Player caught betting on team mate to kick first goal...

is the story apparently to be revealed at 3.45, a HIGH PROFILE player. Now, the traumatised st.kilda victim mentality in me says.........well, please for the f****** love of god let it be some other team FFS !! :twisted:

Darren

Rumoured to be Heath Shaw

Darren wrote:Rumoured to be Heath Shaw
Yes, Robbo tweeting now that Heath Shaw about to be named.

"Presser at AFL soon" :wink:

good. can he be suspended? Throw the book at him. lol, yeah say what you want, makes me happy. Suck eggs.

St Loxton

I heard Eddie Betts

Hunter Clark 2024 StKilda Saints Premiership captain.

seriously, are they that stupid? a 12 week suspension should do the trick.

i suppose he'll lie about doing it and say that him and didak were just driving past a TAB...

HEATH Shaw is to be suspended for betting on a Collingwood game.

The Herald Sun believes the breach relates to Shaw betting on Nick Maxwell kicking the first goal in the Round 10 match against Adelaide.

Maxwell, known as a defender, started the game in the forward line.

The AFL has called a media conference at 3.45pm this afternoon.

The league says AFL operations manager Adrian Anderson will detail a decision relating to player rules about anti-gambling.

The league has introduced stringent rules in recent years prohibiting players, club and league officials from punting on matches.

MORE TO COME soon.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/p ... 6095377169

Big news... he's in very deep shyte I'd reckon.

Think it will be a big fine. You would surprised how many players still bet on footy especially in multi's.

what about the worst captain in AFL history, maxwell? Surely he is complicit. lol, what absolute retards these knobends are .

Player embroiled in betting scandal
Caroline Wilson
July 15, 2011 - 3:19PM

A high profile AFL player has been embroiled in a betting scandal.

AFL football operations manager Adrian Anderson was to reveale details of the player and his gambling offence at 3.45 pm at league headquarters.

Collingwood is expected to hold a press conference shortly afterwards at the Westpac Centre.

St Loxton wrote:I heard Eddie Betts
Good call.

Furtius Quo Rdelious

plugger66 wrote:Think it will be a big fine. You would surprised how many players still bet on footy especially in multi's.
A fine is nothing.
He needs to be suspended.

Minimum 4 weeks to have any real impact on others doing it.

plugger66 wrote:Think it will be a big fine. You would surprised how many players still bet on footy especially in multi's.
And there's speculation he'll be suspended for 8 weeks!

kosifantutti23 wrote:
St Loxton wrote:I heard Eddie Betts
Good call.
Ryan Gamble not implicated hopefully?

A fine is nothing.
He needs to be suspended.

Minimum 4 weeks to have any real impact on others doing it.
If Robbo's mail is correct, I reckon Shaw is about to receive an almighty reaming.

All I want is for it not to be a Saints player, which it sounds like it isnt, and for the Hun not to fit the words StKilda schoolgirl into the article, as I am sure they will find a way.

And there's speculation he'll be suspended for 8 weeks!
Over the top IMO but may stop those guys who are still betting that play AFL. And dont worry there are plenty of them. Usually the older guys though. The younger guys seem to stick to the racing.

Foz

and Maxwell had to kick the goal....be interesting the size of the wager. Wouldn't think Maxwell would be any good thing.

Hey Shaw - nice smother by the AFL eh! Probably cost you a certain triumph. Call the Karma police!!

If the reports are accurate, I wonder who Collingwood might 'jettison' this time in a cynical attempt to show 'good governance'?

Shaw has been banned for 8 weeks, and fined 20 thousand
and so was maxwell 10 thousand for him

ando051

Heath Shaw just got 14 weeks with 6 weeks suspended and $20 grand fine. for making a $10 bet on Nick Maxwell to get the first go. I bet his scaly mate Didak was in on it as well.

Nick Maxwell got $10,000 fine for giving family info about playing forward in that game.

ando051 wrote:Heath Shaw just got 14 weeks with 6 weeks suspended and $20 grand fine. for making a $10 bet on Nick Maxwell to get the first go. I bet his scaly mate Didak was in on it as well.

Nick Maxwell got $10,000 fine for giving family info about playing forward in that game.
I am accused of agreeing with everything AFL but both those fines and suspension are ridiculous. I could find out today if I wanted where 10 Saints players are playing. A simple phone call or 2 and an 8 week suspension for a $10 bet. Give me a break.

sainterinsydney

What does the 6 weeks suspended mean?

sainterinsydney wrote:What does the 6 weeks suspended mean?
It means he's a collingwood player.

Joffa 5

sainterinsydney wrote:What does the 6 weeks suspended mean?
I don't think that's what it was. I thought 14 weeks AFL level, 8 weeks any level so he could play VFL