Universal Respect- Lenny

#1GILL

Universal Respect- Lenny

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthrea ... 644&page=3

This pretty much sums up how much everyone respects and appreciates the way Lenny plays the game.

He is admired by every single person who follows football.

The first post is having a crack at Lenny, but the general public (Take note of which teams they barrack for!) defend Lenny, rightfully so, and it just shows how loved he is.

I am actually yet to meet someone who hates Lenny Hayes.

#1GILL

Sainternist wrote:I am actually yet to meet someone who hates Lenny Hayes.
It has to be impossible. There are certain players in our game who just demand respect. Not only for the way they play the game, though this is a big part, but for their off-field credibility.

Kirk is another, Boomer Harvey, Simon Black...

Badlands

Comment from cats supporter in that thread:
staging for free kicks...is becoming an epidemic in our side.

"I'm in the middle of a long conversation with my audience. It'll be a lifelong journey for both of us by the time we're done." - Bruce Springsteen.
Cro

#1GILL wrote:
Sainternist wrote:I am actually yet to meet someone who hates Lenny Hayes.
Boomer Harvey
Can't stand him.

It'll be a sad day when Lenny retires, absolutely love the bloke.

Is it to much to hope the umpires love him too, Brownlow night?

Gabba

Not many hated Banger either...

Of the Cats Bartel is the one I admire as a footballer.. Chapman too actually.

jackal

Hayes = Champion.

Gabba wrote:Not many hated Banger either...

Of the Cats Bartel is the one I admire as a footballer.. Chapman too actually.
Ye those are the two that clearly stand out for me at Geelong. Champions, fair, under the radar and seem like ripper blokes. Only 16 Bartel tackles could stop Lenny on Grand Final day.

Aside from them around the league blokes I really like/admire are Jono Brown, Jobe Watson, Luke Hodge and Brett Kirk. Judd would have been there too before all that Steven Seagal rubbish.

saintDal

There is also the thread that claims Lenny head-butted Abletts knee :roll: but thats mostly coming from morons and bitter Cats supporters.

Comes across as a bit arrogant to me.

InkerSaint

Honestly... who would headbutt someone's knee? :shock:

"... You want to pose a threat to the opposition in as many ways as you can, both defensively and offensively. We've got a responsibility to explore all those possibilities - and we will."

I'm going to go against the grain a bit here and say I actually agree with the O.P. from Big Footy. The only problem is that he is using the wrong player as his example. AS many on that thread pointed out, Lenny bores in for the ball, and he has one focus - to get the ball! Not to try and win a free kick. His forward momentum whilst on the ground sometimes wins him free kicks. IN all honesty I too thought that free kick he got for ramming into Ablett's knee was BS, and it should have been called play on.

My pet hate is players who win the ball but keep their head down hoping head high contact will be made. Steve Johnson does this and did this on FRiday night. Now THAT would have been a far better example. THat BS free kick he won where he was upright, bowed his body so that his torso was parallel to the ground and then charged at the tackler in the 3rd 1/4 infuriated me. To make matters worse he got a goal from it! HOW ELSE IS HE SUPPOSED TO BE TACKLED IF HE RUNS AT YOU WITH HIS HEAD DOWN?

Footy fans are pretty fickle though. 2 years ago Selwood was one of the most admired young players in the comp. Now he's a stager :? Ablett was considered the best player in the comp for the past 3 years. Now he's just a sook who can't play :? Footy fans will probably turn on Lenny too if we win a couple of flags. They've already decided that Roo is too good and needs to be brought down a peg or two.

I take little satisfaction in the fact that footy fans admire Lenny - b/c by this time next year they will decide he's a sniper and turn on him like cut snakes.

Let's all hope that the respect Lenny enjoys is also enjoyed by ALL of his team-mates by the end of this month !!

plugger66 wrote:Comes across as a bit arrogant to me.
who?

lenny hayes?

seriously you have lost the fcuking plot if this is your thoughts

Lenny getting kneed in the head is a free and they consistently play those. The player that is vulnerable will mostly get that free kick because he is provided with the expectation of a duty of care to avoid head injuries. The only stupid free played for high contact was Stokes for a kick on goal -which part of his head or shoulders was touched? Thats including Selwood slipping down in the tackle, that is not even the same as the ones he has been racking up, where he slips down in the same action as the tackle. He simply tried to slip down after he was already held, should not be a free either.

Duggie

He will give the Brownlow a shake :lol:

A Saint Forever!

gringo wrote:Lenny getting kneed in the head is a free and they consistently play those. The player that is vulnerable will mostly get that free kick because he is provided with the expectation of a duty of care to avoid head injuries. The only stupid free played for high contact was Stokes for a kick on goal -which part of his head or shoulders was touched? Thats including Selwood slipping down in the tackle, that is not even the same as the ones he has been racking up, where he slips down in the same action as the tackle. He simply tried to slip down after he was already held, should not be a free either.
They might, but in my opinion they are wrong. A player with all the momentum cannons into an opposition players knee is NOT a free I reckon. Especially when that player does very little other than stand there. Not a slight on Lenny, who is just trying to win the ball and in his aggressive manner makes contact with the knee - but it shouldn't be a free.

Whatever happened to umpires saying - you ducked your head, play on? Stevie Johnson should have had a free paid against him I reckon for holding the ball.

LOL you are such a s*** stirrer . :wink:

fingers wrote:

LOL you are such a s*** stirrer . :wink:
At least you get it. Some people are just so serious. Lenny is one of the best people you could ever meet. And his family are exactly the same.

maybe follow with... :wink:

:?:

My absolute favourite player since his first game for us!

If I was going to turn for anyone then it would be him!

I hope he plays for another five seasons, absolute minimum three!

His parents must be so proud!

matrix wrote:maybe follow with... :wink:

:?:
I dont use them much at all. I leave it for others to work out where i am going. Those things make it to easy.

well ya cant post a link so im guessing the same goes for smilies
8-)

matrix wrote:well ya cant post a link so im guessing the same goes for smilies
8-)
Make I am 48 years of age. I am lucky to know what a computer is let alone how to post a link but thanks for help about that last week.