Robert Eddy tries hard but....

saintkid

Robert Eddy tries hard but....

....his skills are awful!

Agreed. I don't think he has any spot in an AFL team. Geary, Armitage and Steven all have far more upside

robbo_25

i think armo will be back in the side next wk.
heard he had a real good game today for sandy

robbo

He does play a role, I'm never sure what it is though. Even though he only had a handful of possessions, he did appear to be trying hard.

He just needs to do something more to secure his place in the team. At the moment he is the first in line to be omitted.

Statsman

6 disposals, 4 clangers and 3 frees against - ouch!

"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates." - Earvin 'Magic' Johnson

Ross has been rotating the young ones so far this year, last year I may of tipped him to stick around, but I think Geary or Armo will come in.

Statsman wrote:6 disposals, 4 clangers and 3 frees against - ouch!
that should be enough to earn him another week in the side.....

a new whipping boy is sorely needed around here..... :lol:

QuestionOfAccuracy

He tries hard but I don't recall game where I've come away thinking that he really made a difference or an impact on the result. a hard worker and niching more - mini plays a similar role but gets more touches and kicks goals.

QuestionOfAccuracy wrote:He tries hard but I don't recall game where I've come away thinking that he really made a difference or an impact on the result. a hard worker and niching more - mini plays a similar role but gets more touches and kicks goals.
no not like mini at all

first quarter and parts of others he played as a lead up forward

for most of the first quarter he played on bock!! giving a fair bit of size away

should have almost got a couple of frees in marking contests, he made good position

he definitely had a team role tonight and desreves a couple of games

I prefer Armo to Eddy

clarky449 wrote:I prefer Armo to Eddy
Armitage is a more creative player, we are more likely to see goals from him. Does he have the defensive side to his game that Eddy has though?

Eddy, Geary and Armo are the 3 blokes who seem to rotate tyhru the Saints side without ever making an impact.

Armo may well replace Eddy next week but he also butchered the ball at times this arvo, not as badly as Geary tho.

Eddy and Geary might be great triers but their sub-standard footskills are costing them dearly

Milan Faletic

Eddy had a shocker.

Geary, Armo and Tommy Smith played well for Sandy.

StPeter

Eddy has played poorly in nearly every game he has played for the Saints, including at least four shockers in finals that I can remember. I continue to be puzzled at his inclusion in the side.

35...LEGEND

Milan Faletic wrote:Eddy had a shocker.

Geary, Armo and Tommy Smith played well for Sandy.
Tommy Walsh or Al Smith........ :?

Eddy is one of a big group of more or less interchangable fringe players we have at the moment. All of them have their strengths and weaknesses

Raph: easily the most talented of them but, as we all know, the clanger king

Dempster (when fit): good skills, runs all day, but low output

Peake: hmmmmmm... A bit like Fiora, minus the skills. I don't want to see him in a final against the Cats

Eddy: runs all day, high output, good tackler but otherwise poor skills

Gwilt: great disposal skills, enormous strength, reasonably quick, but doesn't really have a position at which he excels other than loose man down back (but Raph and Gilbert are more dangerous in that role)

Armo: great tackler, ok disposal, reads the game ok, lacks the pace, agility and endurance of an elite midfielder

Steven: seems to have everything required: skills, strength, guts, determination Not super quick but agile. I'd rate him #2 on this list after Raph (who is not really a fringe player but sometimes behaves like one)

Geary: a bit like Eddy, but better able to play in a position rather than just run all over the place. His disposal skills are probably better than Eddy's, but I reckon they fall away quickly when he gets puffed. As a long-term prospect, I would rate him #3 about equal with Gwilt.

Heyne: Sorry to say, I didn't think he looked up to it. But he needs a bit more of a go.

Among this lot of fringe dwellers (if you'll pardon the expression), Eddy goes ok ATM. Some of the others I've listed should be able to shut him out. But they haven't yet, and maybe some of them aren't good enough to do so (I fear Armo, although i've been wrong about players before).

I just hope we don't see Eddy, Dempster and Geary playing together: a bit too much "Saints footy" IMO.

Saints footy is all very well and fine, but I'd prefer the way Joey played last night anytime thanks very much

Is not very good

Armitage
Steven
Geary
Smith

all as good and going to get a lot better

Dempster

Better now

BigMart wrote:Is not very good

Armitage
Steven
Geary
Smith

all as good and going to get a lot better

Dempster

Better now
As he was probably brought in to do a role last night and you said he wasnt very good can you tell us what his role was.

super dooper

Unfortunatetly Eddy appears to be just our of his depth at AFL level, cant see him getting a game in september...

His role was to provide Run/Defensive skills combined with the lead up target like Heyne...they tried to have a bit each way

Heyne - Lead up HF -
Eddy - Defensive HFF
Geary - Small Defender
Armo - Clearance Mid
Steven - Run and Carry mid/Small fwd
Smith - Run and Carry HB/W

Clarke - Running Back
McEvoy - 2nd Ruck/Fwd
Gardiner - 1st Ruck/Fwd
Gwilt/Fisher/Gilbert - Rebound defender/Tall defender
Zac/Blake/Baker = last line of defence
Kosi - Fwd/3rd Ruck
Peak - Running HB/W
Ray - Running HB/W (more defensive)
Lenny, Dal, Goddard, Joey, Jones - Midfield Group

Pretty clear how Ross's structure works

BigMart wrote:His role was to provide Run/Defensive skills combined with the lead up target like Heyne...they tried to have a bit each way

Heyne - Lead up HF -
Eddy - Defensive HFF
Geary - Small Defender
Armo - Clearance Mid
Steven - Run and Carry mid/Small fwd
Smith - Run and Carry HB/W

Clarke - Running Back
McEvoy - 2nd Ruck/Fwd
Gardiner - 1st Ruck/Fwd
Gwilt/Fisher/Gilbert - Rebound defender/Tall defender
Zac/Blake/Baker = last line of defence
Kosi - Fwd/3rd Ruck
Peak - Running HB/W
Ray - Running HB/W (more defensive)
Lenny, Dal, Goddard, Joey, Jones - Midfield Group

Pretty clear how Ross's structure works
So maybe he did provide a defencive side to our HFF last night. Did the crows get their normal run out of HB last night?

Saintsfan

If all players tried as hard as Robert Eddy and threw themselves like their ball as if his parents were in the crowd with guns to their heads if he didn't...we should be number 1 in the league and no team would get close to us.

The way he throws himself at any contest is outstanding. He turned a few easy contests to the crows into 50/50s and put a few balls out when they should have been easy crows possessions.

His disposal will have to get better however I was impressed the way he through himself at anything anywhere.

The Saintsfan Cometh
Sainterone

My take on the players above:

Dempster and Peake: recycled and with plenty of experience, (aged 25 and 26) - at their best, may get a regular game. Likely to struggle once we are at full strength and / if the younger players (see below) step up. Add important depth to the team.

Raph: A couple of good games in the last two weeks could be the turning point? Previously it appeared he was unable to string sufficient good games together between horrible clangers. Hasn't been helped by injuries. Has the talent but will we get to see it regularly on the park? - let's hope so. Now 24 and with 63 games.

Gwilt: debuted in 2005 at 19 so has been around for a while now. First 3 seasons was unable to make an impact. Since 2008, has improved considerably and is now a regular member of the starting 22. Excellent long left kick and can drift forward and kick goals. At 188cms can match it with power forwards. I'd like to see him kick out more from FB and test his length and accuracy.

The younger players:

Armo, Geary and Eddy - each have played a similar number of games and are a similar age (Eddy is 22, the others are 21) - have been unable to cement a place in the starting 22 but there is time yet for them to improve further.

Steven and Heyne: just starting their AFL careers (at ages 20 and 19) and with 2 games each in 2010 - don't look like ready made superstars at the moment but anything is possible. May be the players to push Peake and Dempster out of the running in 2011 or 2012.

GO SAINTS

NICK RIEWOLDT - 444 GOALS FROM 200 MATCHES
STEPHEN MILNE - 440 GOALS FROM 216 MATCHES
derby Street

It is clear simply because he started on Bock that he had a special role to play and to that extent possessions don't come into it. That aside he still got touched up - so not sure his game / role last night could be classed as a raging success.

Havnt seen the replay yet.... Who was Eddy playing on?

Someone mentioned Bock.....?