Chooseday Night- Heatley goals Rd 14 1997

St Kilda v North Melbourne, round 14, 1997
Jason Heatley was a revelation for the Saints in ’97, crossing from West Coast to kick 73 goals for the season. He booted nine against the Kangaroos on this afternoon out at Waverley, capitalising on some useful delivery from the likes of Robert Harvey, Nathan Burke and Joel Smith as the Saints gathered momentum towards a grand final appearance.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/chooseday-night
running close with a scott Burns game for next week.
Last edited by saintbrat on Tue 17 May 2011 11:14pm, edited 3 times in total.

Tom_Sainter

Heatley was and still is one of my all time favorite saints players. Got the chance to meet him one day while he was playing with Tassie in the VFL and was a really top bloke.

I'd love to see that

Pwoit

The most accurate kick for goal I have seen - its a wonder they dont bring him down to just teach people the art of kicking a football.

Winmar

He was a great kick. It was a shame that he stopped trying to mark with his hands, for defenders were able to spoil his attempts to chest mark in the end.

Arguably a better kick than Plugger.

Our problem was we tried to make him fit into our gameplan.
He was always trying to take contested marks or win ground balls which he was no good at.
Whereas Alves should have structured the gameplan around giving him space to take uncontested marks even 50m out.

Then Blight just gave up on him.

easily my favourite player of all time. loved him at the lions. guys was so under rated. malthouse almost ruined his career. i remember when he kick ~14 against the swan districts and he still wouldnt play him. his hand was forced and then he played him out of position.

Tom_Sainter

Great to see all the positive posts about him, also one of my all time favs. Such a shame he only played the 4 years for us, to have such a great year in 97 then gone 4 years later. Was always puzzled why he wasn't picked up by another club, i think he was only 28 when de-listed.
Pretty popular guy for only being at the club for such a short period of time, will always have really great memories of the 97 season (besides GF) when he tore games apart

johnc19690

[quote="Enrico_Misso"]Arguably a better kick than Plugger.

Agree. He was very accurate even at 50m. Plugger did have a few bouts of inaccuracy from time to time..

I used to have a wood heater with a sign saying "24" attached to the flue :D

Winmar wrote:He was a great kick...
True. But he did miss a sitter (for him) in the 2nd quarter of the 97 GF. We played all over them in the first half and should have been 4 or 5 goals up. Instead it was 2. May not have made any difference, but not taking our chances seems to have become an art form for Saints teams.

game seems almost certain now at 45%

but the reason for the games choices is getting vaguer by the week
This week, Fox Sports hones in on some of the hottest names, quite literally, in the game via our ‘Hot stuff’ theme.
so your 'heater' is appropriate Enrico as they have 'burns' Heatley' and ' Stokes'

It's on for sure- tune it at 9:30 on Fox Sports

if your late turning over
scores seems familiar
5.1 - 0 saints way
heatley has 3 already - Quarter 1 appears to be abbreviated.

Matty Lappin must have weighed 50kg.

Boy we looked good, great running side. Guys like Jones, Brown, Smith, Lappin were playing every bit as well as Wellingham, Sidebottom, Beames last year.

And the pillars- Loewe, Burke, Harvey, Winmar, Heatley. Great days indeed.

Just my second year of footy that I can remember. Oh so lucky :)

watching it now. shannahan nearly kicked a goal.

Crap - there was a bit of talent in that team.

OneEyedSainter77

dcstkfc wrote:Matty Lappin must have weighed 50kg.

Boy we looked good, great running side. Guys like Jones, Brown, Smith, Lappin were playing every bit as well as Wellingham, Sidebottom, Beames last year.

And the pillars- Loewe, Burke, Harvey, Winmar, Heatley. Great days indeed.

Just my second year of footy that I can remember. Oh so lucky :)
my third.

We got steadily better each year until the big drop off at the end of 98.

95 we were terrible but had a late surge and showed some form.

96 we won pre-season and had a decent start but our mid-season left us with the pack and then some late season losses cost us finals place.

97 was wonderful! Watching the Melbourne game, I remember thinking at the time, how wonderful would it be if we could turn things around and really kick start our season.

Each week we just seemed to play great footy. Was great to watch!

interesting to put some of todays 'rules' to the game

Martyn- deliberate

Zsiller looks massive against B Harvey

this was a pre cursor game to 'that' preliminary final in Sept.

Pwoit

Nice having a ruck that taps to advantage and then hard nuts to pick it up

lol " Harvey is only 25 and will be around for another 7 years"

Try 11 years.

What a player that guy was.

Nice style of game back then. Sh.its all over the flood and press BS of today.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)
Pwoit

Waverly suited our game then - wide open spaces to run into. Geez we had some good players then - its a pity Joel Smith went down that year could have been the difference
Harvey is only 25 and will be around for another 7 years
He was playing game 160+ only went on to play another 220+ hehe

Watching that game last night I kept wondering how many of our current team would have gotten a game with the team that beat North that day, if they merged the next week.
I'm thinking only about 8, with about 3 of them being on the bench.
The ones from that game in '97 who would be under pressure would have been Brett Cook (probably for Kosi, or else have neither, with Loewe back up ruck), David Sierakowski (for Goddard), Maxy (in just his first year, for Sam Fisher) Sziller (for say Joey), Cripps (for Dal) and maybe Lappin (who wasn't at his peak yet- for Milne) Dan Healy (for Roo) and maybe someone for Gilbert and Schneider.

B: JONES SHANAHAN PECKETT
HB: FISHER WAKELIN YOUNG
C: MONTAGNA BROWN DAL SANTO
HF: RIEWOLDT LOEWE SMITH
F: MILNE HEATLEY WINMAR
R: EVERITT HARVEY BURKE
I: GILBERT THOMPSON GODDARD SCHNEIDER

In '97 they were a team really worth watching and that was a hell of a midfield/running brigade, with Banger, Burkey, Cuz, Thommo, Smith, Brown and Jones. There were also a bunch with elite (or close to it) kicking skills (Cuz, Smith, Young, Peckett, Jones, Heatley, Everitt, Wakelin, plus Harvs, who rarely missed with his 25m passes), which we're sadly lacking now.
Watching the game also reminded me how bloody talented Joel Smith was. Just a brilliant awareness of what was around him, fantastic poise and class and evasiveness and beautiful kicking on both feet. And it was only a few weeks later he did his knee. He could have had a fantastic career for us had he not done it so badly. A Brownlow or two would not have been out of the question, by any means.

AnythingsPossibleSaints wrote:...Watching the game also reminded me how bloody talented Joel Smith was. Just a brilliant awareness of what was around him, fantastic poise and class and evasiveness and beautiful kicking on both feet. And it was only a few weeks later he did his knee. He could have had a fantastic career for us had he not done it so badly. A Brownlow or two would not have been out of the question, by any means.
Yep, agree. One of the six most skilled players I have seen for the Saints (the others are Darrel Baldock, Ian Stewart, John McIntosh, Tony Lockett and Nicky Winmar). Although he won two AAs playing at Hawthorn, he was never quite the same player after the injury, but obviously pretty good. It's a pity we didn't have the money (or was it inclination) to match Hawthorn for his year out.

I was overseas that whole magic year of 1997.

I remember hearing the result of this game on the car radio, driving from Scotland back to England.

The Wimbledon final was on live and then an Aussie commentator mentioned that his team North had been flogged by the Saints.

I came back to Oz the week of Rd 22, saw the first final at Waverley then back up to Cairns to move down to Brissie.