 v 31)
Lockett's bag of 12.6 is our record against Adelaide and just warmed him up for bags of 10.6 (including his 100th) and 10.3 in his next 2 games against the hapless Crows.

Memories
:D :D :D :D

I wish there was more footage, or a recording of the reply of this one out there.

I remember one solitary guy standing in The Animal Pit wearing a Crows beanie.

Boy did he cop some flak - his family lineage, sexuality, intelligence, criminal record etc. etc. were all severely "scrutinised".
All good natured but very very funny.
:D :D

iwantmeseats wrote:I wish there was more footage, or a recording of the reply of this one out there.
Anyone got 'year of the rising saints'? Plenty of footage of that game on that. If I had it on dvd I'd upload some of it,but mines gone missing along with 'One Step Closer'....reckon I watched those tapes at least 2000 times as a teenager

I was behind the goal at the Nepean Hwy end. A couple of crows supporters were next to me and were actually top blokes.

At some stage in the last quarter they shouted out together "Kick A Vic" - much to the laughter of those near them !!

Danny Hughes leaving the ground to massive cheers my personal highlight !!

Schillaci

Probably my favourite day ever at the footy.
Have 10-15 minutes of Seven's Highlights show -taped on VHS from TV when they showed the day's games after the news. Commentators were McAveney, Don Scott and Peter McKenna.
Players on the day included...Craven, Harvey, Marcou, McAdam, Loewe, Winmar, Daniels...great memories.

I m sure Russell Morris kicked 6 on top of Plugger's 12.

iwantmeseats wrote:I wish there was more footage, or a recording of the reply of this one out there.
There is more footage, the whole game on DVD....

http://www.sportsdelivered.com/product. ... 675&page=5

B W and R all over

Schillaci wrote: Players on the day included...Craven, Harvey, Marcou, McAdam, Loewe, Winmar, Daniels...great memories.
Shady memories...Marcou hadn't played with us for about four years by that stage.

25 minutes to make a name for yourself like you've never made before.

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/game ... 10504.html

The only teenager on the ground, Robert Harvey, had 39 touches and two goals.

Burke had 36 and Winmar 33. Morris took 18 marks. Lockett kicked 12.6; McAdam 1.6.

We kicked 7.3 to 0.1 by quarter-time. Kicked another seven in the second and we led by 78 points at half-time.

Brownlow Medal 3 - Tony Lockett, 2 - Russell Morris, 1 - Danny Frawley.

25,057 were there and I'll never forget it. Fantastic day. That win put us back into the top six after seven rounds and the buzz around the place was incredible.

There was a huge feeling that we had a great young team on the rise and that day was proof. To flog Adelaide at home too was very much a thump on the chest for Victorian pride, too :wink:

It was the day Winmar returned from suspension (from previous season) and Plugger from a broken back incurred in the pre-season cup. Plugger had his first 15 seconds in from a lace out pass from a young Rob Harvey. Plugger had 9 by half time!! He was stuffed could only get 3 after half time. Danny Hughes was dragged after Plugger's 6th?? when he was at the South Rd end - meaning he had to run past the G G Huggins stand, the members side outer and especially the animal enclosure to come off. Was the funniest moment in footy I have experienced. Poor Danny would've heard everything I reckon. He was close enough to the fence. How could the crow lice coach do that to the poor sod - it was Graham Cornes coaching!!

Massive win, great passion and spirit abounded, Everton was right - we all came away thinking we had a damn good team that year.

Was an intentional move by Cornes.

To humiliate.

Adelaide were absolutely ragdolled.

Have this game on tape, have watched it a few times. Lockett kicked his 10th late in the second, but the umpire hadn't called time on, and he had to take his kick again and hit the post with the second attempt.

For years I kept a copy of the match report from The Sun (not the Herald Sun) which was clearly written by a Saints supporter.
The article literally ticked off each player and how they showed Adelaide what real football was about and I can remember one line that was along the lines of "And have you met our Russell Morris....?"

I can remember the cheek of the Crows supporters who walked into the Saints stand as they made their way to the seats and we were giving it to them big time.

Who would have thought just six years later... :cry:

And then the next one... :cry:

Our time is now!

evertonfc wrote:McAdam 1.6.
Imagine if he had kicked straight.

docsaint

I remember it more because I wasn't there. Played my last game of senior footy that day, against Ajax of all teams (play in saints colours). We were about 13 goals down at half time on the way to a 20 goal hiding, and I've got blisters on my feet from chasing all day, and my brother comes out at half time and says the saints are about 15 goals in front and pluggers got 9! I though what the f*** am I doing playing when I should be at Moorabbin.

Fronted up to training on Tues and said "sorry coach, too much study etc etc" and watched the saints for the rest of the year. Much more fun!

iwantmeseats wrote:Ah yes! I seem to recall a young 35 streaming out of the middle and putting it down pluggers throat...now was that early in the first ??

I also think plugger might have come back from a number of weeks off injured?
I was there that day but I though it was Winmar who passed to lockett

what a great day for mankind that was

mustangjack

i havent missed a game in melb and been to quite a few interstate for 28 years , and was always a social club member .for one day i decided to get out of my comfort zone and make my way into the animal cage aganist carlton when lockett booted 10, well i reckon it was the loudest day ever at moorabbin every man was hugging each other when the big boy kicked that goal .thats the first time i had chills running from toe to head. ive seen us play some great games but that one stays in my head for excitment thanks to that day in the cage. Now ive got a reserve seat at the dome bring back the good ol days

All I remember is how peeved I was to see Adelaide (and Port) improve to the point of getting flags later on while we flopped along for years and got nothing in the end.
No excuses this year.