Ball to meet the D's tomorrow

linz

Ball to meet the D's tomorrow

I hope Luke stays.

At the end of the day (as Stan would say) it comes down to being the BEST at the BEST CLUB.

Luke Ball would be THE BEST at the WORST club currently.

A Melbourne mate said to me recently that we deserve to lose him to Melbourne because we have treated him so badly.

I replied that he would be a GREAT captain for Melbourne but queried wether he would be playing in Melbourne's next Premiership side 'cause it might be a while.

I remember a couple of years ago we beat the "D's" at the G. Bally was bandaged up around the nose and had been wandering around with concussion as a result. He probably had only 10 touches as a result but he played with pure guts and never gave up.

When we won the game (not easily) and the players were running off, I cheered Bally from the fence for his gutsy determination to see the game out.

He came over & gave me a hug.

I was chuffed.

I want him to play in our next Premiership side.

I once spent a year in Adelaide, I think it was on a Sunday.
Milan Faletic

Re: Ball to meet the D's tomorrow

linz wrote:I hope Luke stays.

At the end of the day (as Stan would say) it comes down to being the BEST at the BEST CLUB.

Luke Ball would be THE BEST at the WORST club currently.

A Melbourne mate said to me recently that we deserve to lose him to Melbourne because we have treated him so badly.

I replied that he would be a GREAT captain for Melbourne but queried wether he would be playing in Melbourne's next Premiership side 'cause it might be a while.

I remember a couple of years ago we beat the "D's" at the G. Bally was bandaged up around the nose and had been wandering around with concussion as a result. He probably had only 10 touches as a result but he played with pure guts and never gave up.

When we won the game (not easily) and the players were running off, I cheered Bally from the fence for his gutsy determination to see the game out.

He came over & gave me a hug.

I was chuffed.

I want him to play in our next Premiership side.
Well, linz, I hope he remembers moments like that when he is sitting in front of the Melbourne hierachy.

Barry Hall kicked the winning goal in the rain after the siren at the G against Hawthorn and hugged the players like it was a premiership. That was his last game for us. Hope Luke realises that he can make history at St Kilda.

linz

At least Big Bad bustling won a flag 'cause tummy punches were legal then.

Milan Faletic

linz wrote:At least Big Bad bustling won a flag 'cause tummy punches were legal then.
Wonder if that tummy punch put Goose on RL's bad list???

atleast we know that the saints had first contact with Luke in the last two weeks

as his manager admitted NOT having any contact with him whilst he'd been away.

and the Demons meeting was set up Before he went from something i read.

I'd like Luke to be HAPPY to stay; I guess if we'd been more aware of Luke being Unhappy - our Shock at his decision/ request may have been alittle less extreme,
Last edited by saintbrat on Wed 28 Oct 2009 9:55pm, edited 1 time in total.

linz

Milan Faletic wrote:
linz wrote:At least Big Bad bustling won a flag 'cause tummy punches were legal then.
Wonder if that tummy punch put Goose on RL's bad list???
Do you reckon Goose faked it?

Milan Faletic

saintbrat wrote:atleast we know that the saints had first contact with Luke in the last two weeks

as his manager admitted NOT having any contact with him whilst he'd been away.

and the Demons meeting was set up Before he went from something i read.
His "manager" couldn't (simple task deleted) with adult supervision. :wink:

I hope Bally stays...watched the first 3Q of the Grand Final a couple of nights ago (not ready for the last Q yet!)....he would have been in consideration for the Norm Smith at half time....you can't just replace what he does that easily. Dunno what Ross Lyon's issues are with him and why he got so little gametime...but I would hope that they could put it behind them and plan for a 2010 premiership together.

linz

fugazi wrote:I hope Bally stays...watched the first 3Q of the Grand Final a couple of nights ago (not ready for the last Q yet!)....he would have been in consideration for the Norm Smith at half time....you can't just replace what he does that easily. Dunno what Ross Lyon's issues are with him and why he got so little gametime...but I would hope that they could put it behind them and plan for a 2010 premiership together.
fugazi, your name sounds familiar to me. Have we met?
I hope Luke & Ross have the courage to expel their differences.
A COMMON GOAL APPROACH.

Id like Ball to stay but Im getting past it to be honest.

If he goes to Dees IMHO it tells me 3 things:

1. Luke wants extra cash (no probs with that - make hay etc etc)
2. Luke knows he'll be a big fish in a little, developing pond and he likes that idea and finals perhaps arent the be-all.......
3. Luke doesnt think he can work his way into St Kilda's best 22 at a greater than 50% game time level

Id love Ball to stay but Im not for the club bending over to "beg" him to.....OR for Ross Lyon to have to offer some greater game time % just to keep Luke happy. The message on that front has been consistent and clear - EARN YOUR SPOT.

I do not believe for 1 moment Ross Lyon is swayed by "favorites" - he, unlike Grant, is far to clinical in his pursuit of victory for that. Lyon will play WHOEVER gives him the best chance to plug a hole, do a role, get him the result he thinks will help us win games IMO. He'll go against the trend and back players IF he thinks they have something....(see Raph Clarke) and he'll drop stars if he feels he isnt getting a certain level of effort/outcome.

Luke Ball is no different.

I must say though that should Ball stay, fight his way into the 22 AND add to his game where he simply HAS to be given more game time......then my original opinion of him as a smart leader prepared to do what it takes for the benefit of the team will only be enhanced.

It may be just wishful thinking on my part but I also believe that IF Ball takes this path then this decision will truly be a defining moment of his footy career - especially if goes on to become a St Kilda Premiership player.

Milan Faletic

It is up to him. Saints want him. Does he want Saints?

saintrod

This is a joke he has obviously made up his mind to move on and if he was going to stay he wouldn't be meeting with the Ds.

S.A Saint

This has dragged on for way to long...obviously he doesn't want to be here for whatever reason (game time, more money etc)...The trading peroid has passed and we missed out on getting something for him which imho was a good move not to accept mediocrity from the filth even if it meant him walking into the draft....

there are a number of player ready to take on the next step and challenge for that spot and with the addition of a few players during the trade period we are more then set to go full steam ahead for the big dance...

TazzieSaintGirl83

I am eager for a decision to be made. I want Luke to stay but only if he can be 110% about it and patch things up with his team mates and coach because I imagine they are a little strained at the moment.

Either way (stay or go) I would love to have it all settled soon

100% Sainter Girl Through and Through

The longer this drags on, the more I think LB is hanging out for money, or guaranteed senior game time at the Saints, and neither can be guaranteed to him.

I don't understand why this has to take so long, if he doesn't want to be at the Saints just say so...

If he is still contemplating what he wants to do and where he wants to be, when other Saints players are probably already training and focused on 2010...it doesn't quite sit right with me :?

Just my opinion...

If Ball goes to the Demons it means he wants money not silverware.

Melbourne has and will collect players for their shot at a window, but the development time will make that window too late for Ball to be a part of it.

Brock Mc Lean recognised that he had been part of a false start by Melbourne and left because he was older than the new group and not prepared to wait.
Ball is two years older and his body is a wreck.

If he seriously wants a premiership he wll return to St Kilda.

The money or the flag Luke, it's your choice.

:lol: Melbourne...urrrgh

ace wrote:If Ball goes to the Demons it means he wants money not silverware.

Melbourne has and will collect players for their shot at a window, but the development time will make that window too late for Ball to be a part of it.

Brock Mc Lean recognised that he had been part of a false start by Melbourne and left because he was older than the new group and not prepared to wait.

Maybe get a game or always get a game. Luke it is your choice. I dont we will see Bally in Saints colours next season.

ace wrote:If Ball goes to the Demons it means he wants money not silverware.

I think you under estimate how quickly things can change........

Melbourne is coming out of their trough...............

If Melbourne can’t get Ball to sign then they really are hopeless. They can offer him:
1. Money
2. A leadership position (captaincy in a couple of years?)
3. Guaranteed game time

They will roll out Jack Watts and Liam Jurrah and Jim Stynes will play the emotion card.
“Premiership coming soon - get on board Lukeâ€

[quote="Gershwin"]If Melbourne can’t get Ball to sign then they really are hopeless. They can offer him:
1. Money
3. Guaranteed game time

They will roll out Jack Watts and Liam Jurrah and Jim Stynes will play the emotion card.

[quote="Gershwin"]If Melbourne can’t get Ball to sign then they really are hopeless. They can offer him:
1. Money
3. Guaranteed game time

Gilbo1on1

1950something Moccha. I still cant easily forget Jeff White eliminating us a few years ago. How badly have they gone since then?

Gilbo1on1

[quote="chook23"][quote="Gershwin"]If Melbourne can’t get Ball to sign then they really are hopeless. They can offer him:
1. Money
3. Guaranteed game time