Jason Gram

Jason Gram

FAIR DINKUM, what a soft c**k!

How does he keep getting a game?

Does anything to avoid contact!

Many examples AGAIN

but here's one for starters

Dawson and Petrie one out in the square with Gram in a position to help out as third man up

Blake would have smashed it through for a point

Gram just watches and waits for a crumb

Petrie marks and goals

Gram would rather shoot out a handball without even knowing which team he is advantaging rather than take any heat

The sooner we trade him for whatever we can get the better

He is a serious liability!

Who was he on, tried to work it out....Campbell?

SainterK wrote:Who was he on, tried to work it out....Campbell?
I think he was on Thomas. While Thomas did nothing, Gram still had a shocker. Just doesn't commit like the other 21 players do and doesn't deserve to run out on the ground with guys like Roo and Kosi.

All you do is critisise, FAIR DINKUM, we won by 11 goals against a side in good form and desparate, but still you have to pick on something. You must be bleeding that we actually won so you could start a rant

saint tash

Fair criticism though. It's a given that Gram's 09 GF was a stellar performance but serious, is he going to be part of the cattle to take us to the promised land.

Hard decisions have to be made for the good of the club. In saying that he will get another year.

Oh when the saints go charging in!

Went a bit unnoticed from me. 2 kicks 11 handballs would be the reason for that. Not bad considering a lot of people were saying he should stop kicking. 77% efficiency and 1 clanger. Seems okay to me in a game where the backline didn't see all that much.

had the virus that was going through the team last week.

Dal said he cn do to lose some weight.
http://www.abc.net.au/sport/audio/2011/ ... 303908.htm

marksnsparks

As an aside, isn't NDS an established media performer!

I thought some of his honesty and insight was refreshing, when you get so many AFL players who regurgitate the club line or can barely string three words together.

Future media pundit I reckon.

agree with B4E

marksnsparks wrote:As an aside, isn't NDS an established media performer!

I thought some of his honesty and insight was refreshing, when you get so many AFL players who regurgitate the club line or can barely string three words together.

Future media pundit I reckon.
i agree re NDS. seems like a really well spoken and good bloke. and funny.

re grammy. he has a history of not going hard in games we have won. hes a wily old veteran. he will step up his intensity come finals time. and hey at least hes stopped kicking! thats a plus.

wow, just wow

I hate so called supporters who cant enjoy a great win without critisising a player.

Not all players can be in the best each game FFS.

Maybe RIX should have come in for him.

Oh thats right Rix was cut because he was a complete and utter spud.

There comes a point in every man's life when he has to say, "Enough is enough." For me, that time is now. I have been dealing with claims that I cheated and had an unfair advantage in <redacted>. Over the past three years, I have been subjected to a <redacted>investigation followed by <redacted> witch hunt. The toll this has taken on my family, and my work for <redacted>and on me leads me to where I am today – finished with this nonsense. (Oops just got a spontaneous errection <unredacted>)

According to ABC Radio, Grammy was not well enough to do a pre-arranged interview. On a great winning night and with his much improved form in recent weeks, he needs to be given the benefit of any doubt about his performance.

Enjoy the great win Saints supporters. :D :D

kp83

Agree with the OP. What about the contest with Daniel Wells (not the toughest player in the league) on our half forward flank. It was just the weakest attempt you could imagine to go for the ball and he just bounced off Wells far too easily. People are excusing him because he was sick, but this isn't a once off thing. He doesn't go hard enough and his disposal is really, really poor and has been for a very long time.
Now if you want to have a go at me for not enjoying a 10 goal win then go ahead, but what I'm interested in is this club getting better and challenging this year and next and if Gram continues to play the way he does, he will be a massive liability for us. I agree we should trade him at the end of this year and look to develop someone next year with better foot skills (eg Winmar, Crocker, draft pick this year etc).

Winmar7Fan

Why do you have to be tough and bash'n'crash to be a good player????

He doesn't have the body for it.

There have been many good players over the years that have been Recievers, Front Runners or whatever other term is used.

I think based on his average over all generally he's a servicable player.

He's one of those players that can play an average game and then get 30 touches and shank some of them but also do many good things as well but the poor disposals will always be highlighted.

You would have hated Jayson Daniels and Frank Coghlan?

kp83

Winmar7Fan wrote:Why do you have to be tough and bash'n'crash to be a good player????

He doesn't have the body for it.

There have been many good players over the years that have been Recievers, Front Runners or whatever other term is used.

I think based on his average over all generally he's a servicable player.

He's one of those players that can play an average game and then get 30 touches and shank some of them but also do many good things as well but the poor disposals will always be highlighted.

You would have hated Jayson Daniels and Frank Coghlan?
Mate you have your opinion on his influence on a game and I have mine, but really his disposal is terrible, far beyond just "shank(ing) some of them." And to answer your question of "why do you have to be tough...?," I would answer that he cost us 2 goals last night due to his inability to go hard at the ball and that is why you need to be tough.

honestly cant remember him providing some serious run last night
(will check when i get the replay tho)

kaos theory

Infantile :roll:.....but what else do you expect from RIX ROX RUCKS?

saintkid

He's been poor for the past 2 years and has gone backwards.

joffaboy wrote:I hate so called supporters who cant enjoy a great win without critisising a player.

The goofball mantra of apologist clowns

Not all players can be in the best each game FFS.
Did you not read the post, it's got nothing to do with being in the best or not, FFS.

Maybe RIX should have come in for him.

Still shooting blanks!

Oh thats right Rix was cut because he was a complete and utter spud.
Picking up 60 hitouts a game and currently dominating the WAFL as the premier ruckman, but I digress

FACT is the whole Rix thing was largely tongue in cheek.

I never rated his football ability, just wanted someone who could compete in the hitouts

For example 17 to 1 hitouts to advantage against in Robert Harvey's 324th record breaking game was the difference in a three goal loss with Blake as first ruck and no numbers behind the ball

thankfully those days are gone

BACK ON TOPIC :idea:

Gram is soft

Check out how easily Daniel Wells knocks him out of the contest.

kp83 wrote:What about the contest with Daniel Wells (not the toughest player in the league) on our half forward flank. It was just the weakest attempt you could imagine to go for the ball and he just bounced off Wells far too easily.
Exactly.

Played back pocket on lindsay thomas

Won that dual....if you consider stopping you opponent your #1 role

Mcmahon an scott thompson could not say the same.....both got a lot more of the ball
Their opponents kicked 7.4

Not his best game....but, him or baker for that role??
Which would you choose

mohannair

I agree he had poor game but pretty confident that he will surprise us come finals much like Kosi who was deemed as a trade bit few weeks ago & Roey to be stripped of his Captainship.

Gram will stand up when we really need that run off the back.

I was at the game last night & was proud of the boys achievement.

Gram let us down this time but will repay us in coming weeks.

Look at Ralph & Polo, they are playing fantastic football & we (including me) used to brag them.

BigMart wrote:Played back pocket on lindsay thomas

Mcmahon an scott thompson could not say the same.....both got a lot more of the ball

Which would you choose
I don't mind defenders getting low possession games providing they shut out their opponent, but this point is totally not in the context of what this thread is actually about.

AND my opinion on Gram is not based on one game, it's every game.

Not Baker!

I would have played any number of kids in defence throughout this year and Gram would have been traded last year if it was up to me.

But whether he gets 30 touches ( how many end up as opposition goals through turnovers ) or 10

IT'S HIS SOFTNESS AND SQUIBBING IT AT EVERY TURN that makes him a liability.

If he had exquisite skills and was silky with the touches he does get you'd almost make allowances for him. ( not that you should anyway )

BigMart wrote:Played back pocket on lindsay thomas

Which would you choose
I don't mind defenders getting low possession games providing they shut out their opponent, but this point is totally not in the context of what this thread is actually about.

AND my opinion on Gram is not based on one game, it's every game.

Not Baker!

I would have played any number of kids in defence throughout this year and Gram would have been traded last year if it was up to me.

But whether he gets 30 touches ( how many end up as opposition goals through turnovers ) or 10

IT'S HIS SOFTNESS AND SQUIBBING IT AT EVERY TURN that makes him a liability.

If he had exquisite skills and was silky with the touches he does get you'd almost make allowances for him. ( not that you should anyway )
So who are these any number of kids that could have played in defence? Grammy was quite last night but not as quite as his opponent. What is a backman thinking.