Are We Interested ?

Tyson Goldsack (Coll)
Ricky Dyson (Ess)
Xavier Ellis (Haw)
Josh Hill (WB)

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/w ... 6088308539

Xavier Ellis very much so. Dyson and Hill and useless and Goldsack isnt anywhere near as good as Raph so no.

The thing is these names are all bulls*** much the same as the possible trades for Luke Ball. Just a bored journo who in twelve months time when Morton is killing it for Melbourne will write a article critisising Melbourne for thinking of trading him.
Last edited by CURLY on Wed 06 Jul 2011 4:05pm, edited 1 time in total.

I reckon Ellis would be a good pickup. maybe Goldsack not the other two duds.

I've lost the desire for these middle of the road trades.

Either land a big fish or keep our picks.

Dr Spaceman wrote:I've lost the desire for these middle of the road trades.

Abso - effing - lutely...

1, 3 and 4 have a lot to offer.

+ 1. Get a gun or develop our kids. There are no shortcuts.

goddardisgod

Would rather Bate or Trengrove of that list.

Ellis would be a worthwhile pick-up (similar to Ray). At 23, good pace, 74 games and a good kick!

Goldsack would also be ok, but he is a backman (do we need another one). Age 24, games 61.

If we could get either, I would only take 1. :wink:

#1GILL

Ellis for sure, the others no thanks.

Only Goldsack. The others cant get a game because of form, Goldsack is just because of the depth of the pies.

#1GILL

plugger66 wrote:Only Goldsack. The others cant get a game because of form, Goldsack is just because of the depth of the pies.

Ellis is struggling because of injuries and a ridiculously good Hawthorn midfield. He's the one with the most upside out of those players listed. Goldsack would get a game but doesn't have the ability to be more than a GOP, Ellis has the potential to become an A grader if he's given a good run at it and would suit our midfield very well.

#1GILL wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Only Goldsack. The others cant get a game because of form, Goldsack is just because of the depth of the pies.

Ellis is struggling because of injuries and a ridiculously good Hawthorn midfield. He's the one with the most upside out of those players listed. Goldsack would get a game but doesn't have the ability to be more than a GOP, Ellis has the potential to become an A grader if he's given a good run at it and would suit our midfield very well.
Hawthorn have been missing a few in the midfield all year and he still cant get a game. Struggled last year as well. 2 bad years suggests he may have lost his ability maybe due to all those injuries. I like the way Goldsack plays and doesnt seem injury prone. Skills are ok too which is a bonus for us.

Maybe they're better off keeping the draft picks......

Off that H-Sun list, the ones I would look at are Tuck, Mitch Morton, Trengove and Dyson.
Last edited by MCG-Unit on Thu 07 Jul 2011 4:31pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hold your ground :shock:

NO ONE, whether it be a trade or a Draftee, who doesn't have really good foot skills :evil:

MCG-Unit wrote:Maybe they're better off keeping the draft picks......

Off that H-Sun list, the ones I would look at are Tuck, Mitch Morton, Goldsack, Trengove and Dyson.
Quite a tasty list. We baulked completely at trade week last year, and while we all want to see the kids, I'm a big fan of balance. With crafty trading, we basically went within a whisker of two flags, giving up very little to get a hell of a lot. Only Lovett was a price-bomb, and that could've been a flop pick.

The mentality of AFL clubs has become so youth obsessed that very decent players capable of contributing often get passed over in favour of speculative picks. Everybody is trying to land the next Riewoldt with pick 83. It's a 100-1 shot, but clubs would rather do this than take a 24-year old with 150-games in front of him.

I don't think Mitch will get a run next year. His personal demons are too great. I feel incredibly sorry for him and hope he finds his way out of his current issues. Very talented on his day but he has bigger things to deal with than footy.

I don't mind going for Dyson - he would actually break into our 22 on a regular basis - as he could play another 100 games. For mine, he automatically jumps ahead of Polo, Geary, Eddy, Baker and McQualter. For pick 108, I'd do it.

Likewise another out of favour player, Steven Salopek. A St Kilda-supporting junior who grew up going to Waverley every week has fallen out of favour at Port and has wanted to come home for years. I'd be happy to take him or Dyson to help bolster our midfield stocks.

Trengove would be a fine get but I doubt we have anything that could get him. Somebody will pay over the odds to make him theirs.

As for Ellis, absolutely, but would we be outbid? What could we offer?
Last edited by evertonfc on Wed 06 Jul 2011 7:19pm, edited 2 times in total.

GramSlam

I think we would be interested in X Ellis!

We need the pace off the HBF...

Would we be interested in Salopek again? i think he signed a new contract recenetly but is still in and out of Port!

We can always do with a new whipping boy(1 would be plenty)

especially if Ross dumps all the list cloggers at seasons end...

evertonfc wrote:
MCG-Unit wrote:Maybe they're better off keeping the draft picks......

Off that H-Sun list, the ones I would look at are Tuck, Mitch Morton, Goldsack, Trengove and Dyson.
Quite a tasty list. We baulked completely at trade week last year, and while we all want to see the kids, I'm a big fan of balance. With crafty trading, we basically went within a whisker of two flags, giving up very little to get a hell of a lot. Only Lovett was a price-bomb, and that could've been a flop pick.

I don't think Mitch will get a run next year. His personal demons are too great. I feel incredibly sorry for him and hope he finds his way out of his current issues. Very talented on his day but he has bigger things to deal with than footy.

I don't mind going for Dyson - he would actually break into our 22 on a regular basis - as he could play another 100 games. For mine, he automatically jumps ahead of Polo, Geary, Eddy, Baker and McQualter. For pick 108, I'd do it.

Trengove would be a fine get but I doubt we have anything that could get him. Somebody will pay over the odds to make him theirs.
Yep we might get Dyson for pick one million but what does it achieve. I dont he is the type that is going to lead us into the finals or a flag. I know people say it doesnt cost much but it does. it stops a young kid developing because as you say he probably get a game but will it help the club long term. Doubt it very much. The only reason we would go for anyone over the age of 22 is if we think we can win the flag in the next 2 years. I say we have no hope so lets just draft kids and not trade but if have to trade can we at least get young kids, not a guy in the system for 8 years.

plugger66 wrote:Yep we might get Dyson for pick one million but what does it achieve. I dont he is the type that is going to lead us into the finals or a flag. I know people say it doesnt cost much but it does. it stops a young kid developing because as you say he probably get a game but will it help the club long term. Doubt it very much. The only reason we would go for anyone over the age of 22 is if we think we can win the flag in the next 2 years. I say we have no hope so lets just draft kids and not trade but if have to trade can we at least get young kids, not a guy in the system for 8 years.
I'm all for going with kids. But I never think you should turn your back on any potential opportunities that can arise.

Dyson is no star, but would he had more to our list than our current crop of midfield plodders? Absolutely.

It's about list management. We're not talking about Dyson taking up a spot amongst our top 10 elite players, we're looking more broadly - in the final few spots on the list.

To my mind, he's in the mix for one of the final few spots. You get a choice between Baker/Polo/McQualter sticking around, a punt on a kid who played a good quarter in an TAC u/18 match, or a guy who has shown he can cut it at the elite level at times and has something we lack [pace]?

It's not ideal, but if we all want to 'reload for another crack in 2012', I don't mind seeing some of our dead wood cut away in favour of some Farren Ray-esq types who might be able to rejuvenate their careers.

evertonfc wrote:
plugger66 wrote:Yep we might get Dyson for pick one million but what does it achieve. I dont he is the type that is going to lead us into the finals or a flag. I know people say it doesnt cost much but it does. it stops a young kid developing because as you say he probably get a game but will it help the club long term. Doubt it very much. The only reason we would go for anyone over the age of 22 is if we think we can win the flag in the next 2 years. I say we have no hope so lets just draft kids and not trade but if have to trade can we at least get young kids, not a guy in the system for 8 years.
I'm all for going with kids. But I never think you should turn your back on any potential opportunities that can arise.

Dyson is no star, but would he had more to our list than our current crop of midfield plodders? Absolutely.

It's about list management. We're not talking about Dyson taking up a spot amongst our top 10 elite players, we're looking more broadly - in the final few spots on the list.

To my mind, he's in the mix for one of the final few spots. You get a choice between Baker/Polo/McQualter sticking around, a punt on a kid who played a good quarter in an TAC u/18 match, or a guy who has shown he can cut it at the elite level at times and has something we lack [pace]?

It's not ideal, but if we all want to 'reload for another crack in 2012', I don't mind seeing some of our dead wood cut away in favour of some Farren Ray-esq types who might be able to rejuvenate their careers.
But that is my point. We have recruited players from other clubs for 5 years to try and win the flag. Worth the punt but it is now costing us as we have no real early to mid 20 year olds coming through because those traded players got games instead of young kids. Now you want another crack next year. That sets us back again. I think we would be better to realise we have little hope of winning the flag so lets draft and not trade.

groupie1

I agree, mate. In fact, going for some big fish is a good idea to have one last shot at it in 2012 in the Hayes/Reiwoldt era.

Gordon Fode couldda been Plugga

If some of these players are not good enough to get a game in teams threatening for a flag, then why are we interested, as these are the teams we need to beat! Let's break the habit of St K recruiting, and look for good young players and develop them with a long term view, not a short term fix.

Get Trengove

A half back line with Fisher Trengove Gilbert Has serious potential.