GET RID OF IT - constant after goal celebrations

It's about time AFL players (in general) dropped this Lleyton Hewitt-esque crap with fist pumping and other moronic antics after kicking a goal. Their heads look way too inflated. Sometimes it's after the first goal of the match. The way they're reacting you'd think they'd won the ball game.

Sure, it's good to show a little emotion every now and then, but it seems as though they have to carry on like pork chops after every goal. It's starting to look really, really goofy. Sure, throw a high 5 or pump fists with your colleague after a goal. That is all that is needed. More humility, please.

I remember Plugger Lockett with his steely determination, would slot through a goal, receive a pat on the back from a teammate and just go back to his position and TCOB. Then these primadonnas like Allen Jakovich came along and have influenced this buffoonary which has yet to die in the @rse.

Save the celebrations til after the game, I say.
Last edited by Sainternist on Mon 25 Apr 2011 7:02pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: GET RID OF IT - constant after goal celebrations

Sainternist wrote:It's about time AFL players (in general) dropped this Lleyton-esque crap with fist pumping and other moronic antics after kicking a goal. Their heads look way too inflated. Sometimes it's after the first goal of the match. The way they're reacting you'd think they'd won the ball game.

Sure, it's good to show a little emotion every now and then, but it seems as though they have to carry on like pork chops after every goal. It's starting to look really, really goofy. Sure, throw a high 5 or pump fists with your colleague after a goal. That is all that is needed. More humility, please.

I remember Plugger Lockett with his steely determination, would slot through a goal, receive a pat on the back from a teammate and just go back to his position and TCOB. Then these primadonnas like Allen Jakovic came along and have influenced this buffoonary which has yet to die in the @rse.

Save the celebrations til after the game, I say.
I'd say the totally over the top celebrations of players of the round ball code may also be an influence.

good post....sensible suggestion....

Dr Spaceman wrote:I'd say the totally over the top celebrations of players of the round ball code may also be an influence.
yeah, i was thinking about that. the thing is, they have a little more of an excuse to get away with it because of the infrequeny of goals scored over the duration of a 90 minute match.

I'd like to see a player pull their jumper off after a goal and then watch the whole team jump all over them.

Sainternist wrote:
Dr Spaceman wrote:I'd say the totally over the top celebrations of players of the round ball code may also be an influence.
yeah, i was thinking about that. the thing is, they have a little more of an excuse to get away with it because of the infrequeny of goals scored over the duration of a 90 minute match.
Perhaps.

I'm not a fan of the game but it p1sses me off no end when I see highlights and they show some bloke tap in a goal at the end of some great play by his team mates. And then the "tapper" runs to the corner, pulls his shirt off, slides in and raises his arms in the air like he's just found the cure for cancer. And of course totally forgets his mates who made the goal.

And if I ever see one of our blokes do a "Today Show T" I will absolutely spew! You're playing for the Saints and their supporters, not to get a cheer from bloody Stefanovic and Wilkins :evil:

Sainternist wrote:
Perhaps.

I'm not a fan of the game but it p1sses me off no end when I see highlights and they show some bloke tap in a goal at the end of some great play by his team mates. And then the "tapper" runs to the corner, pulls his shirt off, slides in and raises his arms in the air like he's just found the cure for cancer. And of course totally forgets his mates who made the goal.

And if I ever see one of our blokes do a "Today Show T" I will absolutely spew! You're playing for the Saints and their supporters, not to get a cheer from bloody Stefanovic and Wilkins :evil:
I don't watch breakfast shows so haven't heard of the "Today Show T" thing. So which players have already done it?

Bardon Saint

If it's a brilliant goal or game winning goal it deserves a fist pump or something similar.

I agree to tone it down if its 10 mins into the 1st qtr and you are shooting from the tip of the goal square, straight in front.

It can really pump a team up and give them confidence. It can also make an opposition team take notice.

I reckon the Goddard screamer and goal in GF1 deserved the fist tapping over his heart. Should he have look dour and solemn? -Well that was a good mark and goal but how can one celebrate this goal when there is world hunger and unrest in the middle east.

It's an undesirable trait that is creeping in to our game from the soccer nancy-boys.

Soon players will be doing chainsaws every time they take a mark or effect a short chip kick to a team-mate.

I can understand players getting pumped at a crucial goal late in the final quarter.
But as pointed out we are seeing players do it with the first goal of a game.

And even worse we are seeing some do it even though their team is being thrashed!
Is this the all-about-me generation Y mentality?

Cairnsman wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
Perhaps.

I don't watch breakfast shows so haven't heard of the "Today Show T" thing. So which players have already done it?
Thankfully I think none so far.

But some players from other clubs, plus NRL players, plus jockeys, plus members of the Australian swim team...... :roll:

Bardon Saint wrote:I reckon the Goddard screamer and goal in GF1 deserved the fist tapping over his heart. Should he have look dour and solemn? -Well that was a good mark and goal but how can one celebrate this goal when there is world hunger and unrest in the middle east.
haha... great point. i just youtubed the mark and goal. it was awesome. just a little clench of the fist and a couple of high fives, on his way marching back back to his post with a true grit expression on his face, instead of these nauseating sh!t eating grins that 99% of the players would give in this era of modern day soft c*ck footy.

Cairnsman wrote:I'd like to see a player pull their jumper off after a goal and then watch the whole team jump all over them.
Like this?

ps Sorry for those who are not fans of the round ball game, but for me this was one of those 'I remember where I was moments'. April/May 1999.... when I graduated and the mighty Red Devils won the Treble. Basically the equivalent of the Saints winning the pre-season Cup and then going 25-0.... Three years in a row....

Happy days :D :D

Sainternist wrote:
Perhaps.

I'm not a fan of the game (soccer) but it p1sses me off no end when I see highlights and they show some bloke tap in a goal at the end of some great play by his team mates. And then the "tapper" runs to the corner, pulls his shirt off, slides in and raises his arms in the air.........And of course totally forgets his mates who made the goal......
Yes can't stand that - most of them are not team oriented in that way, and rarely point to the player who set it up, like in AFL

Maybe it's because many of them are expensive imports, only in it for the money. Players go to teams on loan in EPL as well.
Last edited by MCG-Unit on Mon 25 Apr 2011 8:16pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hold your ground :shock:

Richter wrote:
Cairnsman wrote:I'd like to see a player pull their jumper off after a goal and then watch the whole team jump all over them.
Like this?

ps Sorry for those who are not fans of the round ball game, but for me this was one of those 'I remember where I was moments'. April/May 1999.... when I graduated and the mighty Red Devils won the Treble. Basically the equivalent of the Saints winning the pre-season Cup and then going 25-0.... Three years in a row....

I hate man utd, but that is an incredible goal. fifa banned the taking off shirt celebrations a few years ago. at least giggs wasn't one of those metro pewfs like david beckham and didn't need to go to a beauty salon to get his chest waxed :lol:

Sainternist wrote:
Richter wrote:
Like this?

I hate man utd, but that is an incredible goal. fifa banned the taking off shirt celebrations a few years ago. at least giggs wasn't one of those metro pewfs like david beckham and didn't need to go to a beauty salon to get his chest waxed :lol:
No one would want to see Dane Swan rip his top off, except perhaps an ink loving cannibal.  :wink:

Sainternist wrote:
Richter wrote:
Like this?

No one would want to see Dane Swan rip his top off, except perhaps an ink loving cannibal.  :wink:
amen to that! no doubt swan would have a self-portrait etched into his back ala stevo from jackass and the acronym FIGJAM in old english font across his belly.

It's a hard one.

Hard to suffocate emotion, sometimes it's healthy to let it out a little.

I agree it can be excessive, but it can also be a player purging the said moment, and refocusing for the next.

I actually think our guys need to go a little further, we are way to sombre after goals at the moment.

fifa banned the taking off shirt celebrations a few years ago.
From Saturday night. A Saints win...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zJUlVxA-h0

Together as one.

given how tight their jumpers are- Blues player had to be helped out of his.. this one may be difficult

and speaking of goal celebrations- several commentators had a go at the Saints for Not going overboard with Grammy's goal- yet on the replay I saw a couple of hand slaps.....
Last edited by saintbrat on Tue 26 Apr 2011 9:22am, edited 1 time in total.

Trixilver

How's this for a celebration http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqMQlvtmnBU

Beekay

Are you gay?

Interestingly the saints were criticised for showing no emotion towards a team mate when gram kicked a goal last thursday.

Each to their own. I'd like to see more like this

PJ wrote:Interestingly the saints were criticised for showing no emotion towards a team mate when gram kicked a goal last thursday.
Was just going to say the same thing. Over the top, contrived emotion is one thing. But if an important goal is kicked I'm a strong believer in getting over to your team mate and generating some excitement. The added adrenalin is very often important in lifting the team a cog. If the celebration is too self indulgent, then yes I'm not for it, but if players can get the crowd involved and in turn their team mates to lift, then I'm all for it. Seen many occasions when Milney has done exactly that.

Beekay wrote:
Are you gay?
Is that type of goal celebration considered gay?