Armo vs Ball

DWOODROW

Armo vs Ball

Would like to this match up this week

Hey two questions.

When was the last time you watched Dave live.

And will you be coming to Cairns to watch the Richmond Vs GC game in July?

mick13

Looking forward to a massive game from Armo :)

DWOODROW

Cairnsman wrote:Hey two questions.

I watched Dave play live in the monsoon at cazalys against lions a few years ago. I have been toying with the idea of coming and watching the suns but have a fairly big year with work etc.

was supposed to be going to see him this weekend but things have come up.

Will see him sometime this year. Looking at going to see his 50th.

beebarry

am also hoping to see this matchup. at least for part of the game ...armo has Bally phukt for pace and kicking penetration ....bally has armo in a similar position for body strength, experience and nous ......be great to see Armo play a few on the margin and then cut him up with a little pace and skill ....if its stacks on the mill though ...Ball will kill him as thats his bread and butter and the jam tin he STILL cant kick over ...

DWOODROW wrote:

I watched Dave play live in the monsoon at cazalys against lions a few years ago. I have been toying with the idea of coming and watching the suns but have a fairly big year with work etc.

I was at that game too but didn't see him play or anyone else play for that matter with the heavy rain that night. It was like trying to watch the football through a water fall.

Yeah I should be at the GC game too.

DWOODROW wrote:

any chance of getting to Metricon ( GC stadium) to see him Rd 19?

Re: Armo vs Ball

DWOODROW wrote:Would like to this match up this week
me too mate...reckon your brother would beat him too... :wink: :wink: 8-) 8-)

DWOODROW

DWOODROW wrote:

any chance of getting to Metricon ( GC stadium) to see him Rd 19?
Probably a very good chance. Do you have a date?

I'll be there..

Hoping to catch up with a former student ..

DWOODROW

saintbrat wrote:I'll be there..

Ha sorry. I meant what date is the game being played. :lol:

I think Jack will also get a crack at Ball as well as Armo

Ball still has higher disposals, but I think last time I checked, Armo is quite respectable in the clearances and contested possessions?

I've also noticed Ball giving a way of lot of frees this year? Maybe it's just my imagination, but every time I watch them, he seems to get a free against and shakes his head in disbelief.

DWOODROW wrote:

30 july...a saturday night....

DWOODROW

DWOODROW wrote:

The old mans bithday so probably an awesome chance.

Thanks mate. Starting to get a bit excited now.

DWOODROW wrote:

i'll be there...the missus has a sister on the gold coast.....

DWOODROW

DWOODROW wrote:

i'll be there...the missus has a sister on the gold coast.....
sounds good
Will start planning and hope to see some st kilda supporters there.

There will be no "match up", unless disaster strikes. Luke Ball is their number 4 midfielder who comes on to give the others a rest without any real loss in skill but with a loss in "run forward" and "adventurism". This is just like his role with the Saints in 2009 which, apparently, he wasn't satisfied with for $333,000 pa but is now more satisfied with for $500,000 pa, and who can blame him.

On the other hand, David Armitage is now (through chance and injury) our number one clearance player. He will be up against Dane Swan and Scott Pendlebury for the big ones. He is very good at the first "one touch hands on the ball" but slow at give off. Lenny would have cleared a path. Will someone else step up? The result of the game will depend upon it.
Last edited by perfectionist on Thu 02 Jun 2011 10:34pm, edited 1 time in total.

DWOODROW wrote:

:oops: :wink:

perfectionist wrote:There will be no "match up", unless disaster strikes. Luke Ball is their number 4 midfielder who comes on to give the others a rest without any real loss in skill but with a loss in "run forward" and "adventurism". This is just like his role with the Saints in 2009 which, apparently, he wasn't satisfied with for $333,000 pa but is now more satisfied with for $500,000 pa, and who can blame him.

On the other hand, David Armitage is now (through chance and injury) our number one clearance player. He will be up against Dane Swan and Scott Pendlebury for the big ones. He is very good at the first "one touch hands on the ball" but slow at give off. Lenny would have cleared a path. Will someone else step up? The result of the game will depend upon it.

True to some extent but Id also throw in what happens out of the ruck to have a major effect on game outcome.

SainterK wrote:Ball still has higher disposals, but I think last time I checked, Armo is quite respectable in the clearances and contested possessions?

I've also noticed Ball giving a way of lot of frees this year? Maybe it's just my imagination, but every time I watch them, he seems to get a free against and shakes his head in disbelief.
Bal is how much older and how many more games then Armo. Of course Ball should be better.

It would be better theck at the same number of games level to see how they compare.

DWOODROW wrote:

:oops: :wink:
That is hysterical! Saintbrat you have been so busted :lol: :lol: :lol:

perfectionist wrote:There will be no "match up", unless disaster strikes. Luke Ball is their number 4 midfielder who comes on to give the others a rest without any real loss in skill but with a loss in "run forward" and "adventurism". This is just like his role with the Saints in 2009 which, apparently, he wasn't satisfied with for $333,000 pa but is now more satisfied with for $500,000 pa, and who can blame him.

Hopefully (and it may be a pipe-dream) Joey, Dal, Chips and Jack can win contested footy again like they did last week. Freo were poor, but with that endeavour again we can get close to the Filth, and stick it up Lukey in the Sty with Didak.

RW&B

I too would love to see Armo head to head with Ball just to see how he goes. Loved Lenny vs Ball in GF1!!

"I'm a better coach when Nick Riewoldt is in the side" - Ross Lyon 2007

Let's be fair dinkum here. If Armo breaks even in the centre he'll have done an outstanding job. All of the pies midfielders are outstanding, including Ball this year. Ball's form in the past fortnight has nearly been 2005esque. He's been great. Armo needs help in there, but it will be in the form of Jack Steven, so I'll be happy with a fair dinkum crack with not too many easy clearances by the pies. I expect to lose this part of the ground easily but hopefully make it up in other areas.