Archer

SaintWal

Archer

Have been really impressed by this guy. Good hands, great attitude on the field and seems to have a reasonable tank.

He is so strong, as soon as he learns to use his strength look out. Took a great mark but just pushed his man a bit at the end when he didnt need to.

can burst a pack open too.... :wink:

yep a lot to like even though he looks a little raw at times disposal-wise but gets to where it's at regularly and contests well
big blokes with his agility and footy smarts are hard to come by and he's still only young
shows great promise for sure!!

Wonder if he still has some growing to do !!!!!!

He has looked good in both outings.

backit

As the commentators tonite said "he is a big unit"

SaintWal

Could be the real heat that is needed on Kosi as a forward

Just another big ruck forward option coming on at a fortuitous time with the interchange rules. I like the way he hits the packs.

Two years away at least from making the senior list.

Bernard Shakey wrote:Two years away at least from making the senior list.
Then he will not be at club and I agree with your statement.

Good hands and very strong. Uses his body well. Definitely one to watch.

Last week I thought he would simply be a backup for a year or two in case of a huge injury list, but I'm starting to think he could have something. Considering his size and age, he still has a lot of developing to do yet he did make a genuine impact on the game tonight. He runs to the right spots, attacks the ball brilliantly, makes pretty good decisions under pressure and confidently imvolves himself in the play. On the other hand his skills need a bit of work, his marks need to stick more and he probably needs another year or two of AFL conditioning to be at the elite level physically.

I like the guy and think he's definitely worth persevering with. Even just for this year he'd be a better ruck option than robbing the defence of Blake, and he looks like he could put some genuine pressure on Kosi if he's underperforming.

Strikes me as the sort of bloke who could rip a VFL game open

Big big unit who can take a big grab

Plonk him in Sandys goalsquare

Will remain at saints for the next few years - very impressive.

goddardisgod

Plonk him at FF for Sandringham. Without Sautner there, Ild like to see what he can do.

He looks less overwhelmed than Stanley does, but then it is the preseason. The size of him makes him more of a ruck option, even just to crash into someone like Brown or Jolly and hope he bruises them in the process.

Rucks with the ability to force a forward line contest by bringing the ball to ground even, are going to be a valuable commodity with the interchange rules.

Lee Brown will be the kind of player that teams look for now, pinch hitters that can run forward, Archer might take that second ruck spot occasionally to keep Gardiner injury free for a whole season.

I like the way Mcevoy goes about it too, along with Stanley our rucks are looking ok.

Funny you both say that, but I watch him, and wonder how much more/less impact he has on the game than Kosi does.

I reckon they would play the same role, maybe Archer is too short???

I think there is something about him, somthing different that may worry the opposition....

Love the look of him as future key forward...

Not sure of the love for him as a ruck...except to spell that is.

Expect him to get some cameo senior games this year, but he is more about our future than this year.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Sun 27 Feb 2011 4:59pm, edited 1 time in total.

QuestionOfAccuracy

Glen Archer was a good player.

Really liked the look of him last night. Did very well for someone of his age, who is that tall. Looked like he was 3-4 years older.
Interesting to see that he thought (before he came to us) that he most resembles Kosi:
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx

maverick wrote:
Funny you both say that, but I watch him, and wonder how much more/less impact he has on the game than Kosi does.

I reckon they would play the same role, maybe Archer is too short???

I think there is something about him, somthing different that may worry the opposition....
My opinion is based on last year where he struggled to get senior games with Sandy. He looks to have improved this year, but is a rookie and Walsh would more likely be promoted if we have a long term injury. Comparing him to Kosi is a waste of time. #23 should have been shafted two years ago.

TwoTowers

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:Really liked the look of him last night. Did very well for someone of his age, who is that tall. Looked like he was 3-4 years older.
Interesting to see that he thought (before he came to us) that he most resembles Kosi:
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/ ... fault.aspx
Agree entirely. And hasn't he put on some muscle in a year and a bit?

Looked a bit like a young Plugger

TazzieSaintGirl83

Good Tassie Boy, I am not bias at all :wink: . He played a bit for our local team down here in Kingston when he was younger.

I liked the look of him and thought he held his own quite well and didnt seem to be over whelmed.

100% Sainter Girl Through and Through

Interesting nick name....... from the players...