Blake appreciation thread

norwood97

Blake appreciation thread

comment here if you like the way Blake does his business :)

+1 for me -he's not perfect but he will figure in September action

I said once before that he was the most important player in the team (to the squeals of the usual suspects) because of his flexibility. He plays a number of roles down back and can be used in the ruck (and win, rather than just make up the numbers) if necessary. He can run all day, has improved his kicking so that his efficiency is one of the best in the AFL and his handball is good too. Whilst he is prone to the odd boo boo, his desire to win for the Saints is Lenny like. One of the first picks in my team.
Last edited by perfectionist on Mon 27 Jul 2009 11:17am, edited 1 time in total.

IF it happened, my loudest cheer would for Blake as he collected his medal.

All heart and will.

norwood97

[quote="perfectionist"]his desire to win for the Saints is Lenny like. One of the first picks in my team.[/quote]

hes heart is in the right place

VietNam_Saint

As a bit of a knocker of Blake in the past , I really admire this guys tenacity.

yes , not perfect but his effort is full on and he clearly loves what he is doing.

Would i choose now not to have him in the side ??

No way. I reckon these days Blakey is pretty solid down there and imagine he has worked very hard to get where he is.

Likewise ,, blake would get a huge cheers from me if he had the Premiership medal given to him.

Go the Blake.

+1 :lol:

What will be next from this club ?
OneEyedSainter77

perfectionist wrote:I said once before that he was the most important player in the team (to the squeals of the usual suspects) because of his flexibility. He plays a number of roles down back and can be used in the ruck (and win, rather than just make up the numbers) if necessary. He can run all day, has improved his kicking so that his efficiency is one of the best in the AFL and his handball is good too. Whilst his is prone to the odd boo boo, his desire to win for the Saints is Lenny like. One of the first picks in my team.
i made a whole post of it. I am saving the bump for when we win the premiership with him in the team playing a pivotal role!!!

BakesFan

Gotta love the Blake. He goes alright!
I'll be stoked for him if he gets a Premiership Medallion.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.(Eleanor Roosevelt)
Premiers2009

The Blake is all guts and heart.

thirty-seven!?

Loved his game on the weekend and thought he was one of our best in the first half, if not, the best! Really worked hard and his courage is fantastic! He deserves his spot in the backline as much as anyone else in the team.

On a similar note, our defense was amazing to watch on the weekend - Blake and Baker into some super form, Max back and the two Sam's going about their business with aplomb! Will be hard to break into!

love the drake....errr blake
the blake is good
mr consistency

in my top 5 fav players for sure
he is usually pretty good in a one on one in getting a spoil on the opp.
love the blake

Who cant love the Blake?

Who didn't fall over with bewilderment at Jason when he went for his space cadet moonwalk on Saturday night?

Fkn hilarious (now). :D :D

Fair Dinkum, absolute 100% team man who is arguably having his best of ten seasons, but geez Jason, what the hell were you thinking? :D :shock:

Even the umpires must have been amused. He must have walked about 25 metres without bouncing the ball.

But thats all in the Blakes charm.

Some Blake classics

Gets strangled by Brown (who gets off because it wasn't In Play :D )

Only time Cain Ackland ever showed any aggression was to scuffle with the Blake at a qtr time huddle

Saturdays moonwalk.

Gotta love the Blake.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
S.A Saint

Is it too late for him to learn to carry the ball with his arms and elbows raised forward.
Just so he does not get his arms pinned EVERY time he is tackled.
Then he can give a handball instead of a free kick.

Love Blakey....with Max and Lenny as blokes who bleed for the jumper.

norwood97

this may mean nothing to other posters but he reminds me of NBA jam players. like kuroc or oakly. if anyone knows the jam then maybe we could post stats for the saints.

Blake is a great player :)

Count me in :D

Love the Blake, plays his role for the team week in, week out

Love the Blake. And that love has been hard won! His recent record (2-3 seasons) speaks for itself! If and when we win the big one, he will be one of the great stories.

claystreet

Yep hes one of a kind, just as well we dont have 22 of him :lol:

Hes one of my favs even the brain fades i count to make sure he should be over his couple for the game. Been known to say to me mate about Blake, well thats 2 hes had today, he should be right now.

Go the Blake!!!

I have great respect for Jason Blake, he's often being maligned by other supporters in this forum, but I like him for several reasons.
-all the around the ground ruckwork when we sometimes didn't have one decent ruckman. He tried his heart out each time.
-has blossomed since going into the backline and has clearly learnt well from his master;SOS.
-and for all the budding footballers, he's proof that you may not be blessed with a whole heap of natural talent, but by listening and learning and taking on tasks and accepting the challenge you can become a player of a 150 games to the point lyou are considered to one of the first players to be included in the team list.

I have always liked Blake and have always supported him on here.

He does not have much pace but he can run all day and will do whatever a coach asks of him to the best of his ability and more often than not he does it.

You cannot ask for anything more IMO

except to remember to bounce or touch the ball on the ground when walking 30 metres with the thing in his hands

i love him as well

norwood97

Jason Blake (out of 9)

Speed 2 Strength 7
Offensive Position 4 Defensive Position 6
Goal Kicking 3 Spoiling 6
Marking 5 Tackling 5
Pass by foot 5 Pass by hand 4
Injury Resist 5 Ruck 5