Round 2 side

Sainterman

Round 2 side

AFL Round 2 - St Kilda v North Melbourne

Backs: Jason Gram / Zac Dawson / Sam Gilbert
Half backs: Steven Baker / Jason Blake / Brendon Goddard
Centreline: Leigh Montagna / Clint Jones / Nick Dal Santo
Half forwards: Andrew McQualter / Nick Riewoldt / Adam Schneider
Forwards: James Gwilt / Michael Gardiner / Stephen Milne
Followers: Ben McEvoy / David Armitage / Lenny Hayes
Interchange: Adam Pattison / Brett Peake / Farren Ray /
Jarryn Geary
Emergencies: Alistair Smith / Robert Eddy / Steven King

from saints.com.au

must be going with pattison at fullforward with gardiner and big mac in the ruck....

Sam23

PATTISON WTF???

:o

Goddard.
saintnick12

Interesting with Pattison in and King dropped. King obviously not injured as he is named as an emergency.

Might try McEvoy at FF, or Pattison. Or might swap them around throughout the game. Gardiner is the named FF, not that that means anything.

"At the end of the day, a coach and a fitness adviser doesn't make a good football team, they're not the only ones who got us to two Grand Finals." Lenny Hayes. 27/9/2011.

Sam23 wrote:PATTISON WTF???

:o
He is the player on the list most similar to Kosi.

So Ross is sticking with his structure.

Also Gardi is more mobile than King...so Pattison is most likely to mainly play FF with Gardi and Ben also rotating through.

Adam Pattison
#34 St Kilda Saints
Height: 197cm Weight: 99kg Position: Ruck

Has played 61 games....

Stanley is raw and is a flanker if played forward rather than KPP.

Patto needs to compete like Kosi and provide opportunities for our smalls.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Thu 01 Apr 2010 5:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

often played as a forward at richmond......

saintlee

Congrats to Pattison for getting a game.

Must say I am surprised at this tho....was hoping to see Tommy Lynch or Rhys Stanley....

saintlee wrote:Congrats to Pattison for getting a game.

Must say I am surprised at this tho....was hoping to see Tommy Lynch or Rhys Stanley....
I thin many of us would be interested to see how they wold go...but both are currently flankers and it would seem that Ross wanted to stick with our current forward structure and Pattiosn is the one most suited to relacing Kosi in terms of like (and then perhaps Ben).

It will be interesting see how he goes....

Looks like the "back-up drafting" of Patto may prove to be handy....and this is why is was most likely recruited.

Who knows..may be another Zac :wink:

shmic_s

I was pretty confident that would be the selected team.
Lyon likes to keep the structures the same. Worked last year (eg. tassie).
Pattison is a like replacement for Kosi. Was mentioned when we drafted him.
He has been training with both the forwards group and rucks. Lets give him a go.
Heard from a few Richmond supporters that he did okay up forward. Was undersized for ruck, where he often played and often struggled.

saintsRrising wrote:Stanley is raw and is a flanker if played forward rather than KPP.
Stanley's NAB stats:

13 disposals, 5 contested (85% efficiency)
8 marks, 4 contested
4 goals
2 tackles
4 inside 50s

He had one ground ball in the entire preseason. He looks an awful lot like a KPP to me.

King IS injured.

King - injured pride, to be assessed.

shmic_s wrote:I was pretty confident that would be the selected team.
Lyon likes to keep the structures the same. Worked last year (eg. tassie).
Pattison is a like replacement for Kosi. Was mentioned when we drafted him.
He has been training with both the forwards group and rucks. Lets give him a go.
Heard from a few Richmond supporters that he did okay up forward. Was undersized for ruck, where he often played and often struggled.
Just turned 24 so still young. Was taken late first round No16 in the 2004 draft by Richmond.
(No16 part of the Ottens trade to Geelong).
High draft pick but Richmond recruitment often get it wrong.
198cm. 61games for Richmond but only 15 goals.

Pretty surprised about this, but I've got full faith in Ross.

I don't think Stanley or Lynch are ready yet.

vacuous space wrote:
saintsRrising wrote:Stanley is raw and is a flanker if played forward rather than KPP.
Stanley's NAB stats:

13 disposals, 5 contested (85% efficiency)
8 marks, 4 contested
4 goals
2 tackles
4 inside 50s

He had one ground ball in the entire preseason. He looks an awful lot like a KPP to me.
Not sure what you define as a ground ball as he did a good job of roving a few goals in the forward line.

He is skinny at present and would get pushed off it to easily. He may be a KPP, or ruck, in a year or two at senior level when he muscles up....but not this year...even if North are short of key defenders.

If given some games this year in the seniors I would see it on a flank... IMO of course.

I see this as a three week elevation with the most important game being against the Pies .
Last edited by saintsRrising on Thu 01 Apr 2010 6:27pm, edited 2 times in total.

FullMonty

Staggered that Stanley did not make it.
Thought he was a certainty with Kosi out.

Montyrules!

FullMonty wrote:Staggered that Stanley did not make it.
Thought he was a certainty with Kosi out.
Maybe he is injured.

Pies Injury List
Round two
Cameron Wood (finger) - 3-5 weeks
Josh Thomas (calf) - 3-5 weeks
Brad Dick (shoulder) - 7-9 weeks

But Presti not selected ddue evidently toa Qhad injury.

Interesting as:
1/ The discussion on Saints injury list accuracy of late
2/ That for Pies game loss of Kosi may not be as critical if Presti is out for more than one week..

WE drafted Pattison for this very thing - so may as well try him out early in the season and see how he goes. If he can create a contest and snag one or even two I'll be rapt.

Didn't say anything before in case I was reading to much into it, but if you listen to Ross talking OTC about ruckman, I reckon you could tell that King was going to be omitted.

rexy

saintsRrising wrote:Pies Injury List
Round two
Cameron Wood (finger) - 3-5 weeks
Josh Thomas (calf) - 3-5 weeks
Brad Dick (shoulder) - 7-9 weeks

But Presti not selected ddue evidently toa Qhad injury.

Interesting as:
1/ The discussion on Saints injury list accuracy of late
2/ That for Pies game loss of Kosi may not be as critical if Presti is out for more than one week..
Interesting take on it, Kosi loss may not be as great as Presti is not their to play on him.

Would have thought that this is a positive for them not us. Presti has virtually no offensive game, I fail to see how him not playing could benefit us unless we actually did have Kosi and they had no other match up??

Maybe this year?
Milan Faletic

Isn't Stanley injured? I know he was named as 15th emergency last night but I suspect he is not 100%.

Milan Faletic wrote:
Isn't Stanley injured? I know he was named as 15th emergency last night but I suspect he is not 100%.
Ignore the Footy Show..there teams prior to Thursday nights are just guesses and have no meaning.

Well, Pattison is a goer so we'll definitely get effort...

Actually wouldn't be surprised if McEvoy actually starts at Full Forward as he is more mobile than both of them.