Proper pronunciation for Montagna

I know this may be a little trivial, but can anyone clarify what the pronunciation for Joey's last name is? Anybody know how he himself pronounces it?

Most people and commentators are pronouncing it "Mon-tag-nah", but I'm pretty sure it's an Italian name, therefore you the "g" would be softened when saying it e.g. lasagne is pronounced "la-san-yah". So it would be pronounced "Mon-tan-yah", am I right?
Last edited by Sainternist on Sat 10 Apr 2010 1:58am, edited 1 time in total.

i_luv_nick_riewoldt

I thought joey clarified it last year by saying it is Mon-tag-nah?

Because i remember thinking how i had pronounced his name differently for years!

Go saints in '09!
Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

i_luv_nick_riewoldt wrote:I thought joey clarified it last year by saying it is Mon-tag-nah?

Because i remember thinking how i had pronounced his name differently for years!
Correct.

For some reason it is not the traditional Italian pronounciation.

Means mountain btw.

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Strange. Would this mean that we have Stephen Sil-vag-ni as an assistant coach?

well, dennis cometti is saying "mon-tan-yah". i feel more inclined to trust dennis' judgement with him having an italian background himself.

Milton66

Isn't the G silent GO?

Didn't realise your Italian was so good. :D

Hotel De Los Muertos: Your room is ready... Care to step inside?

The name is pronounced Mon tan ya (Italian)
But Joey wants Mon tag na because we're Australian, quoted the man himself.

Milton66

Munga wrote:The name is pronounced Mon tan ya (Italian)
Yup... have a cigar. On the money.

The Aussies had a hard time with Iti names. So many of us Australianised them.

he's a true blue 'strayan bloke. but i will still say "mon-tan-yah" because i'm a stubborn bastard.

He apologised to his Nonna when he asked for the Aussie version :)

Milton66

He apologised to his Nonna when he asked for the Aussie version :)
Never mess with Nonna... that is sacrosanct, K. :lol:

Saints43 wrote:Proper pronunciation for Montagna
Sorted. Thank you, Saints43.

Sainternist wrote:
No worries. Next: Proper pronunciation for Southampton 3 Charlton 0.

Saints43 wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
No worries. Next: Proper pronunciation for Southampton 3 Charlton 0.
Most definitely, mate. This would cap off a great weekend of football :)

Mon - Tee

Re: Proper pronunciation for Montagna

Sainternist wrote:I know this may be a little trivial, but can anyone clarify what the pronunciation for Joey's last name is? Anybody know how he himself pronounces it?

Most people and commentators are pronouncing it "Mon-tag-nah", but I'm pretty sure it's an Italian name, therefore you the "g" would be softened when saying it e.g. lasagne is pronounced "la-san-yah". So it would be pronounced "Mon-tan-yah", am I right?
You're dead right. His name means mountain in Italian

It was brought up when he was on the footy show, can't remember the exact conversation but I think it went along the lines of him saying traditionally it is Mon-ton-ya but he goes with Mon-tag-na.

ffs

its joey
get it right

Winmar

A few years ago he said the right way to say it was Montanya, so I kept saying it that way. I'm afraid I can't change now. :)

OneEyedSainter77

I';ve always said Mon-tan-Ya and I'm a stubborn bastard too so i'm not gunna change that - I never stopped saying Ree-Wolt either.

Some things just sound natural and some don't.

Slightly off-topic, but you know its been a good night when this is the type of topic that pops up.

I'll still be calling him Montan-ya, or else I'd have to start saying things like "drinking Cham-pag-ne while watching Rhys Stanley making his deb-ut, while writing my mem-oi-res." Then the val-et can bring me my car.

Location: Kicked out of the Coffee Shop, Settlement Pub, Cranbourne

Milton66 wrote:Isn't the G silent GO?

Didn't realise your Italian was so good. :D
I have aquired a Nonna through my eldest son's marriage. I use the traditional Italian Mon-Tan-Ya, because you never ever upset a Nonna. :wink:

Australia...... Live it like we stole it....... Because we did.

Joey

That way you keep everyone happy.............

Sainternist wrote:he's a true blue 'strayan bloke. but i will still say "mon-tan-yah" because i'm a stubborn bastard.

So do you say Ree wolt or Ree Volt?

Roo prefers the pronounciation of REEVOLT...

so, because you think it is Ree wolt you will still call him that or call him the way his name should be pronounced?

Like the name Grant- some Grants like theirs pronounced Gr -ant

Others like Gr aaaaaaaant

So what is right? usually the way they like to call themselves!!

Mon tag na likes that so call him Mon tag na

Geezus

Carn Saints